US Department of Veterans Affairs Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

US Department of Veterans Affairs Reviews

Updated 21 August, 2018
3,386 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
US Department of Veterans Affairs Acting Secretary of Veterans Affairs Peter O’Rourke
Peter O’Rourke
30 Ratings

3,386 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time

    Pros

    Great team, benefits, vacation time, support from coworkers, etc

    Cons

    Communication with management may be tough

    US Department of Veterans Affairs Response

    20 Aug, 2018 – JWT

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review! We're glad to read that you love your career at VA.


  2. "Best Place to Practice Nursing in Colorado!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN, Bsn in Denver, CO (US)
    Current Employee - RN, Bsn in Denver, CO (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Best pateints, Best managment, Best comensation

    Cons

    Fixing copiers, building buildings, IT Rules

  3. "Medical Technologist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical and Clinical Laboratory Technologist in Chillicothe, OH (US)
    Former Employee - Medical and Clinical Laboratory Technologist in Chillicothe, OH (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    A great hospital to build your career. There are many career opportunities available at the VA. Most employees stay there once they get hired.

    Cons

    It is hard to get a job at the VA. The application process is lengthy and can be confusing. The VA has different processes than most hospitals.

    US Department of Veterans Affairs Response

    16 Aug, 2018 – JWT

    Thank you for sharing this feedback and for the many years you have spent serving our Veterans alongside us at VA. We are so glad that you have chosen to build your medical tech career here.


  4. "Police Supervisor - Lieutenant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time

    Pros

    A former Veteran loved working and helping other Veterans.

    Cons

    As a supervisor overtime was miminal

    Advice to Management

    Hire Veterans

    US Department of Veterans Affairs Response

    15 Aug, 2018 – JWT

    Thank you for sharing this feedback.


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Pay is good, morale is volatile"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Veteran Service Representative in Winston-Salem, NC (US)
    Current Employee - Veteran Service Representative in Winston-Salem, NC (US)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Pay, Health Benefits and vacation are unmatchable.

    Cons

    The mental demand of the job can wear on you and be very stressful at times. Morale depends in current leadership which is constantly changing. Standards are constantly changing so there is never a clear picture of what is expected of you.

    Advice to Management

    Stop changing the VA every day. Wait every 6 months to a year and then make changes all at once, to give employees time to adjust.

    US Department of Veterans Affairs Response

    13 Aug, 2018 – JWT

    Thanks for taking the time to leave this thoughtful review, and for the many years you have spent serving our veterans. We're sorry to read that you have a negative outlook on your employment with us... More


  6. "Supporting Veterans through process improvment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time

    Pros

    Working for the VA and supporting our Veterans is a great mission and feels good to help a service based organization.

    Cons

    If you work remotely it can be isolating at times.

    US Department of Veterans Affairs Response

    13 Aug, 2018 – JWT

    Thank you for leaving this review and for your time dedicated to serving our veterans.


  7. "Family Nurse practitioner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time

    Pros

    Excellent salary with benefits. Knowledgeable staff and direction during orientation. Wonderful patients and families

    Cons

    Possibly allow provider to use personal vehicle if visit is within 25-30 miles from home and last scheduled visit of day

    Advice to Management

    Allow providers option to use their personal vehicle when visit within 25-30 miles of their home and last visit scheduled for the day

    US Department of Veterans Affairs Response

    14 Aug, 2018 – JWT

    Thank you for sharing this review and for your suggestion of how to improve the NP position at VA. We will pass it along to our HR team.

  8. "Dietary associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dietary Aide in Fergus Falls, MN (US)
    Current Employee - Dietary Aide in Fergus Falls, MN (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    My coworkers are amazing and the residents make the job so worth it

    Cons

    Losing a resident and figuring out schedule with schooling

    Advice to Management

    Always care for your residents and employees

    US Department of Veterans Affairs Response

    14 Aug, 2018 – JWT

    Thank you for sharing this feedback with our team, and for your dedication to serving our Veterans.


  9. "Great place to thrive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Worker
    Current Employee - Social Worker
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Autonomy, great training opportunities, salary, benefits

    Cons

    Change and processes are very slow, office politics

    Advice to Management

    Follow through on promises

    US Department of Veterans Affairs Response

    13 Aug, 2018 – JWT

    Thank you for sharing this feedback with us! We're glad you are making a career with us at VA!


  10. "HR Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Specialist in Battle Creek, MI (US)
    Current Employee - Human Resources Specialist in Battle Creek, MI (US)

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Rewarding work assisting in on boarding Vets and those who care for them. Lots of 3 day weekends due to holidays. Employee picnics and things to build work morale. Career ladders are the best with yearly promotions.

    Cons

    Can be stressful, work is sometimes repetitive.

    US Department of Veterans Affairs Response

    13 Aug, 2018 – JWT

    We appreciate you leaving us this review - thanks for sharing!


Showing 3,386 of 3,634 reviews
Reset Filters