US Department of Veterans Affairs Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

US Department of Veterans Affairs Reviews

Updated Dec 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
59%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
US Department of Veterans Affairs CEO  Robert Wilkie
Robert Wilkie
154 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Federal job so you get paid a lot less then your private sector counterparts(in 83 reviews)

  • "Management hired was fired by previous employee yet is in upper management(in 76 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Social Work in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at US Department of Veterans Affairs part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Supportive managers and fellow employees, wide range of learning opportunities

    Cons

    Communicating with other departments can be challenging at times

    US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-12-04
  2. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Specialist in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place that never makes you feel overwhelmed. Pay is low compared to private sector but amount of work matches the pay. Benefits are amazing.

    Cons

    Not enough work to keep you busy. Not easy to get promoted.

    US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-12-04
  3. "Great place to gain experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audiology Tech in Pensacola, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Rewarding job with the opportunity to serve those who've served. Fair pay, great benefits and decent retirement. Decent schedules, most federal holidays off and paid vacations.

    Cons

    No chance of upward mobility and pay is not on par with the civillian sector for similar or the same job. Short handed, heavy workloads.

    Advice to Management

    Unrealistic expectations placed on current staff with the current workforce shortage.

    US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-12-02
  4. "Good working environment and benefits but low pay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Medical Laboratory Scientist in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Health and retirement benefits are great

    Cons

    Low pay compared to private sector

    US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-11-28
  5. "Yes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Accounts Payable Specialist in Loma Linda, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Sometimes we would meet after work

    Cons

    Too busy to take breaks

    Advice to Management

    I think it’s best if Management bone up on their job

    US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-11-28
  6. "Great Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN, Bsn in Wichita, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent pay with career advancement

    Cons

    Working 40hr work weeks instead of 3 12hr shifts

    US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-11-21
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Acute Care Nurse Practitioner in Murfreesboro, TN
    Recommends

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Serving Veterans is an honor.

    Cons

    It is a great place to work with good benefits

    US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-11-17
  8. "Registered Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Great retirement benefits -Competitive pay -Great options for health, vision, dental insurance -Amazing patient population

    Cons

    -Often understaffed -Weak union -Politics/bureaucratic -Under-resourced -Safety issues (regarding staffing- I am frequently charge nurse with up to 5 patients at a time) -80 hours per pay period. No on-call. No cancelled shifts. No flexing. (Six 12 hour shifts + one 8 hour shift, always) -No disability insurance for employees (broke my foot at home and they didn't allow me to do modified duty/made me burn... through all my vacation/sick time)

    Show More
    US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-12-04
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Meaningful, but stressful at times."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Psychologist 
    Recommends

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Meaningful work. Good training opportunities. Good leadership.

    Cons

    Too much bureaucracy and paperwork. Impacted by larger dissatisfaction with the VA.

    Advice to Management

    More help with self care and burnout prevention.

    US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-11-14
  10. "Free Education"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - PhD Candidate 

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time

    Pros

    Free education for veterans who want it.

    Cons

    There are no cons to a free education...

    US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-11-16
Found 3938 reviews