US Department of Veterans Affairs Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

US Department of Veterans Affairs Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3708 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
US Department of Veterans Affairs CEO  Robert Wilkie
Robert Wilkie
88 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "So many employees would be fired in a heartbeat if they did this in the private sector(in 78 reviews)

  • "God help you if you cross one of the many egomaniacs in middle to upper management(in 72 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Individuals that care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Phlebotomist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    I get to serve the veterans that served in the military, there work is what make it possible for me to be free. And I thank them every day for there service

    Cons

    Short staff, very hard to get to know other departments staff..

    Advice to Management

    Recognize your employees, with out them you might not have a job....you may be the boss..but we keep it going

    US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-05-18
  2. "Stable job, great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Licensed Clinical Social Worker 

      I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time

      Pros

      Stable pay, caseload, working hours

      Cons

      Limited support, limited coordination between departments

      US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-05-17
    • Helpful (1)

      "Advance Medical Support Assistance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - AMSA in Phoenix, AZ

      I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Great place to work for the benefits they offer, they also count your military time toward your retirement.

      Cons

      Moving up in position within the organization takes time and willingness to change locations in order to do so.

      US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-05-12
    • "Former Va Employee"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Advanced Medical Support Assistant in Orlando, FL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Benefits are great, management is horrible

      Cons

      Treat Veterans horrible. I quit

      Advice to Management

      Fire all Management

      US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-05-13
    • "Good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Advanced Medical Support Assistant 

      I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Benefits, PTO, non weekend hours

      Cons

      Ton of work, expectations

      US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-05-09
    • "Good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Benefits and pay, work life balance

      Cons

      Management. No advancement opportunities

      US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-05-03
    • "Nurse Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at US Department of Veterans Affairs

        Pros

        Sick Leave, Vacation leave , pension, TSP

        Cons

        Long Commute , people work ethic

        US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-05-03
      • "Get working with Veterans"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Peer Support Specialist in Loma Linda, CA
        Recommends

        I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Working with other Veterans

        Cons

        None at this date and time.

        US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-05-03
      • "Shift"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Shift Supervisor 

          I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time

          Pros

          Pros to this job are benefits

          Cons

          There are not many cons

          Advice to Management

          No specific advice to management

          US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-05-02
        • Helpful (2)

          "psych np"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Psych NP in Las Vegas, NV
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook

          I have been working at US Department of Veterans Affairs full-time for more than 20 years

          Pros

          veterans nice office benefits salary

          Cons

          too much work. too many notes

          Advice to Management

          we are not in the military

          US Department of Veterans Affairs2019-04-27
        Found 3708 reviews