US Army Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

US Army Reviews

Updated Jul 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20757 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
US Army CEO Robert
Robert
1633 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Public Affairs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Army full-time

    Pros

    Best MOS in the military

    Cons

    Dealing with everyone in the military because you're public affairs.

    US Army2019-03-25
  2. "US ARMY; the Pros & Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at US Army full-time

    Pros

    Free College, Guaranteed Paycheck, free rent and utilities, military discount, paid vacation, training, free healthcare (TRICARE),

    Cons

    Sometimes very distant from friends/family over long time periods, leadership sometimes is not that competent, TRICARE and Veteran Affairs are benefits limited.

    US Army2018-10-15
  3. "Assualt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sir in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at US Army full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    food is great great buildings

    Cons

    wish more food is provided

    US Army2018-08-13
  4. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at US Army full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work, great people

    Cons

    Not much, sll good things

    US Army2018-07-22
  5. "Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Army full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Teaches and grooms officers in critical thinking, values based leadership, and management skills while offering a diverse career opportunities; offers the chance to experience diverse parts of the world and live abroad while serving the to provide for the security of the United States, Allies, partners, and our families and friends. Great salaries and benefits...

    Cons

    Can be stressful and demanding - but worth it.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to uphold high standards for employees.

    US Army2018-05-15
  6. "JAG"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dean, Army JAG School 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at US Army full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Not everyday is easy, but everyday is worthwhile. I said I would stay as long as it was fun. 28 years later and I'm still having fun.

    Cons

    Like any large organization it can be frustrating at times. Still very much worth doing.

    US Army2017-07-20
  7. "Excellent Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at US Army full-time

    Pros

    Strong Leadership and advancement potential

    Cons

    Work Life Balance is hard to maintain

    US Army2017-06-30
  8. "Army: Recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at US Army for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You will discover how far you can push your physical and mental limits. The training. The camaraderie is second to none.

    Cons

    It is difficult, all the time. Long hours, routinely. Deployments are very hard on families. Dual service couples may not be able to be stationed together.

    US Army2017-05-19
  9. "Perspective"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at US Army full-time

    Pros

    Work with inter-disciplinary teams Opportunity to develop personally and professionally Good compensation Extensive benefits for employee and good benefits for family

    Cons

    Limited ability to progress Uprooting of family every 2-5 years Unemployment for spouse Administrative processes inefficient Retention challenges for high performing personnel

    Advice to Management

    Empower team members to do their work. Facilitate team members to plan their own careers. Communicate effectively and use active listening.

    US Army2016-05-18
  10. "Recommendation for Serving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Army

    Pros

    The US Army provides a chance to develop excellent leadership and management skills. For those looking for technical skills, the Army provides that as well.

    Cons

    Serving in the Army is an honor and a difficult choice. Deployments will happen, and you will be away from your family for 6-12 months at a time. It is something to keenly consider before jumping.

    Advice to Management

    I would recommend looking for a fully integrated system of information management. Currently all stakeholders have their own systems, that fail to interface to other systems and do not provide a comprehensive picture of the status of the unit to the commander.

    US Army2016-01-06
Found 20757 reviews