URS Corporation Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

URS Corporation Reviews

Updated 17 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 903 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
URS Corporation CEO Michael S. Burke (no image)
Michael S. Burke
43 Ratings
Pros
  • "good people , good pay , very safety minded(in 40 reviews)

  • "Good benefits and decent staff and management(in 38 reviews)

Cons
  • "Unfortunately absorbed by AECOM(in 31 reviews)

  • "Upper management is very focused on how billable you are, not good with communicating new processes(in 31 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "This is a fantastic company to work for in many ways!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB

    I have been working at URS Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They are a company that cares!!! I have had nothing but great expeiriences with my employment here! I look forward to sharing the rest of my working years with them!

    Cons

    I have seen no cons in employment with this company.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    URS Corporation2013-02-07
  2. "Great employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at URS Corporation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people, benefits, and wage

    Cons

    Working in a remote camp for extended periods of time... wears on the family a bit

    Advice to Management

    Remember the loyalty of your employees.

    URS Corporation2018-12-29
  3. "Corporate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at URS Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Great workplace environment. Excellent benefits.

    Cons

    Job security. Company keeps getting bought out.

    URS Corporation2018-06-10
  4. "Training specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Training and Development Specialist in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at URS Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was just a job

    Cons

    Poor management due to the fact the company was being sold and the senior people were looking at getting what they could out of the company before it was turned over to the new owner.

    Advice to Management

    Get some people skills and training.

    URS Corporation2018-02-25
  5. "Vice President, Construction Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at URS Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent company up to aggressive takeover.

    Cons

    Company lost the identity and previous hard work acquired values.

    URS Corporation2017-02-06
  6. "URS FLINT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Construction Coordinator/Project Engineer in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at URS Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company has Very good construction processes.

    Cons

    Company is troubled with Politics at higher management and workers/executives get suffered.

    Advice to Management

    Higher Management shall reduce managers and increase actual workers.

    URS Corporation2016-10-28
  7. "Good times and bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Steam Fitter Pipefitter in Fort McMurray, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at URS Corporation

    Pros

    For the years i worked with I was very happy for the most part. Well organized people oriented and ready to take on pretty much any building task there is .

    Cons

    There is no work with them right now or that's right where i would be .

    Advice to Management

    Be aware of the people that you are allowing to slip through your fingers that are very very good at what they do , at the same time learn those who are not performing and deal with them. Talk to the men in the field if you want a true picture.

    URS Corporation2016-10-07
  8. "JCA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Health Safety and WCB Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at URS Corporation

    Pros

    My supervisor was great. She was full of encouragement and was always available anytime.

    Cons

    When a job closes sometimes your not placed in another job right away.

    URS Corporation2016-08-16
  9. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Material Coordinator in Airdrie, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at URS Corporation for more than a year

    Pros

    good people , good pay , very safety minded

    Cons

    14 - 7 shift , I like a 7-7 or 4-3 for a better life balance .

    Advice to Management

    no advice thry were just fine for me .

    URS Corporation2016-07-13
  10. "Transferred"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at URS Corporation full-time

    Pros

    good organization, with development opportunities

    Cons

    constantly changing, through acquisition and growth

    URS Corporation2016-04-12
Found 903 reviews