UDR Employee Reviews about "leasing"

Updated Dec 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 of over 353 reviews

3.8
66%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
UDR President & CEO Thomas W. Toomey (no image)
Thomas W. Toomey
194 Ratings
Pros
  • "Bonuses,Good Benefits, Corporate perks(in 22 reviews)

  • "great benefits and ways to move up in company(in 11 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Last couple months upper management (Regional and above) make the maintenance feel like we are expendable(in 21 reviews)

  • "However, it doesn’t seem to matter that much since we stay leasing(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    Talk anonymously with Real Estate professionals

    Reviews about "leasing"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Love where I work!

      Dec 13, 2019 - Leasing Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      To be totally honest, I've never worked at an organization where I have enjoyed almost everyone I've come across. Maybe its just the area I'm in and the people that work here but I enjoy coming to work everyday-- and I don't even need this job!

      Cons

      I think the metrics used to track progress are skewed sometimes because at smaller properties, leasing consultants aren't just reaching out to leads and closing prospects... everybody is doing every job besides their own to make the property work-- and that "work" isn't being accounted for (so all of the online metrics keeping track of us don't reflect that).

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Lack of Growth, Large Corporation Does Not Care About YOU, Daily Stress

      Jan 11, 2019 - Resident Services Coordinator in Newport Beach, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Rent discount (30% off) -Small Commission for renting reserved parking & adding pets to leases -On-site staff usually tries the best they can with the little resources allocated for them (lack of resident funds for events, small staff at large properties, etc.)

      Cons

      From the beginning there was minimal training, multiple RSC's started and quit within my year of employment. The on-site team worked numerous weeks of overtime yet we were frequently discouraged and scolded from working so much. However, when you have a small staff and 5000+ residents to handle (upper management rarely steps in to help), it was impossible not to work extra hours. There is NO work to life balance. At. All. There was heavy favoritism from upper management. This made it extremely difficult for employees to grow within the company (though UDR will try to convince you otherwise). Gossip and lies spread rampantly amongst employees, furthering the favoritism to those who lingered in our superior's office cracking jokes, avoiding work and talking behind coworker's backs. UDR also does not prioritize their residents (unless you work for a luxury property), making it extremely difficult to enjoy working when residents constantly complain and berate you for the lack of funds or attention from the corporate office. Also, do not expect weekends off as they are the busiest time for leasing. Expect to be overworked, stressed and enjoy dealing with the daily resident issues that never end.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Leasing Consultant Orange County

      Aug 6, 2018 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you love sales and real estate, you should work here!! UDR has a great portfolio- both urban and suburban communities. They have an attitude to be the best. The company is innovative with technology and revenue growth. High expectations and beautiful communities. Great amount of resources. Opportunities within the company. They seem to acknowledge hard working associates. Pay is good- some reviews state the commission structure changed which is true. However, since the roll out of 1 month furnished leases this makes sense. You can still make 60K and this does not require sophisticated education/training. Housing discount is great. I’ve worked with some hard working great teams.

      Cons

      I can’t think of a major con- I love working for UDR. My only negative remark will be the parking charge for first vehicles at communities. I understand the top line growth this has given the company, but it also turns many prospects away immediately and is sometimes difficult to combat. However, it doesn’t seem to matter that much since we stay leasing.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great!

      Aug 4, 2018 - Leasing Agent in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Love them. Highest caliber of leasing, great benefits and pay.

      Cons

      Can be very politicky, but typical

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Leasing Consultant

      Apr 13, 2018 - Leasing Consultant in Huntington Beach, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice complexes to live at and 30% discount. (Do not expect that to last)

      Cons

      Originally when I first started working for UDR I genuinely enjoyed the job, the perks, and the management. As the years went on I watched the company grow greedier and greedier as top level managers tried making more money for themselves and their shareholders. It went from charging residents more for parking, more pet rent, ridiculous renewal increases, large move out charges, no budgets for maintenance or community events and the list can go on. But then they started taking away from their associates as well. They first decreased the rent discount and then worst of all they decreased commissions!!! They are now trying to change our title from "Leasing Consultants" to "Customer Service Reps". Obviously, this is so anyone new trying to apply will agree to be paid on a customer service wage instead of a sales/leasing agent wage. Word of advice... apply somewhere else. You will be treated like a number here. You mean nothing to them just like their residents. You will have to enforce ridiculous fees and charges and have to deal with the backlash from the residents after. You will be offered no support of any kind. You will be overworked in a never ending cycle of monotony, phones ringing, people walking in, follow up pages, resident issues, and renewals because they never staff enough people. You will work nearly all holidays and you will not have weekends off as they are the busiest days for leasing. I could go on and on but bottom line is that this is now a huge greedy company that cares only about lining their shareholders pockets and you are just the tool that they use to do that. Don't be their tool.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Not a Place for Real Long-Term Growth

      Sep 29, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Newport Beach, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Rent discount > many competitors. Excellent training opportunities if you're looking to move up... within a different company. You'll find many of the hardest-working, most caring employees within the service and leasing teams, out in the trenches each day bringing in and retaining new residents.

      Cons

      Don't fall for the "we promote from within" HR marketing ploy. Knowledge, skills, abilities, dedication, performance, work ethic, and/or demonstrated competency are not the actual criteria used in making personnel decisions within this company. Internal recommendations and formal performance evaluations carry no real weight in internal hiring decisions. If career advancement is your end goal, you'd be better served honing your skills in back-scratching, sweeping issues under the rug, and taking credit for the work of others. The company is also very hierarchical and top-down... There isn't much room for diversity of thought, innovation or improving processes if it contradicts any preferences expressed by upper-management, even those that are rather arbitrary and/or factually-baseless.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      COMPANY AND MANAGEMENT

      Jul 25, 2017 - Community Manager in Salinas, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have been an employee for a little over 6 years and I can honestly say that UDR is a true believer in providing a positive work experience for their employees. Management really cares for us and always demonstrates their appreciation for everyone's hard work and dedication. I started as a leasing Agent 6 years ago with absolutely no leasing experience and UDR provided me with the tools and great leadership to help me grow and become a Community Manager. The leadership I have is amazing! they strive everyday to demonstrate to their employees that they care by showing appreciation with quarterly employee events, amazing commission plan for office staff and other great prizes that no other company offers. Anyone has the ability to grow in this company as long as you are determined and willing to learn. UDR also has properties nationwide which gives us the ability to move. UDR defines what true leadership is and works hard to live by their values: Integrity, Respect, Teamwork, Ownership, and Growth.

      Cons

      UDR HAS NO CONS . IT IS AN AMAZING COMPANY TO WORK FOR.

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      don't reccomend horrible experience

      Aug 20, 2017 - Concierge/Move In Specialist in Newport Beach, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My managers who hires me where awesome but like the rest of management they didn't say long. Pay is good and a good housing discount. But. It worth what u have to put up with.

      Cons

      Management turn over. I had I think 6or 7 managers in my time with UDR I was there for 2 year. When I was pregnant had issues at the begenning and was told I shouldn't miss so much work I was at risk of loosing my job I was harassed by my co workers! Management put me in a room with my co-workers and they would tell me how horrible I am and how much I am not liked. I was treated horrible co workers would say rude things to my face and when I told the manger she said it was all in my head! I was a move in specialist and did all of leasings job including finding a new apartment when they were promised an upgraded apartment and got a none upgraded apartment or carpet instead of wood. If the leasing agent lost their lease I was blamed by management. I was told to apply for a management position then when I didn't get I was told all the reason why I shouldn't have applied or gotten it! After I was told by management that I should apply! Co-workers and management were very immature. I was actually told by management I needed to go out after work with my coworkers for bonding time! I was a new mom with a litttle one I wanted to get home not go out for drinks with my coworkers. Coworkers would go to lunch together and get drunk management knew and didn't care. I could go on and on!

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      They don't see their residents as people anymore.

      Jan 18, 2016 - Community Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Stability, basic pay, and commission pay competitive. If you have a degree growth opportunities. You can move to different cities with a job.

      Cons

      If you are a person that cares about the people who live in the property you manage you will not be happy. I've had to reduce courtesy patrol and not have non operational exterior light fixed because of budget. As the criminal activity in our property and the surrounding neighborhood increases. This as we raise rents without any operation cost increases. In the last 10 years they look down on people that start at the leasing agent level to move up. They feel that you have to much of a connection to people and you don't see everything as a dollar figure. The people that made UDR great are slowly being pushed out and replaced with employees that only look at thier residents as numbers. It's changing in all thier regions. So now they bring in area directors from other companies without experience in property management because their experience is focusing on the money. This is not about me it's just what I have seen if you have a 7 year tenure district manager that started as leasing agent been with the company for 15 years she was not qualified to be the area manager. So they brought in a VP's college friend that worked in finance. And of course we left the company the district manager that had a balanced approach to property management

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Marketing Associate

      Dec 26, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Technology is up to date. Company tries really hard to make leasing easier. Health plan is ok. Commission structure not bad compared to other management companies.

      Cons

      No growing opportunities, Lack of motivation from higher managers. Hourly pay no that good.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      UDR Response

      Recruiting Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with UDR. We always attempt to promote from within and give our associates the opportunity to grow their careers. Please visit the careers website at www.udr.com/careers to learn more about other opportunities available in your location and around the country

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 15 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with UDR Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at UDR? Share Your Experiences

    UDR logo
    or