Tyler Technologies Reviews

Updated May 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
57%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Tyler Technologies President and CEO Lynn Moore Jr.
Lynn Moore Jr.
28 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management is completely disconnected from what it's like working on the ground(in 17 reviews)

  • "No work life balance and they do not want you to work with others to improve(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Tyler Technologies full-time

    Pros

    I was a driver, so my job was easy and fun. You drive from house to house and let the photographer in the back take the pictures (for tax assessment).

    Cons

    I was not in charge, the photographer was, and she would get frustrated with lack of communication from management sometimes. They are based in the U.S.

    Continue reading
    Tyler Technologies2016-04-14
  2. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Implementation Consultant in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tyler Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    Travel can get old fast

    Tyler Technologies2020-05-28
  3. "Great company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tyler Technologies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Awesome culture, people, and benefits make this a great place to work!

    Cons

    There aren't a lot of cons, it's a great place to work!

    Tyler Technologies2020-05-14
  4. "Solid Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Implementation Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Tyler Technologies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefit package and travel opportunities

    Cons

    There are no cons except travel delays

    Continue reading
    Tyler Technologies2020-05-14
  5. Helpful (4)

    "One step forward, two steps back"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tyler Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Work/life balance is incredible. 8 hour days are the norm, and I was NEVER required to come in on the weekend. WFH is dependent on manager - The people are very fun to work with. Every team has its own unique dynamic and it's enjoyable. This is the primary reason for staying This review only really applies to the Courts & Justice division in Plano. Divisions in other geographical areas will have wildly different experiences.

    Cons

    - I have seen NUMEROUS ethics violations. None of them are worthy of using the whisteblower hotline, but some of them are appalling. Bringing them up gets you either ignored, told to stop talking about it because it leaves a paper trail for the company to be held liable, or someone pretends to listen but takes no action - Management refuses to accelerate the push away from the dated tech stack. We produce twice as much code with dated VBScript and old versions of C# than we produce with the more "modern" WPF solution being built. We are still moving backwards - So many people want to see things improve, but management never gives the time or budget for it. It's a constant cycle of saying something needs to be better, but never doing it. - The entire division DEPENDS on specific people with specific knowledge of how the product works. When they leave/retire then that section of the product will fall apart - Many poor employees are hired that have no business developing software. Completely incompetent analysts/developers/etc are able to continue working for MONTHS without being confronted - The pay is below industry standard, and does NOT scale with experience. Salary increases are 0-3%, based on performance. If you get promoted at the end of the year you will get a 6% raise TOTAL. There's a saying that "We work for the people at Tyler, not for the money at Tyler." - Upper management is completely disconnected from what it's like working on the ground. They do not understand that problems are building up and we are climbing a steeper and steeper mountain This review only really applies to the Courts & Justice division in Plano. Divisions in other geographical areas will have wildly different experiences.

    Continue reading
    Tyler Technologies2020-05-18
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Lack of Internal Support"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Lubbock, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tyler Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team dynamic: Your teammates become your only allies as they know what you're going through and we help other pull through all the BS.

    Cons

    I worked in professional services, and it felt like a sinking ship. With so much growth and turnover, there's alway an influx of policy changes and approaches to implementations (expected). However these new players in upper management have not concept on the products we are implementing or out internal policies. They have put a high emphasis and value on external hires over internal members with the knowledge and skillset and have pushed them out. Sadly, anytime you voice concern, you're met with little to no help.

    Continue reading
    Tyler Technologies2020-05-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Was good"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Support Specialist in Latham, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tyler Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good environment, good people overall, room to grow

    Cons

    Manager in particular was very nit picky and actually ended up leaving her position shortly after I left. Wouldn’t have left but she was the worst

    Tyler Technologies2020-04-19
  8. "Close friendships with co workers"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Implementation Consultant 

    I worked at Tyler Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    compensation package, co workers, and travel

    Cons

    No work life balance and they do not want you to work with others to improve

    Continue reading
    Tyler Technologies2020-04-28
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great relationships with co workers- find you a buddy to self teach yourself."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Implementation Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Tyler Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits $5 dollar prescriptions, co workers, travel

    Cons

    Training protocol is new, so employees that have been here for a long time have not experienced the new hire training. Some do not even know how to do their jobs. Tyler induced stressed that is uncalled for causing people to have nose bleeds and throw up at presentations, no work life balance, teach yourself, fire you after 3 presentation with no actual ability to show you how they calculate your score. No minorities in upper management. Low pay for what you have to put with. No one takes responsibility for the decision of your fate at Tyler, such as who was the grader, who had the power to decide if you did well or did not do well on something.

    Continue reading
    Tyler Technologies2020-05-09
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Strong Financials and Solid People"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tyler Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The culture of serving those in public service is beyond powerful. Every person could make more money if they were in the commercial space but the mission drives behavior and creates a great environment to work in.

    Cons

    Internal IT tools lag behind what is needed to support the business.

    Continue reading
    Tyler Technologies2020-04-01
Found 455 reviews