Twitch Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Twitch Reviews

Updated Jul 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 225 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Emmett Shear
163 Ratings
Pros
  • "And if you're into it, we get great perks and good Amazon benefits(in 18 reviews)

  • "We have smart people here from all kinds of functions, universities, backgrounds(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are growing pains with every high-growth company, but the recent re-org and company vision seems to address these issues(in 12 reviews)

  • "Because of mandates from upper management pushing a product or idea because they think it will drive minutes(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Great Place to Develop Talent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Twitch full-time

    Pros

    Agile, collaborative, lots of emojis and fun work environment.

    Cons

    With the fast-pace nature of work and business direction, sometimes engineering work is scrapped. This is just inherent to the nature of the job.

    Advice to Management

    Continue hiring great talent. Senior management can be out of touch.

    Twitch2018-07-19
  2. "So-so"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Twitch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved the people I worked with at the IC level. Everyone on the ground level was super passionate or talented. The opportunities at the beginning sounded great. During the middle of the Amazon transition, it was easier to speak your thoughts and try new ideas without as much politics.

    Cons

    Management sucks big time. Mid-level all the way up to heads/directors/vps. Lots of increasing office politics as more amazon or corporate experienced employees transferred over to the Twitch side. People actually doing the daily work were not well respected by people in higher positions, and lots of micromanagers in the marketing department. Really limited ambition and creativity- teams being disrespectful and left...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire managers who are actually good at managing people and teams. Treat employees with respect, and offer more opportunities for growth.

    Twitch2019-07-16
  3. "easy going job until the progressivism took over"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Twitch full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    awesome company to work for

    Cons

    the office is a little progressive

    Twitch2019-06-17
  4. "pretty good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Twitch full-time

      Pros

      perks and company culture good

      Cons

      there are too many politics sometimes

      Twitch2019-06-17
    • "Eng-Rus Interpreter"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Interpreter/Translator 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Twitch part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Meeting new people, improving me skils

      Cons

      not serious unstable need to work every day

      Twitch2019-06-07
    • Helpful (5)

      "Twitch is becoming Twitter, Facebook, and just another directionless company."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Lead Marketing Manager 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Twitch full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The food is great, the current product version is cool, the location of the SF office is near the trains, and the beer is tasty.

      Cons

      Everyone is just hiring their friends, its all about Amazon (high volume and churn), people that work here are not from games and dont care about games, my manager has been on vacation 3 times this year, and doesnt care about me or my goals. As a matter of fact, her goals are destroying our business unit and we have turned over 50% of our division this year. Lastly, no one has worked here more than a year.. talk about...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Learn how to interview and train your people, get a clear understanding of the product, listen to the experts, hire real managers versus YES people.

      Twitch2019-06-10
    • Helpful (3)

      "The Blind Leading the Naked Emperor With No Clothes"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Non-tech in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Twitch full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Interesting story and product and the San Francisco office is nice.

      Cons

      Little to no strategic direction outside of the current quarter. Constant battles throughout segregated pockets of revenue who refuse to work together. New CRO has team petrified and frozen in fear so no evolution.

      Advice to Management

      Encourage unity, not divisive tactics to put one team against another team.

      Twitch2019-05-08
    • Helpful (6)

      "Great for engineers, bad for non-tech"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Director in San Francisco, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Twitch full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - exciting market and product - great office - flexible work schedule

      Cons

      - non-tech roles are paid poorly and taken for granted - non-tech workload is crushing - leadership is arrogant

      Advice to Management

      Remember what you are and are NOT an expert in. Avoid designing key company processes by committee (or based on what your last company did) and let your experts do their jobs.

      Twitch2019-04-04
    • Helpful (3)

      "Great product, great food, no growth"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Twitch full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Nice work environment with a strong emphasis on inclusivity and diversity. Awesome catered meals 3x a day. It's a product that people love and will likely continue to increase in popularity.

      Cons

      Lack of opportunities for growth, both in terms of title and salary. Most of the employees who were instrumental in building the brand and beloved by the community have been let go, pushed out, or demoted, with new management bringing in lots of new hires from their former companies. As a result the culture has shifted away from being a place where every streamer knew someone on staff to more of a corporate vibe given...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Look at ways to help turn the existing staff who have contributed a lot to the brand into leaders, rather than constantly bringing in new leadership above them. This would ensure they have opportunities to grow, increase their revenue, and can maintain important bonds with the community they have worked so closely with.

      Twitch2019-04-01
    • Helpful (9)

      "Why I love working at Twitch"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Development Manager in San Francisco, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Twitch full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      I have been an Engineering Manager at Twitch for over 2 years. I’ve had a long career and I can now say that this is one of the most enjoyable work experiences I have ever had. Why? The people are passionate about the product, focusing on success of both creators and viewers. People have the best intentions here, collaborate and pitch in across teams to get stuff done and don’t just think about what’s in it for me....

      Show More

      Cons

      Need more cross org shared dev processes and support. It’s easy to gain weight.

      Advice to Management

      Continue working to bring more cross org alignment. Solicit input from directors and managers for company wide process changes.

      Twitch2019-01-11
    Found 225 reviews