Twilio Reviews

Updated May 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
74%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Twilio CEO and Co-Founder Jeff Lawson
Jeff Lawson
164 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "2019 was a year of growing pains(in 31 reviews)

  • "Fast growing so back-office is having a tough time catching up(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Operations Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twilio full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits Unlimited PTO Family oriented Great Culture

    Cons

    Got nothing bad to say!

    Twilio2020-05-19
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Best Company ! Truly cares for employees $1500 Stipend for WFH COVID-19"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twilio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Such caring and generous E-Team members. 2. Inclusive Culture. 3. Great Tech and Product.

    Cons

    None that i could think of right now. The way company is taking care of employees during COVID-19 pandemic is so great.

    Continue reading
    Twilio2020-04-30
  3. "Best Company I have ever worked for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Account Executive in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twilio full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have now worked for 5 different companies and Twilio is by far the best. While most companies talk a big game about caring for their employees, Twilio actually means it and backs it up. Especially during COVID-19, Twilio has been going above and beyond to make sure that as employees, we feel included and valued. The career trajectory and culture alone make this an awesome culture to work for. Plus, the perks are pretty good too.

    Cons

    In terms of working in sales, Twilio is definitely not a traditional sales company, which is probably both a pro and a con at times. If you are a salesperson and are looking for a traditional software sales company, then Twilio may not be the best fit. But if you are a salesperson that is highly adaptive and are seeking a supportive environment that pushes you to try new things, then you will do very well here.

    Continue reading
    Twilio2020-05-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Best company that I've worked for thus far."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twilio full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The support and culture is amazing!

    Cons

    As of yet none.

    Twilio2020-04-21
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Invigorating!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twilio full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture is bar none and the twilio values permeate through all departments. CEO leads by example. The company is growing quickly so there is a ton of opportunity, especially with the solid product base

    Cons

    Depends on your perspective. There are Growing pains with any company in high growth. I think it’s an opportunity to make an impact

    Continue reading
    Twilio2020-04-22
  6. "Rock-solid product, Strong Leadership"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twilio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Best in class product, fingers in many pies and each pie is growing

    Cons

    Growing to a larger company, shifting to a more corporate structure

    Twilio2020-04-16
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Some good memories"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Designer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Twilio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Commitment to diversity Still early in growth - you can get in at a lower floor and try to make your mark Some very kind people and great executive leadership

    Cons

    Occasional temper tantrums by certain management staff. Still figuring out a lot of process and suffering from growing pains. Almost non-existent support on career path and development (I think they are working on it)

    Twilio2020-04-29
  8. "Strong Future that you feel a part of."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Twilio full-time

    Pros

    They make their company and team goals super clear They make you feel a part of the company and not just a number They have fantastic products you can really get behind They make you feel appreciated from the day one and throughout They're transparent They know what needs working on and actively work on it, without ignoring flaws

    Cons

    So far, I havent come across any.

    Twilio2020-04-16
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Terrible place to work"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Twilio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Food, snacks, and tshirts are nice.

    Cons

    No work life balance. The managers have zero people skills. There is no enablement and expectations are too high. Managers belittle their teams.

    Continue reading
    Twilio2020-04-20
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Bureaucractic , non-technical managers need to be weeded out."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Twilio full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Mostly a kind, caring company. Management tries to do things right.

    Cons

    Smart, thoughtful ideas are sometimes shut down. Managers do show favoritism.

    Twilio2020-04-08
Found 215 reviews