Tucows Employee Reviews about "tucows"

Updated Aug 9, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 of over 206 reviews

4.2
88%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Tucows President, CEO, and Director Elliot Noss
Elliot Noss
141 Ratings
Pros
  • "flexible hours and work from home days - pretty self-explanatory(in 27 reviews)

  • "Working at Tucows has given me the chance to collaborate with a great design team(in 20 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Tucows embraces video conferencing quite a lot - maybe too much(in 14 reviews)

  • "The day to day work flow was very repetitive, no room for growth, felt like ground hog day(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on

    Tech

    1y

    a 

    Technical Account Manager

    Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

    403

    60 Comments

    Tech

    239.2K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.ca&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Tucows~6018
    Join the conversation on

    Reviews about "tucows"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Pinch me! Is this real?!

      Apr 1, 2021 - Product Manager in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I joined Tucows for a little under a year now and it's truly been a breath of fresh air. Tucows is a company that is diverse and truly values people of colour. The company have real, authentic conversations about racial and gender injustice. Discussions lead to action items that are actioned upon. Leadership empowers you to make decisions and leadership is approachable regardless of their title. Lastly, the employee benefits are simply amazing.

      Cons

      Tucows embraces video conferencing quite a lot - maybe too much. I would love for Tucows to advise employees to only use video when face time is necessary as this can be very draining when working remotely.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Tucows Response

      Hi there! Thank you for your kind words. We're happy you're enjoying it here at Tucows. We appreciate your feedback, and rest assured we're working on improving the way we communicate internally. Like our Better Meetings Program, we're piloting initiatives to make sure we make remote work, work better for everyone.

    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Advisor salary inconsistent

      Aug 7, 2021 - Customer Service Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home opportunity 3 week vacation from start Decent benefits

      Cons

      I left Tucows a few months ago and one of the main problems was with the salary. Hr is not organized or does not update advisor pay fairly. I found out that I was making $1 more than a female colleague who started at the same time as me with the same experience|education. I found out that another person (male) that started as the same as us was also making a dollar more which seemed unfair to our colleague. I do not believe this is a gender wage issue but a lack of organization issue. After this I discovered that advisors hired after me were making a lot more, up to $5 extra per hour. They were not better qualified and did not have extra tasks compared to the work I was doing. This is unfair and I was not able to come forward about this. Company policy states that we cannot discuss wages but it is a right under Ontario law. Writing this in hopes that it brings up the discussion and review of hourly wage. This topic should not be taboo but transparent

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful

      Tucows Response

      Hi there! Thank you so much for your feedback. We appreciate the time you took to share your experience with us. In terms of compensation for Advisor roles, we want to clarify a few things: - We value the fantastic work our CS team does. That’s why we focus on ensuring our compensation is well above the market for CS roles, based on the current industry. - We empower CS leadership to determine the best compensation to match the skills and experience of their team members. The People Team does a thorough analysis of fair salary, but we trust our CS managers to decide what works best for their teams. - Experience from one individual to the next is not apples to apples, and therefore, there are nuances in pay that may not be known or seen to others. In line with this, we have monthly comp reviews to ensure that we are paying fairly. - We have salary ranges for our roles to ensure fairness. - If we did get the salary wrong - we will fix. We make adjustments when warranted, and we foster an environment where employees feel comfortable expressing concern about their salary to their managers and the People Team. - We ask that salaries are not discussed among employees only because it can lead to confusion when individuals don’t have the whole picture/reason as to why a salary was determined. Everyone is different, and so there are nuances in compensation. Your experience matters to us, and we want to learn from where we maybe fell short. Please reach out to us at TalkToUs@Tucows.com. Understanding your experience and feedback better can help us further improve our processes. Thank you.

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Design Team

      Feb 2, 2021 - Product Designer in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working at Tucows has given me the chance to collaborate with a great design team. We all encourage and motivate each other to do our best work and push each other to improve. With multiple brands under the Tucows umbrella, we have a variety of projects to work on. Over the past couple of years we have added several talented individuals to our team and we continue to evolve. I feel that we keep getting better with time!

      Cons

      There's room to improve cross-team communication and collaboration.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company cares a lot about work like balance

      Feb 3, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Strong focus on work-life balance, respect for your personal life, great efforts to improve and evolve in every area by the leadership team, lots of new and diverse hiring is bringing the company into a great spot. Hire amazing people, great benefits, nice culture, a very pleasant organization to work at. Many people coming from large corporate cultures find a home at Tucows. We are growing quickly and evolving a lot as a company. Lots of freedom for creativity and trying new things out.

      Cons

      Sometimes gaps in process/systems or wholistic thinking can lead to frustration amongst employees but its something everyone is thinking about and trying to improve

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Tucows Response

      Thank you for your feedback. We'd love to hear more about your experience and see where else we can improve. If you're open to sharing some ideas, please reach out to us at TalkToUs@Tucows.com. Thank you.

    5. 3.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      Decent

      Jan 17, 2021 - Junior Software Developer in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Tucows is an interesting company.

      Cons

      Some of the work was not particularly interesting.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work..

      Feb 5, 2020 - Data Engineer in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Love the work culture. One of the best I have worked in , I have previously worked in 2 of the top 5 IT companies worldwide. But Tucows definitely outshines the previous companies. Values the employees and has a great work life balance.

      Cons

      None that I can think of.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Disgraceful Management Practices

      Jan 23, 2020 - Advisor in St. Catharines, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits galore. Free meals by the volunteer committee.

      Cons

      Avoid this company at all costs. I worked at Tucows for just over two years. I had an impeccable attendance record and had great customer service feedback. I gave critical feedback in a positive light to help improve the working environment. Merit is simply not a factor at Tucows. You have to be a manager's pet to get somewhere. The huge efforts are largely ignored. Management only gives worthless mass emails to congratulate the group on a whole. Empty and meaningless.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Poor leadership and terrible culture

      May 27, 2019 - Customer Advisor in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you want to learn a new skill, and it aligns reasonably well with organizational goals, there's not a lot of red tape. During my time there, you had enough autonomy to do what you thought was best for the customer. Benefits were pretty good.

      Cons

      It was made clear that support reps were all considered "replaceable" despite how much ramp-up it took to get a support rep properly trained to do this very hard job. The job is tier 1 and tier 2 tech support for 100s of mobile devices on two different networks and ANY other concern a customer might bring up. In addition, you were rarely allowed to escalate to anyone else. This might be just like working in any other call centre, but this is a company that went to great pains to say it wasn't just another call centre. The company uses its "great culture" as a major recruitment selling point, so it's pretty terrible that they fall down on culture so hard. HR was a disaster. Verbal assurances given by HR could not be trusted and if someone in leadership didn't want to follow a policy, there wasn't much you could do about it. While HR departments are always having to balance the needs of the organization with the needs of employees, smart employers understand that a lot of the time, those two sets of needs align. At Tucows, those sets of needs are seemingly always diametrically opposed.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Not for everybody

      Feb 12, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      These reviews and rating should be read with a grain of salt. Tucows is not a 4-star place, trust me. Tucows is a very flexible place to work with very little micromanagement. For some it's great but if you need structure and guidance, you won't get it. It's a place for self starters, it's sink or swim. Health benefits are also great.

      Cons

      Most of the senior executive got to where they are because they stuck around long enough. Most of them do not have the skills to be good at what they do. Ting is the only part of the business that gets attention and money. If you are working on domains, you will be neglected. Technology is super outdated and there is no willingness to change. Office is super dark and depressing. CEO does not provide the leadership required. Tucows holds on to lots of people who are incompetent. It's frustrating.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Customer Support

      Jan 10, 2019 - Customer Service Representative in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -mostly great people to work with. -no dress code. -good benefits.

      Cons

      -location. dufferin & king isn't exactly the safest area of town. i got mugged waiting for the streetcar after finishing a 3-1130 shift (then got in trouble for refusing to take the work laptop home with me every night after that) -there is a lot of pettiness from other employees. if you say something they don't like, instead of talking about it to you like an adult, they run off and cry to their manager. i've seen more maturity in a pre-school setting. -the managers have found a way to pit us against each other to make themselves look good. -6 month probation period -the management play favorites, and it's abundantly clear. -lack of clarity for customers. -lack of information to employees regarding customer promotions. you'll basically hear about it when a customer calls in to inquire. -they stress that they want you to be yourself, but when you are yourself they come down on your for it. -absolutely no consideration regarding schedules. they screw up, but you end up paying the price. they claim to offer work life balance, but at Tucows you better live to work as opposed to work to live. -they monitor bathroom breaks. -they'll change the way you're paid on a whim.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 28 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Tucows Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Tucows? Share Your Experiences

    or