Travelers Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Travelers Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2446 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Travelers CEO Alan D. Schnitzer
Alan D. Schnitzer
676 Ratings
Pros
  • "You'd expect to get great benefits from a company with 30k employees and you'd right(in 188 reviews)

  • "Work life balance better than industry(in 178 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work/Life Balance is emphasized, but many roles don't afford this luxury(in 92 reviews)

  • "Primary office location in Hartford(in 92 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "nice manager to work for, team is positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Travelers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    nice manager to work for, team is positive

    Cons

    salary is competitive but not outstanding , vacations are not generous

    Continue reading
    Travelers2019-07-17

    Travelers Response

    July 24, 2019Head of Human Resources

    It’s great to hear you’re having a positive experience. Our people are key to creating the collaborative environment that defines Travelers's culture.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Claims Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Representative in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Travelers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, good paid time off , people

    Cons

    Overtime unpaid between 37.5 to 44 hours per week. Very stressful work loads Poor customer service due to amount of work Reactive management, takes decisions and listens to employees after issues takes place only.

    Continue reading
    Travelers2019-10-10
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Avoid the billing department in Oakville at all costs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Billing Representative in Oakville, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Travelers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company as a whole is not bad. Good colleagues, good vacation, benefits, casual dress, coffee machines, celebrations etc.

    Cons

    The Oakville billing department is very poorly managed. Poor communication with management. Way too much work, not enough staff. Unrealistic expectations. High employee turnover. Bad pay. No room for growth in this department. Management does not care about your personal growth within the company. Management has favorites. You will not be treated as an equal, you will feel patronized. You will feel foolish for bringing up an idea. The culture is very awkward between employees and management, everyone is afraid to speak up. A very cold atmosphere, constant negative energy from management. Had to leave due to stress and burnout. A job in this department is not worth your mental health. AVOID!

    Continue reading
    Travelers2019-09-30
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not what they seem!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Travelers full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very little these days....work from home, benefits are good.

    Cons

    They tell you how great it is but it’s all talk...Bullying does happen by upper management in a certain large group....micro management, managers can’t make decisions on their own. Some management won’t let staff work from home even though they can.

    Continue reading
    Travelers2019-09-24
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Travelers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Oakville, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Travelers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible with work from home and hours.

    Cons

    A lot of change over the past couple of years and still happening. A lot of staff turn over.

    Travelers2019-08-18

    Travelers Response

    August 20, 2019Head of Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. We have gone through a lot of change over the last several months as we strive to be both an employer of choice and carrier of choice and we are excited about our future.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Finally some good IT leadership!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technology in Toronto, ON
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Travelers full-time

    Pros

    - good pay and benefits/pension - seem to have good momentum for positive change - new IT leadership additions are paving the way for badly needed direction - company seems committed to change - flexible work arrangements

    Cons

    - decision making is very slow and is by committee - business direction on projects constantly change - hopefully new leadership will drive change

    Continue reading
    Travelers2019-08-01

    Travelers Response

    August 5, 2019Head of Human Resources

    Thank you for the positive feedback. We’ll share this with management.

    Continue reading
  7. "Highly organized and structured company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Travelers full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible working hours, good benefits, structured company, good pay compared to competitors

    Cons

    high volume workload, too many bosses

    Travelers2019-07-25
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Constantly under-staffed; Real quality of service is embarrassing; Outside consultants are respected more than staff."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Billing Specialist in Oakville, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Travelers full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Decent pay and benefits. Pension matching program. 4 weeks paid time off to start (vacation/sick days combined). Some supervisors are good, some colleagues are amazing. Upper management means well, and seems to genuinely care about employee engagement.

    Cons

    Canada has to do whatever the US does. every year is a new round of consultants telling us what to do (without listening to the employees at all). Most employees are discouraged/stressed out and on the verge of burnout. Employee turnover is high. Office Politics seem to be what's running middle management; can we get some supervisors who actually care about staff and have some common sense?

    Continue reading
    Travelers2019-07-15

    Travelers Response

    July 24, 2019Head of Human Resources

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We'll take the details you've shared and use it as an opportunity to look at improvements.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Don't do it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Travelers full-time

    Pros

    Good dedicated employees who continually try to do their best despite trying circumstances. They pay well because it's the only way they can keep or attract people despite the reputation they have

    Cons

    No work/life balance, worked 6 days a week on salary. Sr Leaders didn't listen to front line employees, they pretend to listen but continue to do more of the same. CEO seems to have good intentions but I don't know if she is truly hearing what's happening on the front lines. Many employees - most managers are actively looking for work elsewhere and are completely disengaged. There are some Sr leaders (executives) that seem to survive no matter how disengaged their staff are and how unprofessionally they treat people.

    Continue reading
    Travelers2019-08-14
  10. Helpful (9)

    "Travelers Canada is a completely dysfunctional organization - and it starts at the top."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Vice President in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Travelers

    Pros

    No work outside of work hours because projects don’t actually move forward.

    Cons

    - No strategy in place - Incredibly top down management - CEO has to approve everything and has trouble making decisions - Terrible culture and morale (everyone there wants out and actively talks about job search) - Worst Leadership I have ever experienced in my career - No development, no tangible skill learning

    Continue reading
    Travelers2019-07-20

    Travelers Response

    July 24, 2019Head of Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. It’s important to us.

    Continue reading
Found 2446 reviews