Travel Alberta Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Travel Alberta Reviews

Updated Oct 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
40%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Travel Alberta full-time

    Pros

    The Corporate Culture is second to none and the company values their employees. Salary, Benefits and Perks are quite competitive.

    Cons

    As with any Government related jobs, including Crown Corporations, every decision you make with the company has to be politically correct. All non Managerial positions are union. This can be good or bad, but I found it unnecessary for this company because there is nothing to complain about, nor do I have any concerns about this company.

    Travel Alberta2014-10-10
  2. "Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Travel Alberta full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work/life balance, great co-workers, good corporate culture.

    Cons

    There is a lack of room for growth

    Travel Alberta2019-10-31
  3. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Travel Alberta full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good leadership team who really care. Good benefits including generous flexible spending account. Fun activities for employees. Able to be creative and there are opportunities to try new things.

    Cons

    Crown corporation environment makes it a little bureaucratic. Never sure what we will have for budget from year to year.

    Travel Alberta2019-10-29
  4. "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Director of Business Development 

    I worked at Travel Alberta

    Pros

    it was a great job

    Cons

    I have no real cons

    Travel Alberta2019-07-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Travel Alberta full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - The industry is amazing -Depending on your team the managers can be amazing - Personal Spending account that can be applied to many different areas (ie: personal spending, health spending or RRSP) - Great location in Inglewood with free parking (everyone is given a parking spot) - The majority of people who work in the office are incredible people, more like family, who all love what they do. - Strong brand as a company, lots of recognition/status when this is on your resume. - Get the chance to see magic in the marketing world made.

    Cons

    - Depending on your team some managers can be a nightmare, they aren't adequately trained how to be managers and what they say or do is totally against best practices from an HR standpoint. (ie: if someone chooses not to disclose they are pregnant for the first 3 months, that employee in no way should be penalized or reprimanded...that is a very very private decision). - The HR team has turned over so often over the past 5 years. It was amazing 5-6 years ago...however in recent years there has been a lot of room for improvement. The HR team is clearly acting now for the employers benefit, not for the overall employee benefit. Given the mountain of issues in recent years there is almost zero trust for the HR team as a result which affects overall the team dynamic. - The sheer amount of turnover in recent years (it's unhealthy from an HR perspective) to have such a revolving door. Whats especially surprising is how many of the really great HR team members have quit/walked out, that's a bad sign right there. - The workload when people quit or abolished falls on team members who are already overworked and stressed. We keep being told to do more with less and it's exhausting. - Your job is *always* in jeopardy of being abolished. Unionized team member or manager, you can walk into work one day and think everything is swell, only to be called into a meeting and it's all over. It doesn't matter how many years you've been here, +15 years or 1 year, manager or entry level. Almost everyone who isn't a VP or higher is nervous their position could be next to be abolished list. - Very little upwards movement, once hired it is near impossible to move upwards. They will often hire external vs internal.

    Continue reading
    Travel Alberta2019-03-19

    Travel Alberta Response

    October 29, 2019Director, People and Culture

    We're really sorry to hear that you feel there is a lack of trust in general and have concerns about the HR team in particular. Our team has been quite stable now for a couple of years and we have invested a lot in the organization. We haven't heard any of this type of feedback (through engagement surveys, pulse checks, 1:1s with the CEO, etc.) and in fact have heard quite the opposite from team members. Our team actively participates in (and in fact organizes) all team events. We can assure you the leadership team, including the People team, is dedicated to supporting all team members and we welcome your questions or concerns directly at any time. Our doors are always open (both literally and figuratively) and we're happy to have an in-person conversation to better understand your concerns.

    Continue reading
  6. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Travel Alberta full-time

    Pros

    Great culture, benefits and management

    Cons

    Government uncertainty around budgets

    Travel Alberta2018-12-17
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Wasn't all its dreamed up to be..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Travel Alberta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Time off, work life balance, Pension

    Cons

    Roles are extremely pigeon holed - not a lot of movement within the company, too many "manager" roles - when over half of them have zero direct reports. Entry level positions are a joke and are only paper pushers. Low pay - especially after you factor in pension and union dues. Since your part of the government budget and costs are consistently talked about and how they can lower company costs - getting rid of teams budgets but not trimming any events budgets because they want to be the best. Culture and values are constantly talked about, but do a check and see how many employees leave within the first year.

    Continue reading
    Travel Alberta2018-12-05

    Travel Alberta Response

    October 29, 2019Director, People and Culture

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. Since this review (and your time with Travel Alberta) we have done a lot to support the career development of all our team members. We also have a target for internal promotions (and despite a pause in hiring we have had one this year), and have actively been cross-training and offering opportunities in many areas. We're confident Travel Alberta team members have good opportunities to develop their careers if they take advantage of the many resources offered.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Used to be world-class organization - not anymore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Travel Alberta full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to promote destination globally Excellent marketing activities with work to be proud of Office location in Inglewood with free parking for team

    Cons

    Senior management is fractured and is not vested in the organization Too concerned about optics and scared of making decisions Very high rate of turnover of team in last 3 years

    Travel Alberta2018-10-11

    Travel Alberta Response

    October 29, 2019Director, People and Culture

    Thank you for your comments. We're sorry to hear that you feel the senior leadership team isn't invested in the organization, as our experience with them has been the opposite. No one is perfect, and all senior leaders have pressures, but this is the most engaged and genuinely caring team many of us have worked with. We are working hard on some of the challenges that come from being in a constantly changing environment and welcome team members' feedback through the many channels (both anonymous and not) that we make available.

    Continue reading
  9. ""Specialist""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Travel Alberta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - If you work in a union, you will have job security - Great "name" to add to your resume

    Cons

    - Very untrustworthy management - Treat you like a criminal when you get let go - Don't value people who work hard - Would rather fire someone then seek out the truth in their work ethic - HR department has turned over 3 times in 3 years - Performance reviews are not consistent. - Management sneaks around employees with hidden meetings

    Continue reading
    Travel Alberta2018-10-08

    Travel Alberta Response

    October 29, 2019Director, People and Culture

    We're sorry to hear you left the organization with such negative feelings. We understand that not every environment is a fit for everyone and certainly hope that you have found one better suited to you.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Negative Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Travel Alberta full-time

    Pros

    I enjoy my job and the work we do promoting Alberta is second to none.

    Cons

    The management team does not walk the walk. There is too much focus on winning awards without anything to prove said awards and is not an admired culture despite winning the award. The managers are inexperienced managers across the board especially at upper management level and the CEO is disinterested in the employees. There is no career training for the specialists and if you ask for some management tells you to get a job somewhere else. The culture is "shut up and do your work" and your work is never good enough.

    Continue reading
    Travel Alberta2018-05-04

    Travel Alberta Response

    October 29, 2019Director, People and Culture

    While I acknowledge that this review is over a year old, I want to add some comments anyway. I sincerely hope that you have found that the environment has changed here in the time since posting this as we have dedicated a lot of time and resources to career development, leadership training and communication from the senior leadership team. There are many career development opportunities available to team members at all levels and we welcome the opportunity to talk to anyone who wants to have a conversation about how we can support their learning.

    Continue reading
Found 12 reviews