TransAlta Reviews

Updated May 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.1
22%
Recommend to a Friend
12%
Approve of CEO
TransAlta President & CEO Dawn Farrell
Dawn Farrell
75 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management not well-liked as you can see from other reviews(in 10 reviews)

  • "Filthy , your working in coal dust and flyash on a daily basis(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (14)

    "Viewing it from the other side of the glass"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Advisor - Stakeholder & Indigenous Relations in Calgary, AB
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransAlta full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Most people who write reviews on sites like Glassdoor are those disgruntled because of layoffs or personal issues with their supervisors. The truth is those of us who are happy about our place of work never take the time to share the other side of the story. I have been with TransAlta for 4 years now. In the past 25 years, my career has taken me to all four corners of the globe working on sustainable development projects. I have had the privilege to be mentored by some of the greatest professionals around. Yet, I don't remember ever working for a more innovative, progressive company than TransAlta Corporation. Not one or two, but three of the supervisors I've worked with in this company have taken the time to make sure I'm involved in projects I find meaningful. The level of trust is one of the highest I have ever encountered and ideas and suggestions are listened to and followed on. Most of the people I work with work hard because they feel respected and appreciated. Lately, the Management Team in the Company has involved us all in a culture-changing exercise; and the results have been outstanding. A positive attitude is contagious and ours is spreading rapidly. I truly look forward to the rest of my career here, and I know of many others who feel the same way about TransAlta.

    Cons

    No company is perfect but this one comes really close

    Continue reading
    TransAlta2017-11-03
  2. "Stay Away - Toxic work leadership"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Managing Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TransAlta full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People in middle management and below generally good and hard working.

    Cons

    Uncompassionate and ruthless leadership that only look out for themselves. People are treated as disposables and they will say it to you in your face, even when you are performing well or above expectations. Leadership focused on raking in $$ in bonus for themselves, but turn around and ding the people who worked hard, to avoid paying out bonus. HR is only in name and there to do the management's bidding.

    Continue reading
    TransAlta2020-05-17
  3. "Thought I was going to retire there"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Lead Hand in Wabamun, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TransAlta full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Some really good front line workers. Pay was good. Close to home.

    Cons

    It was the "end of life" for many of the assets so a lot of the maintenance that things needed was mostly neglected. Focused on the shareholder rather than the employees. Too many foreign(Australian) leaders out of touch with with local "feel". Carbon tax killed (or will kill) the workforce.

    Continue reading
    TransAlta2020-04-01
  4. "A good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Analyst 

    I worked at TransAlta full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A good place to work

    Cons

    I cannot think of any

    TransAlta2020-02-25
  5. "Bright future"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at TransAlta full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people that are experts in what they do; hopefully the company can keep them

    Cons

    Company is constantly in reorganization; limited stability

    TransAlta2019-10-20
  6. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Manager in Calgary, AB

    I worked at TransAlta full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people and interesting work

    Cons

    Location is not that great

    Continue reading
    TransAlta2019-10-10
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Management do not care an racist"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TransAlta full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good location, supportive supervisor, Salary

    Cons

    Management do not care for employees except for their own insiders

    Continue reading
    TransAlta2019-10-15
  8. "Ok years ago"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at TransAlta full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It was a great place to go to gain experience. Good team to work with, people always tried to help each other.

    Cons

    There are many lay offs while management enjoys large salaries. Employees are taking cuts and working more and still getting laid off.

    TransAlta2019-05-01
  9. "Maintenance"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Technician in Duffield, AB
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TransAlta full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Wages are tops out there for a maintenance position where your home every night.

    Cons

    Filthy , your working in coal dust and flyash on a daily basis

    TransAlta2019-04-12
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Dumpster Fire"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TransAlta full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of paid time off

    Cons

    Seems to be a lot of short term thinking by E-suite to drive down costs and artificially inflate stock price before retirements

    Continue reading
    TransAlta2019-05-08
Found 138 reviews