TransAlta Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

TransAlta Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 134 reviews

2.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
19%
Recommend to a Friend
14%
Approve of CEO
TransAlta CEO Dawn Farrell
Dawn Farrell
72 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management not well-liked as you can see from other reviews(in 10 reviews)

  • "Filthy , your working in coal dust and flyash on a daily basis(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (11)

    "Viewing it from the other side of the glass"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Advisor - Stakeholder & Indigenous Relations in Calgary, AB
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransAlta full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Most people who write reviews on sites like Glassdoor are those disgruntled because of layoffs or personal issues with their supervisors. The truth is those of us who are happy about our place of work never take the time to share the other side of the story. I have been with TransAlta for 4 years now. In the past 25 years, my career has taken me to all four corners of the globe working on sustainable development... projects. I have had the privilege to be mentored by some of the greatest professionals around. Yet, I don't remember ever working for a more innovative, progressive company than TransAlta Corporation. Not one or two, but three of the supervisors I've worked with in this company have taken the time to make sure I'm involved in projects I find meaningful. The level of trust is one of the highest I have ever encountered and ideas and suggestions are listened to and followed on. Most of the people I work with work hard because they feel respected and appreciated. Lately, the Management Team in the Company has involved us all in a culture-changing exercise; and the results have been outstanding. A positive attitude is contagious and ours is spreading rapidly. I truly look forward to the rest of my career here, and I know of many others who feel the same way about TransAlta.

    Show More

    Cons

    No company is perfect but this one comes really close

    Advice to Management

    Keep involving the key innovators in the process of bringing this company to new heights. Some of the best ideas come from front-line employees.

    TransAlta2017-11-03
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Manager in Calgary, AB

    I worked at TransAlta full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people and interesting work

    Cons

    Location is not that great

    Advice to Management

    Good job

    TransAlta2019-10-10
  3. "Management do not care an racist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TransAlta full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good location, supportive supervisor, Salary

    Cons

    Management do not care for employees except for their own insiders

    Advice to Management

    None will work

    TransAlta2019-10-15
  4. Helpful (1)

    ""Five things I hated""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TransAlta full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Positives negated by the nature and magnitude of negatives. If you experience high prices, bad food and terrible service at a restaurant its tough to glean positives from the decor and location.

    Cons

    1. Industry business, company culture, and financial problems. 2. Large disparity in compensation between peer positions in company. 3. Pay freezes, bonus cuts, pension cuts, and days off cuts. 4. Management language, manners and business etiquette. 5. Management duplicity, bullying, sexual harassment and physical contact.

    Advice to Management

    A fish rots from the head down.

    TransAlta2019-10-10
  5. "Ok years ago"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at TransAlta full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It was a great place to go to gain experience. Good team to work with, people always tried to help each other.

    Cons

    There are many lay offs while management enjoys large salaries. Employees are taking cuts and working more and still getting laid off.

    TransAlta2019-05-01
  6. "Maintenance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Technician in Duffield, AB
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TransAlta full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Wages are tops out there for a maintenance position where your home every night.

    Cons

    Filthy , your working in coal dust and flyash on a daily basis

    TransAlta2019-04-12
  7. "Dumpster Fire"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TransAlta full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of paid time off

    Cons

    Seems to be a lot of short term thinking by E-suite to drive down costs and artificially inflate stock price before retirements

    Advice to Management

    Start to practice what you preach

    TransAlta2019-05-08
  8. "Sr. Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at TransAlta full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    recently lots of organizational changes

    TransAlta2019-03-20
  9. "Stabilizing from sustained period of change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransAlta full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay is fair. Vacation is adequate and encouraged. Strong desire to succeed as individuals and an organization. Weathered the worst of the storm.

    Cons

    Uncertainty for many as organization continues to evolve. Change is not uncommon. Have to adapt to new conditions often.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to pay down corporate debt. Difficult decisions and uncomfortable situations will subside eventually. Be a pioneer among your peers. Get outside of the box.

    TransAlta2019-03-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "They are trying to restructure Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at TransAlta full-time

    Pros

    The people you work with

    Cons

    Pretty dirty place to work, Working around coal dust all the time. There are not enough people there to handle work load, still laying off people, you get the work of the guy who just got layed off plus your work that you have to do.

    TransAlta2019-02-24
Found 134 reviews