Traction on Demand Reviews

Updated May 6, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
77%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Traction on Demand Founder & CEO Greg Malpass
Greg Malpass
106 Ratings
Pros
  • "I also thought that Traction is a place where they truly live their values(in 37 reviews)

  • "Lunch program is currently happening 3 days a week, but will probably extend to 5 days a week(in 14 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Nothing bad to say about traction(in 30 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance can be challenging at times(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great people and culture

      Mar 18, 2021 - Vice President in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Many organizations talk about culture but Tractionites live it. They are committed to the success of the company, but more importantly, they are committed to the success of each other.

      Cons

      Growing fast and may sacrifice quality for quantity

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to learn and grow

      Apr 15, 2021 - Full Time Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. People are supportive and smart 2. Leadership tries very hard to listen and make changes 3. They invest in your career 4. Great place to learn about Salesforce and work on awesome projects

      Cons

      1. Salaries are lower than the market for some roles. 2. Leadership needs to pay more attention to how projects are managed. We have a serious problem that some PMs either don't have the time or the skills, or maybe the clarity on their role to properly monitor project progress. When we finish less than 30% of the work planned for a sprint, then something is wrong. The PM needs to ask questions as early as possible and start shifting things around and not wait till the last minute. Team Leads share part of that responsibility with the PM by monitoring their own team and raise any concerns early on, but some TLs might fail to do so, and the PM should be the one keeping an eye on all things (including scope-creep) to make sure we're progressing well towards our deadlines. Failing to do so, results in a LOT of crunch times throughout the project, causing people to burn out.

      3 people found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      A good incubator for talent and experience but not a long-term gig

      Apr 30, 2021 - Project Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Endless opportunity - High growth company that is hiring and expanding at a fast pace - High emphasis on ownership, accountability and you are always given a chance to take on more of the work you are interested in doing - Amazing people and team members who truly care about you - Management tries their best to engage employees with creative huddles and messaging - Flexible working hours and schedule - Opportunity to help make an impact that is not limited to just your day to day work - "Door is always open" mentality and you can reach out to management easily - You can get involved with other parts of the company to cross functionally contribute - You are equipped with the right tools and hardware to successfully do your work

      Cons

      - Not enough recognition for non client-facing employees - Too many burnt out people who are not rewarded for their work - Limited transparency on career paths, growth and earning potential - Pays lower than market - Sometimes, top-down strategy and management announcements do not align with how employees are feeling (some messaging can come across as tone-deaf to front-line employees who are dealing with difficult projects and challenges day to day) - Consistently high attrition with no transparency to why and what the path forward is to reduce losing talent - Some managers are inexperienced people leaders, and were promoted just for being technical experts - Growing pains with many parts of the company unstructured including compensation planning, project approaches etc. It is different every few quarters and difficult to stay consistent.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Overall feedback

      May 2, 2021 - Project Manager in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salesforce ! Nice people Great opportunities Growing organisation

      Cons

      None for now to think of.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Waste no potential.

      Oct 26, 2020 - CEO-Founder in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People. People who care. People who believe that company and community should be synonymous. People who trust each other. People who are committed to learning, growing and sharing. Innovation is everywhere. How. When, where and why we work. Learning and growth opportunities. People who take initiative are rewarded. The business structure creates early leadership and though leadership opportunities. Squad model. The work is extremely interesting. Helping an incredibly diverse client base cross the digital divide.

      Cons

      We are all learning as we grow, which means there are always bottlenecks, and with bottlenecks comes change. It doesn't matter who you are change can be tough. You have to be open to it and at times this can be exhausting. Workforce diversity continues to improve but is not where it should be. Also I would be remiss to say some of the comments on these reviews are not hard to read. The growth we've experienced has created hundreds of jobs. It has created 5 software companies and enabled personal and professional growth beyond anything I had ever contemplated. It has also created challenges, where leaders like me struggle at times to keep up to expectations. I wish more of this feedback came directly and openly vs anonymously and after the fact. Clearly we can create more communications paths.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Traction on Demand Response

      UnCorporate Communications Manager

      Thanks for your contribution, Greg! ;-) Good advise for all of us there!

    6. 2.0
      Former Employee

      What a disappointment

      Feb 12, 2021 - Sales in Burnaby, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Got to work with smart, fun people - Opportunity to travel for work - Entry point into the Salesforce ecosystem - Plenty of office perks

      Cons

      - Office is located in industrial area of Burnaby - Lack of mature leadership at child companies - Extremely poor handling of layoffs - Compensation fell well short of expectations - Training at child companies is not in line with parent company

      Continue reading
      15 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great Team & Culture in a Fast Paced & Dynamic Environment!

      Nov 27, 2020 - Operations in Burnaby, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You'll be surrounded by accountable, caring and smart people. You'll learn and grow more at Traction in your first year than you'll learn in a few years at other companies. Business and brand are booming. Over the years, it seems like we achieve everything we put in front ourselves and we continue to do so! Sure there are some mistakes and learnings, but we as transparent as we can be and we always pivot fast.

      Cons

      It's intense and sometimes a little all consuming. There are consistent struggles with pains coming from rapid growth. At times it feels like we are growing up too quickly and fixing things as we sprint to the next level, the next challenge. It rarely feels stable. The "Kool-aid" is a little strong sometimes, but its tough to argue with success and what got us here.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Dishonest

      Apr 10, 2021 - Project Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Co-workers are great. The benefits prior to the pandemic.

      Cons

      The company states they focus on employee wellness and the importance of culture, when in fact it is a false claim. Lots of employees burn out, managers are more involved in the politics than professional development. OH BUT, if you have ANY relationship to the CEO your job is safe. Too many good and qualified people let go during the pandemic, and ridiculous amount of people still in seats they do not deserve.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A growth story!

      Mar 23, 2021 - Business Development Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people. Everyone has the hunter mentality and is excited about the growth opportunity ahead for the company.

      Cons

      With scaling so quickly, there are challenges with internal support.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Values oriented org who works hard to be who they say they are

      Oct 7, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've been really impressed in my time at Traction with their commitment to living their values. They certainly don't always get it right, but they're the only company I've ever worked with who openly admits when they've missed the mark and actively tries to fix it. Going through huge growth, it's challenging to always stay true to who they are and some things that made sense once, don't necessarily make sense anymore. But as a solutions oriented company, they are constantly working to adjust where needed to, and while they can't address everything at once, they do their best to make sure they're living up to who they say they are and who they want to be. The leadership at Traction is among some of the best I've ever worked with, and they are all willing to share their knowledge and time, which is incredible.

      Cons

      It's an extremely fast paced environment and priorities can change on a dime which can be challenging. Comp and Benefits are not the strongest, but you don't really join Traction for the money, you join it for the culture and community.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Traction on Demand Response

      UnCorporate Communications Manager

      Hey. Thanks for sharing from your experience. So glad to read that you feel we're committed to our values. I've noted your feedback about compensation and benefits, and have passed along your advice to our Director of People for consideration.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 142 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Traction on Demand Job Seekers

    Business Solutions Consultant
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Business Development Manager
    Learn About the Job
    Enterprise Business Development Manager
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Traction on Demand? Share Your Experiences

    Traction on Demand logo
    or