Town Shoes Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Town Shoes Reviews

Updated Aug 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 183 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
Simon Nankervis
10 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Town Shoes full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    DM is always respectful, professional. Never an issue, if I have any issues or suggestions he is always available. Hours are perfect for family and work balance. Everyone I talk to in support center or other store are very friendly and so helpful. An amazing place to work. Love it.

    Cons

    Not one that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Town is moving in a new direction, I can't wait to see what great things are to come.

    Town Shoes2018-01-19

    Town Shoes Response

    January 22, 2018HR Manager

    Thank you so much for taking the time to share this wonderful feedback with us -we're happy to have you on our Team!

  2. "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 

    I worked at Town Shoes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    discounts on shoes and accessories good coworkers

    Cons

    discongruent at corporate level, making poor decisions that are out of touch with the location and store environment

    Town Shoes2019-08-16
  3. "So much fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Kitchener, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Town Shoes part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really awesome team and great hours

    Cons

    Getting time off or slow business

    Town Shoes2019-07-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great company in some aspects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Town Shoes part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -great management at in store level -opportunities for yearly review and raise -decent employee discount (30%)

    Cons

    -corporate/upper management makes a lot of strange rules about store layout, processes, and customer service that honestly make no sense and they would realize that If they ever spent time working in an actual store of theirs. -we are forced to ask customers personal info and push for them to give it to us for loyalty program even when customer is uncomfortable or clear that they do not want to give it out, and we are...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Send corporate decision makers to work in stores and realize why half the things they say to do make no sense -stop getting employees in trouble when customers exercise their right to not give us their personal info, we get enough grief from the customers themselves without also getting yelled at by upper management for bad numbers

    Town Shoes2019-07-23
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Worst Retail Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Town Shoes part-time

    Pros

    There are no actual pros at Town Shoes Limited

    Cons

    Abusive gaslighting management, queerphobic staff and consistent illegal behaviour

    Advice to Management

    Fire everyone in the Ottawa Market.

    Town Shoes2019-06-07
  6. "decent first job to get into industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandise Associate 

    I worked at Town Shoes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the people were great career opp for growth

    Cons

    lack of support from management low pay, high stress

    Town Shoes2019-05-04
  7. "Sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Town Shoes part-time

    Pros

    Good discounts, friendly people, up to date shoes

    Cons

    A bit boring, not much to do

    Town Shoes2019-04-29
  8. "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Town Shoes part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, fun culture

    Cons

    Low pay, no benefits for non management staff

    Town Shoes2019-04-09
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Could be worse... could be better..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Town Shoes full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people (store level and district level)... one of the only reason why I stay around!

    Cons

    Compensation is for sure a con as someone how has been with the company 10+ years Incentive programs for staff (and bonuses for managers) are pretty much non existent at this point

    Advice to Management

    By all means use the tools (seasoned managers) you have to better the districts and company as a whole but I bit more gratitude would be nice

    Town Shoes2019-01-15
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Town Shoes full-time

    Pros

    Discount Great leadership Organized Thoughtful training Loved my coworkers Room for growth Great benefits, perks, compensation

    Cons

    Low commission Sometimes frazzled operations and tasks with short notice Going out of business

    Town Shoes2018-11-29
Found 183 reviews