Town Shoes Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Town Shoes Reviews

Updated Jun 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 181 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
5%
Approve of CEO
Simon Nankervis
8 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Town Shoes full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    DM is always respectful, professional. Never an issue, if I have any issues or suggestions he is always available. Hours are perfect for family and work balance. Everyone I talk to in support center or other store are very friendly and so helpful. An amazing place to work. Love it.

    Cons

    Not one that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Town is moving in a new direction, I can't wait to see what great things are to come.

    Town Shoes2018-01-19

    Town Shoes Response

    January 22, 2018HR Manager

    Thank you so much for taking the time to share this wonderful feedback with us -we're happy to have you on our Team!

  2. "decent first job to get into industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandise Associate 

    I worked at Town Shoes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the people were great career opp for growth

    Cons

    lack of support from management low pay, high stress

    Town Shoes2019-05-04
  3. "Worst Retail Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Town Shoes part-time

    Pros

    There are no actual pros at Town Shoes Limited

    Cons

    Abusive gaslighting management, queerphobic staff and consistent illegal behaviour

    Advice to Management

    Fire everyone in the Ottawa Market.

    Town Shoes2019-06-07
  4. "Sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Town Shoes part-time

    Pros

    Good discounts, friendly people, up to date shoes

    Cons

    A bit boring, not much to do

    Town Shoes2019-04-29
  5. "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Town Shoes part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, fun culture

    Cons

    Low pay, no benefits for non management staff

    Town Shoes2019-04-09
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Could be worse... could be better..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Town Shoes full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people (store level and district level)... one of the only reason why I stay around!

    Cons

    Compensation is for sure a con as someone how has been with the company 10+ years Incentive programs for staff (and bonuses for managers) are pretty much non existent at this point

    Advice to Management

    By all means use the tools (seasoned managers) you have to better the districts and company as a whole but I bit more gratitude would be nice

    Town Shoes2019-01-15
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Town Shoes full-time

    Pros

    Discount Great leadership Organized Thoughtful training Loved my coworkers Room for growth Great benefits, perks, compensation

    Cons

    Low commission Sometimes frazzled operations and tasks with short notice Going out of business

    Town Shoes2018-11-29
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Great job with bad company, bad perks, bad management, bad pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part Time Sales Associate in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Town Shoes part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Good people to work with -Open door policy -Great was to get lots of customer service experience -Lots of customer interaction

    Cons

    -Regional and district managers are super controlling -Got rid of the free Shoe perks -High traffic stores got all the stock -Employees got 40% off full priced shoes (we used to get 40% off on top of sale price -Customers got better deals than us. -Schedule was crazy at times -Commission was super low -Head office is a NIGHTMARE to deal with -Got bought buy DSW -Going out of business

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees with respect this is a job not our lives. We have lives outside of work don’t make us feel bad and shame us because we have other jobs, need personal days or have family emergency’s - it makes us not want to stay. Ever since we got bought buy DSW the hours started getting cut, people started being let go and now the company is going out of business. This is why I left.

    Town Shoes2018-12-15
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Boring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Town Shoes part-time

    Pros

    Not much to say here.

    Cons

    Poor management. Lacks experience big time.

    Town Shoes2018-10-24
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Ecommerce Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Town Shoes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Exciting brands to work with and lots of opportunity to get hands-on experience on all phases of large projects due to flat org structure and very thin 'teams.' Decent pay for mid to upper management. Fun Christmas parties, product discounts and annual warehouse sales for staff.

    Cons

    Chaos amid change to biz ownership with older employees not buying into new ways of doing business. Marketing roles were silo'd, where others overlapped, breeding unhealthy rivalry. Hard to implement required changes to meet aggressive targets, not a lot of support from above or below. High stress environment with very unmotivated front line staff. Little to no growth opportunity as execs had at the time maintained same...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    None - management has completely changed over. It's not the same company it was when I was there.

    Town Shoes2018-09-04
Found 181 reviews