TinyCo Reviews

Updated Nov 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 67 of over 69 reviews

3.1
48%
Recommend to a Friend
TinyCo Chief Executive Officer Chris DeWolfe (no image)
Chris DeWolfe
0 Rating
Pros
  • "Catered dinners and periodic lunches/events(in 10 reviews)

  • "Great community of talented people that like to get stuff done(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management 'encourages' the implementation of ideas from other games without checking whether it's even apt for the game(in 10 reviews)

  • "It's hard to make a real impact on the decision-making for the games that are made (but small effects are easy)(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company, maybe lacking in direction

      Oct 16, 2015 - Software Engineer in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some of the best people I've had the pleasure of working with. Everyone was respectful, everyone had a ton of fun, and there were plenty of opportunities to learn at regularly scheduled "learning lunches." Individual employees were given a lot of freedom in both how to accomplish the tasks they were given and the manner in which they worked, as long as those freedoms were not abused.

      Cons

      No clear sense of how to transition out of traditional mobile "decoration" games from management. No game designers were on staff when I was there, and after a series of layoffs employee morale took quite a hit.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Company in Flux

      Jun 6, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great, smart people wanting to do good things

      Cons

      Management so afraid of failure they are unwilling to trust their teams

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Pros

      Nov 23, 2020 - Produtcion Operator in Athens
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Yes absolutely to be an employer

      Cons

      No regarding to the long hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Data Analyst

      Aug 8, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      very nice people to work with

      Cons

      can be super busy sometimes, many ad-hoc analysis can make the work less organized.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good, passionate people trying to make great games.

      Nov 11, 2017 - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There’s catered lunch a few days a week and catered dinner. Work life balance is mostly good other than understandably right before a big game release. Best coworkers you will ever work with!

      Cons

      401k marching is non existent. No bonuses or equity or any other structure exists to make me feel like I have a stake in company success.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Dedicated people working in a changing market

      Nov 6, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great people - Access to great brands for games - Strong employee culture

      Cons

      - Lots of recent changes happening. could make things choppy in the short-term

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Not Bad

      Jun 14, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Young and open atmosphere, good resources

      Cons

      Sometimes strange culture, infighting and politics

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      TinyCo Response

      Team TinyCo

      Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. Over the last few years, our studio has experienced a lot of growth. This includes huge new games/projects, to a handful of awesome new talent to our teams. With growth, comes some growing pains. We readily admit that we’re not perfect but have taken steps to continuing our TinyCo traditions like our annual Talent Shows and Company Picnics, as well as adding community building opportunities like our Culture Committee & Quarterly Team Outings. Feedback like yours is immensely helpful in continuing with the successes of our studio, and for that, we are extremely grateful. :)

    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Reasonable Place

      Apr 1, 2017 - C++ Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Good IPs - Convenient location - Talented and smart people

      Cons

      - No proper HR - Unfriendly people - Salary well under industry standards - Average benefits, no 401k matching

      2 people found this review helpful

      TinyCo Response

      Team TinyCo

      Thank you so much for sharing your honest feedback. We’re still a small but growing studio, and always eager to improve our current practices. As we move forward, we are/will be evaluating additional ways to create a better environment for our employees. A few are already in place, such as our recent addition of 100% Company Paid Employee Medical, Dental & Vision, and Unlimited PTO. Thank you again. Feedback like this helps more than anything. :)

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Stable gaming studio

      Mar 24, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits have improved, strong IPs, fun culture. Good work life balance. Smart and passionate people.

      Cons

      No commuter benefits or 401K matching. Management needs some structure.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      TinyCo Response

      Team TinyCo

      Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback. We are definitely working on it! As we grow, we will continue to reevaluate our benefits & cool awesome perks for our talented TinyTeam. Just this year, we have introduced 100% Company Paid Employee Medical, Dental & Vision, Unlimited PTO and Quarterly Team Outings. Thank you again for your feedback. Your thoughts are always appreciated!

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      A great Family!

      Jan 25, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      TinyCo is growing and working on some of the best brands in the world in a great, casual and fun environment. The company has great benefits and prioritizes work/life balance over short term goals.

      Cons

      Some growing pains remain that the company acknowledges and works toward fixing.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      TinyCo Response

      Team TinyCo

      Woot! Woot! For sure, this would not be possible without our family/team. :)

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 67 Reviews

    Work at TinyCo? Share Your Experiences

    TinyCo logo
    or