Thumbtack Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Thumbtack Reviews

Updated Feb 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.7
98%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Thumbtack CEO Marco Zappacosta
Marco Zappacosta
214 Ratings
Pros
  • "Excellent vacation time with good work-life balance(in 29 reviews)

  • "The culinary team is amazing (3 homemade meals a day, can't beat it(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are little to no significant cons to working here, other than growing pains are causing parking to become an issue(in 25 reviews)

  • "They don't offer any 401K matching(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Best place to work.Great team, Great mission."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack

    Pros

    Thumbtack provides a Extensive range of perks and makes an effort to stay competitive with their salaries. They also encourage employees to always be improving themselves and to take online courses together or even teach eachother things in an informal classroom setting if they are so inclined. The culture is warm and encouraging, and it definitely inspires great work from the employees.

    Cons

    With rapid growth there are of course some growing pains. For example, we are making out a new org structure for one of the departments and the changes were not communicated to the right people at the right time. It raised questions and caused the existing team, which was very passionate about what they were doing, to question decisions. That said, I think everybody learned from the experience, and now we have a VP of HR to help with this sort of thing!

    Continue reading
    Thumbtack2015-01-09
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thumbtack full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, a lot of talent employees, delicious food all day.

    Cons

    too far away from South Bay

    Continue reading
    Thumbtack2020-02-14

    Thumbtack Response

    February 17, 2020Social Media Support Manager

    Some great call-outs about things we love around the office! The culture means a lot to us, and we're glad it's so obvious to our employees. Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your experience. :)

    Continue reading
  3. "Best place I've ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture, Career Opportunities/ Professional Development, Autonomy, Work-Life Balance. Plus they serve 3 meals a day! Amazing culinary staff and great food. You can really adjust your work hours to match the personal lifestyle that best suits your needs.

    Cons

    Could be more diverse, not as many URMs as other companies.

    Thumbtack2020-02-05

    Thumbtack Response

    February 6, 2020Social Media Support Manager

    What a great list of pros! These are some great call-outs about our company and its culture. We're lucky to have employees like you, and we're grateful for your honest feedback about the diversity, This is something we'll always be working at, and we appreciate you pointing it out and keeping it in mind. :)

    Continue reading
  4. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer New Grad in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've really loved working at Thumbtack. The culture is very playful, and I spend a lot of time laughing and enjoying the company of my coworkers. In terms of work, I've been trusted to work on interesting, high impact projects, despite being a new grad and only having worked here for a couple months. I've learned a lot and enjoy the work. Also the food is great, and good snacks!

    Cons

    New grad onboarding wasn't very structured - it was kind of overwhelming at the beginning, and it would've been nice if there had been some sort of new grad social event to meet other people my age.

    Thumbtack2020-02-06

    Thumbtack Response

    February 6, 2020Social Media Support Manager

    We really appreciate your comments. It's agreed that Thumbtack is an amazing place to work, but we love your great ideas on how we can improve. Thanks for being a valued team member. :)

    Continue reading
  5. "Decent job, weird culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Draper, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thumbtack full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, great benefits.

    Cons

    The culture is almost cult like. Everyone thinks and acts the same and if you disagree you are basically ostracized.

    Continue reading
    Thumbtack2020-02-20
  6. "Amazing mission, team, opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Thumbtack has an incredible group of smart, kind people who are focused on helping small business owners all across the country grow. At the same time, our team is working to make hiring a plumber, electrician, photographer, and so many more talented professionals fast and easy. The market is enormous, the team is ambitious, and the mission is meaningful.

    Cons

    Serving hundreds of professions across every county creates challenges from a product experience perspective.

    Continue reading
    Thumbtack2020-01-21

    Thumbtack Response

    January 27, 2020Social Media Support Manager

    LOVE! Thanks for sharing your kind words about Thumbtack and your experience as an employee. We agree wholeheartedly with your pros and are grateful to hear your feedback in the con section. We're lucky to have you on the team. :)

    Continue reading
  7. "Meaningful Work - Exciting Market Opportunity - Amazing People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Thumbtack deeply cares about our pros, customers, and employees. It's encouraging to come into work every day and solve interesting problems with folks that are passionate about the mission of extending opportunity to small and medium sized business owners. Thumbtack has an INCREDIBLE culinary and workplace experience team that take such good care of us. It's also awesome to work at a company that genuinely invests in diversity, equity, and inclusion.

    Cons

    Every company has areas of improvement, but honestly, Thumbtack is a wonderful place.

    Thumbtack2020-01-08

    Thumbtack Response

    January 10, 2020Social Media Support Manager

    Review goals! :) Nothing is better than being apart of a team that passionately cares about their mission. It's inspiring to come into work every day and see all the hard work that goes into solving problems and improving for our customers and pros. Not to mention how well we're taken care of by our Culinary and Workplace Experience Teams. Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts!

    Continue reading
  8. "Really happy that I chose Thumbtack!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I joined Thumbtack as a new grad recently and my experience has been awesome so far. I have interned at larger companies but Thumbtack has the right size for me to take on important tasks and make an impact. People here are extremely nice and talented and I have grown so much technically and professionally by working with the awesome people. I am really happy about what Thumbtack has helped me achieve during these couple of months out of college.

    Cons

    As a startup that is trying to figure out the right way to go, we make changes every day. Therefore we accumulate some tech debt sometimes.

    Thumbtack2020-01-06

    Thumbtack Response

    January 8, 2020Social Media Support Manager

    What a great review! You made some great points, and we're so happy to have so many impactful people working for us at Thumbtack. Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts and add to the awesome Thumbtack culture. :)

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good vision. Great people. Too much red tape."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Middle Management in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thumbtack full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people within your department. Team work in SLC office. Benefits. Environment.

    Cons

    Processes. Takes months to change anything as all decision are made in San Francisco with teams that don't know the voice of the customer. Too much red tape. Lots of lip service for customer focus from HQ.

    Continue reading
    Thumbtack2020-01-14

    Thumbtack Response

    January 16, 2020Social Media Support Manager

    Thanks for this review, and your honest feedback. Changes at Thumbtack always come from the transparent conversations we have with our employees. Although we do have a process we have to follow, it's important our employees feel heard and that their feedback is being put into action, as such we'll pass this feedback along. We appreciate the work you have put in during your time at Thumbtack, and we wish you the best with your future career.

    Continue reading
  10. "Great place to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Sales Director in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits Great Food Lots of opportunities

    Cons

    The culture can be overwhelmingly sensitive. You can't please everyone.

    Thumbtack2019-12-14

    Thumbtack Response

    December 17, 2019Social Media Support Manager

    Great points! We appreciate the love as well as the feedback. :) Thanks for taking the time to let us know your thoughts.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 257 reviews