Thumbtack Reviews

Updated Sep 11, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 442 of over 485 reviews

4.4
83%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Thumbtack CEO Marco Zappacosta
Marco Zappacosta
351 Ratings
Pros
  • "A healthy work-life balance is also super important to me(in 42 reviews)

  • "Amazing company, great benefits and great working environment(in 26 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "I truly love working for Thumbtack(in 56 reviews)

  • "growing pains, so 1:1 time with manager isn’t as frequent as it used to be(in 28 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on

    Tech

    1y

    a 

    Technical Account Manager

    Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

    466

    64 Comments

    Tech

    325.2K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.ca&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Thumbtack~414078
    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Thumbtack and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Went above and beyond

      Jul 21, 2022 -  in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Went above and beyond. My recruiter Craig B was awesome to work with. Always communicating.

      Cons

      long interview process. The company moves at a slightly slower pace compared to the (small/medium) agency world.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Thumbtack Response

      Social Media Support Manager

      We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company culture!

      May 9, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very flexible work life balance! Great career opportunities and supportive management

      Cons

      Can be set in their ways

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Thumbtack Response

      Social Media Support Manager

      This is so great to hear. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience.

    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great

      Mar 15, 2022 - Officer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to be working

      Cons

      Hughes pay better benefit is grant

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Thumbtack Response

      Social Media Support Manager

      Thanks for sharing your experience of working at Thumbtack. We hope all is well!

    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      very flexible job

      Jan 17, 2022 - Customer Support Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice culture, salary, people. very flexible

      Cons

      a little difficult for career growth

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Thumbtack Response

      Social Media Support Manager

      We appreciate your feedback about working at Thumbtack!

    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Security is an issue

      Jan 12, 2021 - Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My team was fun and had teamwork!

      Cons

      No work security and senior management did not care

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Thumbtack Response

      Social Media Support Manager

      Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts with us here. We want to be sure our employees feel they're being heard and that any concerns they have, like work security, are being addressed. We always value your feedback and we'll be sure to pass it along. It's a joy to know that your team worked together well and found the fun in working here at Thumbtack. We wish you all the best of luck with your next endeavor.

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Best place to work.Great team, Great mission.

      Jan 9, 2015 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Thumbtack provides a Extensive range of perks and makes an effort to stay competitive with their salaries. They also encourage employees to always be improving themselves and to take online courses together or even teach eachother things in an informal classroom setting if they are so inclined. The culture is warm and encouraging, and it definitely inspires great work from the employees.

      Cons

      With rapid growth there are of course some growing pains. For example, we are making out a new org structure for one of the departments and the changes were not communicated to the right people at the right time. It raised questions and caused the existing team, which was very passionate about what they were doing, to question decisions. That said, I think everybody learned from the experience, and now we have a VP of HR to help with this sort of thing!

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Excellent Culture - Bottom Up

      Sep 11, 2022 - Senior Technical Recruiter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      TT has wonderful senior leadership that lets the team breathe and create with lots of freedom. Communication is very open and thoughtful. It's a low-ego environment.

      Cons

      Downleveling is a theme in tech, in general. Not my favorite part of TT.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Thumbtack Response

      Social Media Support Manager

      We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience of working at Thumbtack. Thanks for all of your hard work!

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      An absolute yes!

      Sep 1, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Thumbtack is like a hidden gem! I would highly recommend this company for working parents as they provide a lot of support - a Parents ERG as well as a very open culture that is supportive of the fact that we all have lives outside of work. The virtual-first environment is unmatched. I like that there are quarterly-ish in-person events where you can meet your team in person as well as other people across the organization. It's a very open culture that is collaborative and not good for anyone who brings a lot of ego into their work environment. It's full of low ego, very productive and smart people...lots of people from top tech companies.

      Cons

      If you don't like working virtually this isn't the place for you. There is a plan to build out workspaces in some cities - but there's not a lot of consistent in-person interactions with your team.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Thumbtack Response

      Social Media Support Manager

      Thanks for your review. We're happy to hear that you are happy with ERGs, the virtual first experience, and more. Keep up the great work.

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Feel Lucky to work here

      Aug 26, 2022 - Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everything is a Pro- they care, it’s fun, it’s fair and it’s rewarding! Company trips, excellent benefits! Flexible, and not really an 8-5 unless you want that, Very achievable KPI’s

      Cons

      You really need to be one who Can work independently! They hire people with experience, you need to be able to pick up things pretty easily ( not really a con at all)

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Thumbtack Response

      Social Media Support Manager

      We're so happy to hear about your experience at Thumbtack. We appreciate the kind words.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Best company I have ever worked for

      Aug 23, 2022 - Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval