ThoughtWorks Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

ThoughtWorks Reviews

Updated Jul 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1093 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
ThoughtWorks CEO Guo Xiao
Guo Xiao
387 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Travel can be taxing to work life balance over time(in 44 reviews)

  • "uma empresa aberta, que escuta feedbacks e busca entender o que as pessoas est(in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Work with the Greatest Mind"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You have the opportunities to work with some great minds in the industries on some of the coolest projects. Compensation and benefits are great! Employee retention rate is out of this world

    Cons

    If you have kids and family, 100% travel is not ideal, or you might have to relocate to big cities like NYC so you have enough local projects And there is no annual bonus, they instead pay a little bit more on annual salary

    Advice to Management

    Keep P3 seriously and you will keep attract the great talents

    ThoughtWorks2018-09-14
  2. "Leading agile consultancy, aspiring to do more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You get to work on challenging projects, with strong teammates from around the world.

    Cons

    You may have to travel extensively, depending on your home office and the varying client load.

    Advice to Management

    Find more ways to support remote work. Lead on this.

    ThoughtWorks2018-08-09
  3. Helpful (2)

    "TW"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at ThoughtWorks for more than a year

      Pros

      Great people, travel, little structure/management

      Cons

      Sometimes toxic culture, ambiguity, not great clients, very little opportunity for growth if you aren't a developer

      ThoughtWorks2016-04-01
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good intentions, variable execution"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Software Developer 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at ThoughtWorks full-time

      Pros

      Some of the smartest people I have met work for Thoughtworks. There are also plenty of motivated people who have interests outside of their specific job. Discussion of social issues is encouraged, which is very refreshing for a tech company. They are very considerate when it comes personal matters. New grad training is in India and paid, which is excellent.

      Cons

      The traveling lifestyle is not for me. The culture is sometimes too strong and can come off as being dogmatic. There are lots of opinionated people so disagreements can arise, though are usually handled fairly well.

      Advice to Management

      Keep striving for thoughtfulness and transparency. Overall management has been pretty good, but issues arise when decisions are made and the process has not been transparent enough. This is especially true for individual cases rather than big, company wide changes. It is also true when there seems to be too much subjectivity and the opinions/biases of one person has a disproportionate affect on their career path.

      ThoughtWorks2015-09-01
    • Helpful (2)

      "Technologist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      The real reason to work at ThoughtWorks is the people. Even after over a decade with the company, I have to say the majority of the people here are decent human beings trying to do the right thing. A new hire recently described ThoughtWorks as "like coming home" and that really resonates with me too. Even after a decade, the highly technical core of the company is still here. It's the reason I joined -- all my friends...

      Show More

      Cons

      The easy stuff: You can get more money elsewhere, you can get a job that doesn't require you to travel elsewhere, you can probably get a more defined career path elsewhere. More nuanced: Anyone who says that we're a "flat" organization hasn't really been here very long -- we're human, like everyone else, and we build networks, we have favorites, we make mistakes. There's implicit hierarchy. Some of my friends and...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      I think we should stay the course. We've done something very difficult, which is to ride the line between making money and trying to be decent human beings. I think we succeed in that more often than we fail. I think our impact in the world is significant, both in the technology space and beyond. I also think we need to strive to continue to be competitive. The world is changing, the nature of work is changing, we...

      Show More
      ThoughtWorks2015-04-28
    • "Software Developer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Principal Consultant in Toronto, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Working at ThoughtWorks has been an absolutely amazing experience. I've worked shoulder to shoulder with the brightest minds in technology today, met and worked with my heroes, and travelled the world (India, Africa, US, Canada), all while solving amazingly interesting, super tough challenges with exciting technologies.

      Cons

      Travel is often amazing, but sometimes a drawback. If you're willing to travel for ThoughtWorks however, it opens up your career to the global market, which really increases the quality of the work you have access to.

      ThoughtWorks2015-04-28
    • Helpful (3)

      "Grad Software Developer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend

        I have been working at ThoughtWorks

        Pros

        Interesting work and a cool company

        Cons

        Bad experience with interview process

        ThoughtWorks2015-03-09
      • Helpful (10)

        "Interesting place but has a lot of issues"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Senior Software Consultant 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at ThoughtWorks

        Pros

        I worked with some great and even a few exceptional people, learned a lot, had some fun times, some nice benefits, great way to see/hear about different areas of the software business.

        Cons

        It can be vaguely cultish, you are pretty much expected to LOVE Thoughtworks and be 100% on board with their way of doing things. Especially when it comes to Agile ideas, lots of dogma here. They are constantly pushing how great it is to work at TW, this really bugged me after a few months. Lots of corporate politics, they claim they are above them but in some ways they are as bad or worse than their corporate clients....

        Show More
        ThoughtWorks2015-03-23
      • "A great first software development job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Software Developer 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        There are plenty of talented and passionate people here to learn from. They have offices all around the world and can be good about letting you transfer. If you show initiative they like helping you move into positions with more responsibility. The company structure is relatively flat so you don't have to deal with people whose sole purpose is to climb the ladder.

        Cons

        TW is good but not all of the clients are, so you could end up on an awful project. People there say that there's a very openminded, transparent culture and it's not completely untrue but it seemed to me that you'd better share everyone's general opinion or keep quiet. The pay relative to how much you get billed out to clients for can be bad.

        ThoughtWorks2014-06-05
      • Helpful (1)

        "A company which truly values humans more than profit."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Consultant 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at ThoughtWorks full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Great benefits, competitive salaries, encouragement and support to travel to other countries if you want to. Some of the best technical people in the industry. A CEO and President who really care about you. Actively trying to target 'aligned' clients e.g. Charities, NGOs etc.

        Cons

        Not a lot spent on training, though you are encouraged and supported to grow, in your own time. Travel and hours (especially in North America) can be long, may not suit people with families.

        Advice to Management

        Some more transparency on expenses, there is a feeling that some people take the p*ss while others martyr themselves.

        ThoughtWorks2013-02-22
      Found 1093 reviews