Thermo Fisher Scientific Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Thermo Fisher Scientific Reviews

Updated Sep 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2911 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Thermo Fisher Scientific CEO Marc N. Casper
Marc N. Casper
1,201 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work - life balance can be improved(in 179 reviews)

  • "Blatant racist mentality for some people working here which makes you wonder if upper management is also or chooses to ignore it(in 86 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Opens a lot of career opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thermo Fisher Scientific full-time

    Pros

    Opens a lot of career opportunities Fast Paced

    Cons

    Communication from management can be lacking.

    Thermo Fisher Scientific2019-06-17
  2. "Overall good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thermo Fisher Scientific full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benifits and coaching opportunities

    Cons

    Little room for advancement within the xompamy

    Thermo Fisher Scientific2019-09-11
  3. "Please be careful what division you go and work for with this company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Thermo Fisher Scientific full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The salary you I was getting is what kept me there.

    Cons

    Inexperienced management being filled with former Fisher Scientific people who don’t really know the business. Company has become too big and does not value it’s employees. Only the shareholders count.

    Advice to Management

    Value the talented people who work for you. Yo can learn from them.

    Thermo Fisher Scientific2019-09-10
  4. "I'm a corporate slave"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Technician in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Thermo Fisher Scientific full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    they pay me slightly above minimum wage and the benefits are decent

    Cons

    they say safety over speed but they don't mean it. i have a negative work environment, nobody likes their job, or feels treated fairly. I could go on all day

    Thermo Fisher Scientific2019-09-04
  5. "Stay far far away!!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Thermo Fisher Scientific full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I met some great people.

    Cons

    you're under paid, management reserves the right to change your compensation plan at any time, so it's really not worth overachieving, since your comp plan can change mid-year. As an inside sales rep, you start off below $40K base, well below industry standards and below what any other vertical market will pay. You have NO room for advancement and the head of the Canadian division takes the credit for all... achievements made. I've also heard that management over inflates you sales objectives, do yourself a favor and STAY AWAY!!!! Lots and Lots of turnover. The average person stays 16 months as an inside sales rep....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    stop taking all the credit, it's a team effort

    Thermo Fisher Scientific2019-09-12
  6. "Good corporate culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thermo Fisher Scientific full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -strong management team -spend a lot of time training staff -wants employees to understand the business -good corporate culture where harmful interpersonal conflicts/bullying isn't tolerated -every day you learn something about the products and the business -B2B environment so 99.9% of customers are polite even when stressed

    Cons

    -on the customer service side, it's stressful -slow to change policies and adapt procedures -long hours on the phone mean little movement from desk resulting in back backs, sore shoulders, and sore ears (always, always on the phone) -say they hire internally but a lot of excellent people got overlooked for promotions in favour of outsiders -you need to handle continual stress from high workload to stay at... this job for more than 1-2 years. The customers are nice. Management is friendly. It's the workload and workflow that drain/burn out the customer service reps.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -work to reduce the stress on customer service representatives -work to upgrade computer systems -work on changing up daily routines so people aren't 100% on the phone. Good for a mental break. Good to give the ears a break too.

    Thermo Fisher Scientific2019-08-04
  7. "Bonjour"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Regional Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thermo Fisher Scientific full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people and new technology

    Cons

    Large company no regional specificty

    Thermo Fisher Scientific2019-06-15
  8. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Thermo Fisher Scientific full-time

    Pros

    Good pay, great environment and management

    Cons

    Long shifts some times only

    Thermo Fisher Scientific2019-06-13
  9. Helpful (1)

    "It's an okay company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Customer Service Representative in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Thermo Fisher Scientific full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits Quality people Excellent training programs They have an Employee Assistance Program (which is amazing in my opinion) Decent work culture

    Cons

    There is not much opportunity for movement or additional experiences. The job is EXCEPTIONALLY micromanaged (down to the minute). They are flexible, but you must go through hoops to get there. If you are looking for a job with creativity, you won't find it here. This company will recognize your good work, then say "okay, now do more" - this may not jive with everyone.

    Thermo Fisher Scientific2019-06-18
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Glorified cold caller, unnecessary role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Thermo Fisher Scientific full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Uncapped bonus, free coffee, good benefits, good experience

    Cons

    Lack of training, unorganized, large organization that can't collaborate

    Advice to Management

    More hands on training and better communication

    Thermo Fisher Scientific2019-06-06
Found 2911 reviews