Theranos Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Theranos Reviews

Updated Jul 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
47%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
Theranos CEO David Taylor
David Taylor
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "Pay, environment, free food, phones and computers(in 18 reviews)

  • "Great colleagues, free meals, decent benefits(in 11 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Security Officer in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Theranos full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great job Best company ever Definitely recommend

    Cons

    Went out of business

    Theranos2019-07-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Theranos full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have no pros. Working here was awful.

    Cons

    Horrible CEO No transparency. Long hours No work life balance

    Theranos2019-04-21
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Senior reseach associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Theranos full-time

    Pros

    Great teams and flexible hours

    Cons

    Company is running with a lot of unhappy stress leaders.

    Theranos2018-08-23
  4. Helpful (154)

    "False Promises..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Theranos full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It was an ambitious and noble goal; true challenges but good freedom to learn and deliver sub-systems...good coworkers, culture and compensation.

    Cons

    The number one rule was keep your head down and do what you're told - don't talk to anyone else nor try to learn how the product is performing; little did we know this is because they didn't want anybody to know the challenges or failures that the product as a system was experiencing... Marketing and upper management was overly optimistic about the state of the system, but had no sense of the reality of the... product; Town halls touted the greatness of our data, and how the world is out to get us. Little did we know we were just drinking the cool-aid. This is what you get when you load management with yes-men and product management is run by a fraternity. Despite doing some of our best work, many of us are doomed to be associated with this con-job for the rest of our careers...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You not only conned your investors, you conned us too; you had us believing in your mission and trusting your iron fist rule...You've ruined our career prospects and set us back 6 years. I hope you never have an opportunity to work in technology, or any industry that is remotely connected to human lives. You are best suited for making apps with no meaningful consequences to humanity...

    Theranos2018-05-20
  5. Helpful (8)

    "scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Theranos full-time

    Pros

    everything sounds good and lots of promises

    Cons

    reality is far from described

    Advice to Management

    not much comments

    Theranos2018-07-27
  6. Helpful (5)

    "high hopes but poor execution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Theranos full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good scope to learn, flexible timings

    Cons

    Poor Managment, long hours, bad execution, no direction

    Advice to Management

    Try to listen to SME

    Theranos2018-07-18
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Wish They Last Longer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Scientist in Newark, CA
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Theranos full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture and environment. Lots of activities and projects. Smart people.

    Cons

    Lack of transparent communication. Moving too fast on multiple projects. Last-minute changes. Unrealistic time lines.

    Advice to Management

    No longer matters.

    Theranos2018-05-01
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Raw End of the Deal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Specialist in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Theranos full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They were good ppl with bad choices in the beginning but their intentions were pure

    Cons

    Bad choices in the beginning

    Theranos2018-03-20
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Great tech company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Test Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Theranos full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The ability to work on cutting edge tech

    Cons

    Sometimes the management is too distant from employees

    Advice to Management

    Focus, clarity

    Theranos2017-09-25
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Get in, get out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Theranos full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits, smart colleagues, free catered meals and food, great space to work, great mid-management

    Cons

    Impossible to move up in position, upper management is out of touch with employees

    Advice to Management

    Treat all employees with equal respect

    Theranos2017-09-28
Found 127 reviews