The World Bank Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated May 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
85%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
The World Bank President Jim Yong Kim
Jim Yong Kim
517 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Unless you are staff (which only economists or high executives are) you have virtually no benefits(in 65 reviews)

  • "hard to become a full-time employee(in 58 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "working environment"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at The World Bank full-time

    Pros

    work with people of diverse cultures and backgrounds; pretty flexible working schedule; collaborative working environment;

    Cons

    it is a big institution with strict hierarchy; some of the bosses are quite bossy

    The World Bank2015-05-27
  2. "STC"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Short-term Consultant (STC) 
    Recommends

    I have been working at The World Bank

    Pros

    great work environment - smart people- job flexibility -

    Cons

    mostly contract based hiring- means very low job stability no clear succession path

    The World Bank2015-03-11
  3. "Amazing experience, but at one's peril"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The World Bank

    Pros

    Colleagues, challenging work environment, interaction with diverse clients

    Cons

    Lack of leadership & overall risk aversion

    The World Bank2013-05-01
  4. "Senior Accounting Analyst"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Chennai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The World Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good working environment No tax on salary

    Cons

    Slow or no growth at all. As it is an NGO, so no yearly bonus.

    The World Bank2020-05-29
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work but at huge price"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Energy Specialist in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The World Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Prestigious position and work environment, meaningful job, you will literally be changing the world, you will literally influence people lives, opportunities for development, great opportunities after leaving the Bank, excellent pay, excellent benefits, opportunity to travel the world, meet leaders and top officials, live in DC, and flexible work options.

    Cons

    Long lasting career within the Bank is unlikely; Your future is always uncertain as most contracts are term contracts making it impossible to feel settled in town or establish a family; Your livelihood is in the hand of your colleagues whom feedback does not necessarily depend on your professional outputs; short term consultant contracts are technically a form of modern day slavery and require full review ASAP; Team members scattered around the globe and respect for personal time outside work hours is nonexistent (personally I have been told to my face by a task team leader that if I prioritize my family then this job is not for me, this ideology is wide spread across the Bank and perhaps explains why large number of staff either come from broken homes or from poverty/war, though it is worth noting that you're highly encouraged to marry from within the institution); Sexual harassment is widespread (refer to Staff Association recent survey) and this is not surprising when taking into consideration the power some staff are given when it comes to contract renewal and the position of vulnerability you're at once you have tasted the benefits of this job; expect it to be difficult to have a social life outside work given the frequent travels and work hours;

    Continue reading
    The World Bank2020-05-18
  6. "Low pressure work environemnt"

    4.0
    Current Employee - PL/SQL Developer in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The World Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This is a very low pressure work environment. You will have a great work life balance.

    Cons

    Base pay is not that great.

    The World Bank2020-04-08
  7. "Great Organisation"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Programming Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The World Bank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    great work environment and smart people

    Cons

    Not much room to grow

    The World Bank2020-04-15
  8. "Good working environment"

    5.0
    Former Employee - District of Columbia in Washington, DC

    I worked at The World Bank full-time

    Pros

    Professional, multicultural, diverse working environment.

    Cons

    It is all about the political

    The World Bank2020-03-18
  9. "working on Environmental and Social management along B2B road THRCP/WB/MOT based on AF and WB requirement"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Manager in Kabul
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The World Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    it's one of the World Bank A categories project in Afghanistan with the big working environment and a couple of professional staff

    Cons

    weak coordination at the senior level

    The World Bank2020-03-04
  10. "One of my Favorite Places to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Assistant in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The World Bank for less than a year

    Pros

    I've contracted with the World Bank twice now and loved both times. The work environment is fantastic and the DC campus is a great place to work.

    Cons

    The only downside is I didn't always get as many contract hours as I would hope and overtime is complicated.

    The World Bank2020-02-17
Found 111 reviews