The World Bank Reviews

Updated Jun 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
87%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
The World Bank President Jim Yong Kim
Jim Yong Kim
336 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Unless you are staff (which only economists or high executives are) you have virtually no benefits(in 65 reviews)

  • "hard to become a full-time employee(in 58 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "good place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 

    I have been working at The World Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits at the world bank is good

    Cons

    lots of travel. hard to do work life balance

    The World Bank2019-09-08
  2. "Good experience working with the World Bank Group"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at The World Bank full-time

    Pros

    - exposure to international events and high-level decision makers - global resources useful for career development - a variety of talented people that you can learn from

    Cons

    - too big to feel ownership - difficult to develop a specialized skill - hard to transit into the private sector

    The World Bank2020-04-19
  3. "It was a great experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly 

    I worked at The World Bank full-time

    Pros

    competitive salary, diversified environment, learning

    Cons

    no benefits, and stressful work envoronment

    Continue reading
    The World Bank2019-12-18
  4. "Great place but limited growth opportunities"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Specialist 

    I have been working at The World Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - excellent colleagues, technically interesting work, decent pay

    Cons

    - travel - lots, uneven management quality, politics get in the way of decisions, limited opportunities for upwards mobility

    The World Bank2019-11-06
  5. "Ressource Management Analyst"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The World Bank full-time

    Pros

    One of the best multi-cultural environment workplace

    Cons

    A lot of stress and promotion is must based on network instead or job performance.

    The World Bank2019-02-15
  6. "A wonderful and privileged experience to work with world class professionals"

    5.0
     

    I worked at The World Bank

    Pros

    A place to get better by working with highly skilled professionals. All required support provided and very flexible

    Cons

    No any for me at the moment

    Continue reading
    The World Bank2018-07-31
  7. "Good place for a young intern to make connections and grow"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The World Bank

    Pros

    Excellent internal support for unpaid interns to grow and learn. supportive and down-to-earth staff.

    Cons

    Sometimes was too slow-paced for my liking.

    The World Bank2017-06-12
  8. "Good and bad"

    4.0
    • Career Opportunities
     

    I worked at The World Bank

    Pros

    My experience was positive mostly because my managers were responsive and encouraging.

    Cons

    Road blocks to trying new things, though being a huge organization with bureaucracy, I can see why this was the case.

    The World Bank2017-01-30
  9. "working environment"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at The World Bank full-time

    Pros

    work with people of diverse cultures and backgrounds; pretty flexible working schedule; collaborative working environment;

    Cons

    it is a big institution with strict hierarchy; some of the bosses are quite bossy

    The World Bank2015-05-27
  10. "STC"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Short-term Consultant (STC) 
    Recommends

    I have been working at The World Bank

    Pros

    great work environment - smart people- job flexibility -

    Cons

    mostly contract based hiring- means very low job stability no clear succession path

    The World Bank2015-03-11
Found 962 reviews