The WORKS Gourmet Burger Bistro Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

The WORKS Gourmet Burger Bistro Reviews

Updated Jul 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
The WORKS Gourmet Burger Bistro CEO Bruce Miller
Bruce Miller
4 Ratings
  1. "great line cook experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at The WORKS Gourmet Burger Bistro full-time

    Pros

    Great familial relationship between employees and management. I transitioned from fast food to the WORKS and it was a fantastic introduction to more of a restaurant environment.

    Cons

    no real cons come to mind

    The WORKS Gourmet Burger Bistro2019-04-02
  2. "Great staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Cook in Kingston, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The WORKS Gourmet Burger Bistro full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great co workers, management was solid and you get staff meals if you work enough hours.

    Cons

    Management was excessive at controlling waste, keeping hairnets in the office etc. Specific managers were unprofessional in regards to dealing with issues.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to be more discreet and professional when dealing with issues regarding employees

    The WORKS Gourmet Burger Bistro2019-07-02
  3. "Fast paced, fun, restaurant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Oakville, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The WORKS Gourmet Burger Bistro full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great staff, great hours, staff discount is also great. Management is encouraging and helpful.

    Cons

    Get used to working weekends and some evenings (but not too late)

    The WORKS Gourmet Burger Bistro2019-06-17
  4. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at The WORKS Gourmet Burger Bistro full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun, friendly people, good tips

    Cons

    Minimal management, depending on location

    The WORKS Gourmet Burger Bistro2019-06-06
  5. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Waiter 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The WORKS Gourmet Burger Bistro full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - flexible with shifts and shift changes, decent money as it is relatively busy, great menu

    Cons

    - not having "real" managers and only having servers who act as a manager resulted in many stressful nights for no reason, don't be cheap... hire a manager

    The WORKS Gourmet Burger Bistro2019-05-29
  6. "Is the stress worth it?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The WORKS Gourmet Burger Bistro full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -The food here is great, no doubt about it. -Depending on location, there are always shifts to be picked up if you want to. -It is easy to be promoted from within.

    Cons

    -High manager turnover (at my location at least - St. Lawrence Market) and they are rarely competent. -The menu can be difficult to memorize, and you will be tested on it if you're a server. -Tourist attraction, but complicated menu and sometimes long wait times lead to disgruntled customers. -Not the best tips I've gotten compared to other similar restaurants. -Oftentimes either way too busy, or completely... dead.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Ensure you are finding good GM's, or delegate more responsibility to the M.O.D. servers.

    The WORKS Gourmet Burger Bistro2019-03-19
  7. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Bartender 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The WORKS Gourmet Burger Bistro part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was a fun environment with friendly staff.

    Cons

    I would say that the environment is very fast paced sometimes, especially when its understaffed.

    The WORKS Gourmet Burger Bistro2018-04-09
  8. "Overall good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Cook in Oakville, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The WORKS Gourmet Burger Bistro full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun, knowledgeable managing staff. Fast-paced job and a rewarding tip-out make most restaurant stress worth it.

    Cons

    Difficult to get a pay raise, hours can change sporadically. Near the end of my tenure, the new managing staff was worse than the ones when I started there.

    Advice to Management

    Better training

    The WORKS Gourmet Burger Bistro2018-02-24
  9. "Worst Boss Ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at The WORKS Gourmet Burger Bistro full-time

    Pros

    Complete run of the restaurant, regardless of what position you were, since he was never in the building.

    Cons

    Paid all staff very little while taking a ridiculously high salary for himself; deducted a lot of money from all staff illegally; skimmed from tip pool; took groceries home from the restaurant constantly without accounting for them, then blamed the kitchen and management for shortages; drank and ate excessively on the rare occasions he was in the building; used the business as a personal ATM; hit on female staff... members until they quit; had no idea how to run his own business

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Good job on selling the business

    The WORKS Gourmet Burger Bistro2018-02-16
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The WORKS Gourmet Burger Bistro part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy, fun environment, good tunes

    Cons

    terribly managed, unfair to all employees specifically women, unsanitary

    The WORKS Gourmet Burger Bistro2017-08-18
Found 23 reviews