The Siegfried Group Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

The Siegfried Group Reviews

Updated Jun 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 154 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
The Siegfried Group CEO Rob Siegfried Jr.
Rob Siegfried Jr.
112 Ratings
Pros
  • "Better work-life balance compared to time in Big 4 audit(in 8 reviews)

  • "Great people to work with and the owner really cares to make a difference(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are instances where a Siegfried senior manager or director reports to a big 4 seniors in advisory(in 8 reviews)

  • "Work/Life balance could be better(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Terrible Company to Work For, Zero Trust in Siegfried Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Siegfried Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked with a lot of good colleagues who were skilled

    Cons

    The people who send us out to work at clients are a bunch of buffoons! Some are not even accountants and you will receive arbitrary ratings based solely on someone at the company. A vast majority of the people I worked with at Siegfried think that the local leadership, such as Directors and Regional Directors are total scumbags that you should not put any faith in. The work may be good but the "leadership" who oversee...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fire and replace

    The Siegfried Group2018-12-26
  2. Helpful (23)

    "Full of lies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Siegfried Group

    Pros

    You get to meet accounting professionals around the same age group. Pay is good if your willing to sacrifice your career development.

    Cons

    You will get forced on projects that will not build your professional skill-set. The leadership group is the most unprofessional group of people I have met in my career. Leadership is extremely incompetent where director roles are given to individuals who are incredibly under-qualified

    Advice to Management

    There is a reason why this company is hiring at such a fast rate. Not due to growth, but due to large employee turnover. You will only retain bad employees if your main incentive is just pay.

    The Siegfried Group2016-05-28
  3. Helpful (1)

    "WOW! What a great place! Variety of projects that will help me grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Siegfried Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Variety of Exciting projects Grown My Salary and Compensation tremendously Work Life Balance much better than Big 4 audit Great Culture Opportunities to grow (different growth programs) Allowed to see what I enjoy doing with the excellent variety of projects, as I wasn't sure what I wanted to do, but I knew I wanted to get out of audit...

    Cons

    I guess that I didn't specialize in any one particular area (which I think is good, but some might think it's a negative) so this prepared me for things I want to do in the future, and it allows me to actually be qualified to that

    Advice to Management

    Continue with the excellent growth opportunities for Resources, I think these rotational type programs area great!

    The Siegfried Group2019-05-10
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Do not ever work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Siegfried Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Compensation is what brings people in the door. The only plus is that you will make a ton of money if given the right client. Bonus pool for billable hours, tenure on client, and even a bonus for attending *mandatory* Saturday "Rob Siegfried Summits" branded as leadership development events and filling out corresponding busy work. Recruiting bonuses are huge but you are selling off your friends for money.

    Cons

    Client work is not challenging, basically busy work. Most clients do not care about Siegfried's staff - they are there because the client needs to fill a gap. No strategic projects and mostly staff and senior-level busywork. Basic GL accounting/monthly close is 90% of their "resource" placements. They also outsource audit staff to Big 4. You do not gain any valuable work experience if you are a B4 manager level or above....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Eliminate useless leadership positions, listen to your employees concerns and get rid of the overall "fake" personalities.

    The Siegfried Group2019-06-03
  5. Helpful (1)

    "This job/company is a great fit for some people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Siegfried Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Great culture -Great base pay -Incentives are high (I've made more in bonuses in 8 months than 3 combined years in public accounting) -Clients are mostly fortune 1000 companies -Work out/well being stipend -Networking stipend -Tons of opportunity for growth within the resource ranks and the company internally -Opportunity to travel if you want to

    Cons

    -Most of the cons are matched with an incentive (hours could be 50+ but you are compensated for higher weekly billable hours worked)

    Advice to Management

    Continue to be upfront and transparent with professional resources working in the field. This job has been everything that I was told in my interview process. The accounting work, incentives, and everything else has been spot on from what the Market Leaders told me in my interview process.

    The Siegfried Group2019-04-11
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great Experience & Rewards"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Siegfried Group for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive salary Good experience to offer in wide range of companies Great social aspect Really nice people

    Cons

    Long hours- 45 hours per week

    Advice to Management

    Reduce weekly hours to 40

    The Siegfried Group2019-02-05
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at The Siegfried Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with and the owner really cares to make a difference.

    Cons

    Company’s reputation is misguided and many do not understand what we do and who we are.

    Advice to Management

    Build the brand recognition

    The Siegfried Group2019-02-01
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Siegfried Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Environment Decent Salary and Colleagues

    Cons

    Sometimes it will be under high pressure

    The Siegfried Group2019-01-30
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great company that set me up for the future!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Siegfried Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    variety of projects pretty good work-life balance (especially compared to public accounting audit) Salary was great! company does some great things and offers different ways to grow with the company

    Cons

    currently they do not have any International offices

    Advice to Management

    perhaps could do even more events to get the entire office out socially as when they had events they were amazing

    The Siegfried Group2019-01-25
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Does Not Live Up to the Hype"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Associate in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Siegfried Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Onboarding process is good, and the company is setup for success...

    Cons

    I decided to leave as there are countless stories from within the professional body around nightmare horror stories of poor clients and professionals being left out in the cold with no support. Its not an environment that supports the resources and I myself witnessed a lot of lying from the head of my market as to next clients I'd work on.

    Advice to Management

    Live up to the ideals mentioned in orientation

    The Siegfried Group2019-02-20
Found 154 reviews