The Shoe Company Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

The Shoe Company Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
26%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
The Shoe Company CEO Simon Nankervis (no image)
Simon Nankervis
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "Surrounded by nice people and products, good discount(in 12 reviews)

  • "Management is great, super flexible hours, discount on shoes(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Head office is comprised of mostly all ex employees of The Bay(in 13 reviews)

  • "Employees are usually high school students working part-time(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing company to be apart of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Shoe Company full-time

    Pros

    Great work life balance Being paid what your worth Discount on shoes

    Cons

    None that you wouldn't see in any other retail business.

    Advice to Management

    As I've seen the team grow and evolve over the last few years, I am beyond excited to see what the next few years will have in store! Keep doing what your doing.

    The Shoe Company2019-09-27
  2. "Easy job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at The Shoe Company full-time

    Pros

    Great team and atmosphere

    Cons

    Manager at the time had favorites

    The Shoe Company2019-10-17
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Work perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Shoe Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Discount and head office is in Toronto

    Cons

    Long long lost of cons

    The Shoe Company2019-10-05
  4. Helpful (1)

    "It was a good place to work if you wanted short hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at The Shoe Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    30% off shoes when working there

    Cons

    They had bad hours if you wanted longer shifts

    The Shoe Company2019-09-08
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Shoe Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great hours (not a mall store) Great people Ok discount

    Cons

    Wow where to start. I have never been under so much stress and anxiety as I have been in the past year. The must unorganized place. Everyday you have tasks that are very unrealistic. I would love to see someone that decided our snake hours to come in a store and do it for the crazy amount you gave us!! This Is humanly impossible!!! Way to many changes without thinking about there outcome. Can’t get shipment right.... Can’t keep a DM. I am on my 7th one since last year!! Can’t get product to come in at the right time. Lots of wasted time moving around product daily it’s heavy and no one seems to care. Why do we need to move product so many times because home office can’t get it right! Every single Manager I talk to is looking elsewhere for a job. It’s a very unorganized place to work. Get it right people! We are just selling shoes!!! I really understand now why we have such a high turnover. People are smart and run!! I know many places have there issues and no place will be perfect but this is over the top crazy!!!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Go back to basics! It’s so sad how many great people we have lost. You should really look at how many openings this company has and why it’s so hard to keep store managers.

    The Shoe Company2019-09-14
  6. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Shoe Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team and company. They care about their employees

    Cons

    Nothing, I guess. Maybe if you need more hours, could be a problem.

    The Shoe Company2019-08-28
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Too many employees, very few hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 

    I worked at The Shoe Company part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Positive environment, good discounts, the boss cared about our lives outside of work (in a good way) and could celebrate our accomplishments. Theme days were done well, and allowed each employee to express themselves.

    Cons

    Poor hours (worked there for over two years, was only getting three, 4 hour shifts a week). The company requires you to give a minimum of 3 days availability (1 on weekend). When I left due to poor management of staff hours, my boss told me I should have a more open availability. If I gave 6 days of availability, I'd still be given 2-3 four hour shifts a week. I'd rather choose my three days that I'll work instread... of giving my boss open availability for them to only schedule me for two shifts and one on call. The company says they give short shifts to "not burnout staff", but shifts were rarely over 4.75 hours to avoid giving breaks.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you're only going to give employees 8-10 hours a week, give each employee longer shifts. Its not worth my time and gas money to drive 30 mins each way to work (in traffic) to work a 3 hour shift. I would have stayed with the company longer if I knew I'd get longer and more consistent shifts. Seeing as I worked there for over 2 years and was reliable, I expected more hours. Reward good staff with the hours instead... of trying to give all employees the same amount of hours.

    Show More
    The Shoe Company2019-07-28
  8. Helpful (2)

    "A company that has truly lost their way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Store Manager in Abbotsford, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Shoe Company for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discount Some good people That’s about it

    Cons

    Only focused on profit, couldn’t care less about their people. When technology breaks you can count on it not being fixed for months. The main theme is doing more with less. More work, more customers converted, more cleaning with less and less and less hours every month. It’s insane. There are so many better options. Stay away.

    Advice to Management

    Remember that people drive your organization forward. Stop changing the name of customer service and thinking your snazzy new (direct from Walmart) model is unique and will allow your teams to do more with way less people. Get a clue.

    The Shoe Company2019-09-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Unless you are super desperate for money, do not work here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Key Holder in Peterborough, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Shoe Company part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some of the managers at the Kingston/ON store were nice and the other sales associates were great but that's it...

    Cons

    I worked for the company for over three years as a key holder/ sales associate and I did not get a raise, I was supposed to receive a higher pay once I got the key but my manager told me that was not possible. The company removed a lot of employee bonuses and specials, which made everyone feel unappreciated. I worked at the Peterborough, ON store for a bit and the management team there is very messy, unorganized,... and the environment there is very "mean girl"/ high school (even though they are grown adults). I would not recommend working for this company, especially the Peterborough, ON store.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The in store management needs to grow up, stop gossiping about their staff, stop being lazy, and do their jobs while also bringing in a positive environment to the work place. The higher up management need to stop expecting impossible sales from their stores.

    The Shoe Company2019-08-30
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Shoe Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great Manager Assistant - Great People

    Cons

    -Terrible hours -Insensitive Managers -Unorganized - and more

    Advice to Management

    “Those who can’t do, teach”. We have excellent assistant managers that are more honourable and determine to do their jobs better than your hired store managers. Belittling people just because of their lack of education(i.e attending post secondary) is distasteful. As well as allowing people from head office to nar write the expectations without working a day in the field is just a complete waste of time. And don’t... get me started with the district managers, who come and criticized everything. BUT when we read our GIVEN manuals and check back with other stores for references. We end up doing everything completely right. The point is, when you look for someone experienced to work head office. Ask if the have experience working in sales as the little guy(or gal). When district managers are sent out, ensure they’re fully equipped with facts and non bias AND no undermining a managers authority in front of their employees. And put the shoes in the back. That would lower thief, also shoes and boxes get ruined in the hands of revolting customers. It’s just an unorganized company, masked as an organization. Disclaimer: Any spelling errors or mistakes, please take inconsideration that I cannot walk and type at the same time.

    Show More
    The Shoe Company2019-07-10
Found 126 reviews