The Mason & Hanger Group Reviews

Updated Aug 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 of over 10 reviews

3.9
74%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
The Mason & Hanger Group President Ted Daniels (no image)
Ted Daniels
3 Ratings

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

  1. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Corporate

    Aug 14, 2021 - Archtechtural Designer in Lexington, KY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company is very flexible and treats you like a person. Company is invested in your advancement.

    Cons

    Bureaucratic games, unequal pay across employees of similar experience, little transparency with business matters. No bonuses or incentives for hard work other than “betterment bucks” which are difficult to get.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Wonderful place to work!

    Jul 16, 2021 - Design Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great staff, resources, & environment

    Cons

    Time off is a bit outdated

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee

    decent place to work

    Jun 11, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    benefit and very competitive pay

    Cons

    only a few individuals which is not the overall firm's fault

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good place to learn

    Oct 6, 2020 - Graduate Electrical Engineer in Lexington-Fayette, KY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can work a Flexible schedule

    Cons

    Working for the government comes with a lot of rules and regulations

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good

    Jul 14, 2020 - Electrical Engineer in Lexington-Fayette, KY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good place to work and grow

    Cons

    Travel, alot of people are entrenched in their ways

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Sr. Financial Analyst

    Sep 21, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Glen Allen, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Convenient building is right off highway. Newer business park close to walking trails. Benefits.

    Cons

    Work in a silo. High volume workload.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Sr Financial Analyst

    Feb 1, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Easy access to office from highway

    Cons

    not very inclusive. Many folks work in a silo

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Designer

    May 16, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Encourages personal improvement, half day Fridays with deviated schedules

    Cons

    After a merger of companies, MH just doesn't have it together yet.

    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Dull Engineering Experience With Corrupt Leadership

    Nov 25, 2014 - Electrical Engineer EIT in Lexington-Fayette, KY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Pay is good for the area -The company policy of flexible work time is nice -Relatively frequent travel is required, so if you like travel, you will have the opportunity to do it here -Overtime is paid for

    Cons

    I was in the EE department as a engineer-in-training. I will preface this by saying, A/E is not the career for me. I found the work repetitive, boring, and unsatisfactory. That said I will base this review on the experience of working there, not the actual work there. I will also note that I left of my own volition to pursue better opportunities. My manager was small-minded, racist, and bigoted. As a white male, in a group full of only white males, I felt it hard to go to the HR manager about this, but on road trips, in weekly meetings, and in general interaction, there was a habit of commentary on his part that was offensive and unacceptable in a modern work place. From a work perspective, the company operates on a pseudo-contract basis. Employees charge time to specific projects (all military) and each employee had a minimum of 2-3 projects, and sometimes many more. However, as a new employee, I often had no work. It was my manager's goal to have me work with a specific Professional Engineer (PE), but I discovered later that this PE hoarded his work in an effort to make himself appear more indispensable. This in turn made it appear that I was a slacker, and forced me to charge 'unassigned' time on my timesheet. When I went to the department manager repeatedly for work, I was turned away. However, said manager often insisted I not charge unassigned, trying to force me to charge to government projects even though no work was being done. Creativity in billing was encouraged throughout my time at the company. One "pro" of the company was the flexible work policy, but the policy itself required manager approval in advance, and regular hours had to be posted. It was not a "work your 40 hours and go home" policy. On multiple occasions I was accosted for showing up late by 15 minutes (7:45 am instead of 7:30 am). There was an expectation, though, that employees would take on overtime work, but if you were 15 minutes late, you were admonished. Other cons: -No sick leave, inflexible vacation limits -No training opportunities whatsoever

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great company!

    Aug 5, 2012 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Mid-sized family company with family values orientation and an all round friendly work place.

    Cons

    Specialized company. Needs to divest into other construction sectors. Especially important for survival in an increasingly shinking construction market.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 10 English Reviews

Popular Careers with The Mason & Hanger Group Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at The Mason & Hanger Group? Share Your Experiences

The Mason & Hanger Group logo
or