The Home Depot "full time" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

The Home Depot Employee Reviews about "full time"

Updated Feb 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
68%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
The Home Depot President & CEO Craig Menear
Craig Menear
6,826 Ratings
Pros
  • "Benefits almost immediately, even for part time(in 884 reviews)

  • "The company really cares about the employees and you can review great benefits(in 846 reviews)

Cons
  • "dont like to give full-time positions(in 989 reviews)

  • "No health insurance for part time employees(in 913 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "full time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Best company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    positive work environment, colleagues are very helping

    Cons

    not easy to get full time

    The Home Depot2019-08-29
  2. "Stalkerware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Department Manager in Oshawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits if you can get full-time. At least a year on average.

    Cons

    I have caught this company using "stalkerware" on my cell phone and home computer. They will track your movements and sites you visit on your personal time and use it to harrass you.

    Continue reading
    The Home Depot2020-01-02
  3. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flex hours Part time benefits Tuition reimbursement

    Cons

    No full time opportunities available

    The Home Depot2019-10-27
  4. "Hardware sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hardware Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company culture, great benefits and helpful coworkers.

    Cons

    unless hired as full-time, picking up extra hours might be tough.

    The Home Depot2019-08-05
  5. "Fun atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers and customers

    Cons

    Low wages no full time

    The Home Depot2019-06-03
  6. "Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time

    Pros

    Good place to work. Nice people with work together. Big company so following the company.

    Cons

    You get pressure about sale the credit card. Schedule is very flexible. Not full time

    The Home Depot2019-04-13
  7. "Sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time

    Pros

    Good people !! easy work !!

    Cons

    it is not good for full-time work.

    The Home Depot2019-03-09
  8. "I WOULD THINK TWICE ABOUT WORKING HERE!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Home Depot full-time

    Pros

    I don't have really any pros... except the full time benefits. They keep mentioning these at review time as to make us think we are getting more than enough!

    Cons

    1.Pay is very bad....they were forced to now pay 14.00 hr in Ontario, otherwise it would still be at the 11.00 wage. 2. The Management team try to justify their jobs by having job fairs twice a year to replace the employees they lost! 3. They hire incompetent managers who have no building knowledge at all to run departments....not sure whats up with that? 4. Store Managers think that pizza is all that is needed to keep associates happy and by the way....limiting each of us to two slices.....Really? 5. They treat all associates like children with childish policies...eg: Associates cannot purchase clearance items until customers have a chance at them first. really? They have these rallies that you stand and cheer on Home Depot while clapping!Really? 6. They have the wrong regional managers in place....they advance who they want....not who is qualified! One big click! 7. They will promise you tons of hours when hired part time....then schedule you to 15 to 20 hours a week after the summer busy time is over.....Yes, you will be looking for work again! 8. I have watched very smart and competent workers leave because of no advancement opportunities. This is because the upper management are just protecting their jobs by advancing the less fortunate. I HAVE A TON MORE.....BUT I DON'T CARE ANYMORE! GOOD LUCK TO ALL.....YOU WILL FIND OUT FAST!

    Continue reading
    The Home Depot2019-02-10
  9. "View from a Lumber & Building Materials associate (Dept 21)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lumber & Building Materials Associate (Department 21) in Thunder Bay, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    +benifites for both full-time and Part-time associates +great work environment +positive view of students and their future goals +have tuition assistance programs for post-secondary education +high safety standards, with thorough thraining +family like atmosphere promotes involvement not just in work but volunteer opportunity within the community run by the home depot

    Cons

    -still have in work politics lake everywhere else -due to the amount of customer service provided by the home depot, you run into a lot of people trying to take advantage of the system -schedules are created by a program, and thus you can have very odd work shift ranges -all time off needs to be booked four weeks in advance (which isn't unreasonable but can pose problems in some situations) -while training and safety is a priority, it can take some time to actually get trained on a machine (ranging from a few shifts to a few months depending on availability of a trainer certified employee having the same shift as you)

    Continue reading
    The Home Depot2018-10-30
  10. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Home Depot part-time

    Pros

    Great Knowledge for the construction and latest stuff in the market.

    Cons

    Getting full-time in the company

    Continue reading
    The Home Depot2018-10-27

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 1402 reviews