The Hartford Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

The Hartford Reviews

Updated Jun 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1853 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
The Hartford CEO Christopher Swift
Christopher Swift
661 Ratings
  1. "Exciting & challenging company to grow your carrer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Product Manager in Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The organization foster an environment where one could move vertically or horizontally to continue developing one's career. They also present multiple opportunities to demonstrate your talent throughout your department. Overall I believe the benefits, including compensation are in line with market expectations. I enjoy working with a set of colleagues that I look forward to work with daily.

    Cons

    One of the cons I could think of is the rate at which the organization is constantly evolving. I agree that evolution is great and necessary to move the company forward. But there are changes occurring very frequently that often doesn't allow for a chance of the previous change to settle and create a stable environment.

    The Hartford2019-06-18
  2. "Solid Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Lines in Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The Hartford is a solid company with a great track record of social responsibility

    Cons

    Nothing to share at this time

    The Hartford2019-06-14
  3. "Excited"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Acquisitions in Fort Washington, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Hartford full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great place to work at.

    Cons

    The hours were a little off.

    The Hartford2019-06-14
  4. "Claims"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Care Specialist in Aurora, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Hartford full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great environment, room for advancement, Supportive management, Department festivities, Bonuses, Benefits

    Cons

    No cons, great place to work.

    The Hartford2019-06-10
  5. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reinsurance Analyst in Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time

    Pros

    Work/ life balance, career learning opportunities, great people

    Cons

    None at the moment.

    The Hartford2019-06-08
  6. "Amazing company - Awesome People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The Hartford is filled with thousands of people who all seem to be good, honest, hardworking people who care about their job, their company and their coworkers.

    Cons

    Large company has a lot of processes for everything. Not very nimble.

    The Hartford2019-06-05
  7. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Business Analyst 

      I have been working at The Hartford full-time

      Pros

      Big company but you feel right at home

      Cons

      Low pay compared to other companies

      The Hartford2019-06-04
    • "A lot of growth potential"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Business Analyst in Hartford, CT
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at The Hartford full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Easy to understand progression and promotion potential

      Cons

      Training is not as strong as it could be

      The Hartford2019-06-05
    • "Great company , be mindful of personal brand"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 

        I worked at The Hartford full-time

        Pros

        Great company, new approach to management is refreshing

        Cons

        High stress job , long hours in front of a screen

        The Hartford2019-06-03
      • "Best company I have worked for!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Human Resources Analyst in Hartford, CT
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        The people I have worked for/with at The Hartford are great. They really care about each other and want to see each other succeed. I have tons of flexibility and fell like a valued member of the team.

        Cons

        I think there are some pockets of people that don't feel the same as I do about their jobs/managers. In a company as large as The Hartford, I can see how it would be hard to ensure everyone has the same positive experience that I have.

        The Hartford2019-06-03
      Found 1853 reviews