The Hartford Reviews

Updated May 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
The Hartford CEO Christopher Swift
Christopher Swift
753 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work/Life balance is great: I am so glad I did not have to give up on my career when my kids were born(in 210 reviews)

  • "Work schedules and work from home is very flexible(in 124 reviews)

Cons
  • "The work/life balance can be hard on occasion(in 103 reviews)

  • "The job is mentally draining but that's not uncommon for a call center(in 57 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "LTD AA"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - LTD Ability Analyst in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Hartford full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training for role, multiple sources to learn new things

    Cons

    case load can cause stress

    The Hartford2020-05-26
  2. "Excellent Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Hartford full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Strong commitment to ethics and doing the right thing; collaborative culture

    Cons

    Sometimes limited business risk appetite

    Continue reading
    The Hartford2020-05-23
  3. "Lots of growth"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Consultant in Windsor, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of growth, ability to work remote, ERGs, benefits, PTO, the list goes on!

    Cons

    Commission is called a Sales Incentive so it's an ever-changing structure which can be difficult to comprehend

    The Hartford2020-05-19
  4. Helpful (5)

    "The best company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care Nurse 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, amazing training, pay, remote from home

    Cons

    I haven t found one.

    Continue reading
    The Hartford2020-04-28
  5. "Great work enviorment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Engineer in Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great work-life balance , generous PTO

    Cons

    The technology is a little behind

    The Hartford2020-05-16
  6. "Make connections"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ability Analyst in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, Room to grow

    Cons

    Difficult workload, Difficult to move positions

    The Hartford2020-05-28
  7. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Actuarial Associate in Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, great career development opportunities, leadership cares about developing the next generation of employees

    Cons

    Limited opportunities for upward mobility, since people tend to stick around for a while at senior leadership levels.

    The Hartford2020-05-13
  8. "average job for people who can handle stress"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Windsor, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Hartford full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good base pay and salary

    Cons

    lack of decompressing time during the day

    The Hartford2020-05-28
  9. "Great Place to Work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Small Commercial Sales Representative in Walnut Creek, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay, Benefits, 401K, co-workers, management, remote work, company car

    Cons

    I work long hours trying to fix agencies problems, easier to work when there are no distractions.

    Continue reading
    The Hartford2020-05-06
  10. "."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time

    Pros

    great company , nice people, great enviornment

    Cons

    none so far, just started

    The Hartford2020-05-04
Found 2013 reviews