The Hartford Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

The Hartford Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1832 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
The Hartford CEO Christopher Swift
Christopher Swift
651 Ratings
Pros
  • "Some added benefits of working at The Hartford include the work/life balance(in 190 reviews)

  • "Great work/life balance (flexible work schedule, work from home opportunities, etc(in 117 reviews)

Cons
  • "The work/life balance can be hard on occasion(in 93 reviews)

  • "If you are customer-facing just assume that you are going to be treated like a sweatshop call center employee(in 55 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Teamwork and commitment to doing the right thing for clients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enrollment Manager in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Fun and dedicated colleagues, ethically approach to conducting business, client focused, solid benefit package.

    Cons

    Some silo's exist, but cross functional initiatives are underway to encourage singular collaborative focus on meeting client needs.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    The Hartford2019-05-20
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Accountant in Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Strikes a balance between strong foundation/history and an innovative/flexible mindset.

    Cons

    Nothing beyond small typical Corporate business complaints

    The Hartford2019-05-16
  3. "BEST PLACE I HAVE EVER WORKED!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investigator in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Remote worker, No more LA traffic. Great structure top to bottom. Great people to work with. Great pay and benefits.

    Cons

    I'm still looking for a down side.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up with the times but don't change the secret sauce.

    The Hartford2019-05-17
  4. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Ability Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great culture and great work life balance

    Cons

    No cons about the company

    The Hartford2019-05-14
  5. "Middle Market Exciting Place to Be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Underwriter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    - Major investments being made in both systems and processes to improve and simply the underwriting process - Good communication from the top down on strategic initiatives and path to get there - Strong support from middle management - Authority to make decisions

    Cons

    - Navigating the internal maze when other departments are involved - Challenges with the new systems that delay releasing quotes

    Advice to Management

    Keep the communication channels open, especially as the Navigators deal is set to close. I see a clear path forward with strategic initiatives and employees can feel the momentum.

    The Hartford2019-05-13
  6. "Amazing Company!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Staffing Coordinator in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    I have been employed with The Hartford since May 2015, hands down this is the best organization I have ever worked for. Organization truly cares about their employees and career progression, as well the customers of the organization. Company culture is wonderful which makes for an efficient work environment. Career progression is a definite whether it be through training, mentoring, special project work or Employee Resource...

    Show More

    Cons

    There are no specific Cons that I have to express!.

    Advice to Management

    Continue doing what you do!

    The Hartford2019-05-13
  7. "Working for The Hartford is a "Home Run""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Training Consultant in Windsor, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Phenomenal Company where Leadership genuinely cares about both the work and personal welfare of their employees. Additionally, we pride ourselves on being a very "Inclusive" environment. Everyone has a "voice". Opinions are encouraged. Your opportunities are vast here and you are a welcomed addition to our "team" once you walk through the door. I've been here just shy of 20 years (since January 2000). I think that...

    Show More

    Cons

    No downside comes to mind.

    The Hartford2019-05-14
  8. "Lots of opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Development Manager in Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    There is a role for everyone at The Hartford. Solid in IT. Using modern methods and tech. Always looking for the next best improvement. Empowers employees to make decisions.

    Cons

    Lots to do and difficult to prioritize. Some complex systems make work more difficult than it should be.

    Advice to Management

    Find a Balance between focus on people and a focus on results. Managers here tend to be one or the other.

    The Hartford2019-05-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "A Wonderful Company to Work For!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Director of Communications in Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    I came here not sure what to expect from an insurance company. I've loved every minute of it. The people are wonderful, the culture is progressive and inclusive and the benefits are fantastic. Additionally, there are a range of different opportunities that I feel allow me to develop myself as an individual and an employee. I couldn't be more proud and honored to work for The Hartford.

    Cons

    I have nothing bad to say.

    The Hartford2019-05-08
  10. "The Hartford"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Subrogation Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Hartford full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    The company is Ethical and Innovative

    Cons

    No Cons at this time

    The Hartford2019-05-09
Found 1832 reviews