The Globe & Mail Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

The Globe & Mail Reviews

Updated Mar 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
45%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
The Globe & Mail Editor-in-chief John Stackhouse (no image)
John Stackhouse
18 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Communication of these priorities is occasionally lacking as senior management chart the rough waters(in 3 reviews)

  • "No room for career growth; general decline in newspaper industry raises concerns over the future of the Company(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "One of 'the' Best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Globe & Mail full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    i have worked under multiple company. And i will rate this among the best company to learn and grow

    Cons

    Will have to think about it

    Continue reading
    The Globe & Mail2020-02-06
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Most Unprofessional and Unstructured Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The Globe & Mail full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great benefits, work from home opportunities, flex days, birthday off

    Cons

    senior management is lacking critical leadership experience. there is no structure at this place and if there are any incidents every senior leadership person just runs around like a chicken with their heads cut off figuring out who to blame for issues. senior management team are reluctant to any changes and it feels like you are in 80's old newspaper business meanwhile the organization gives the image of tech savy business. Entire company is falling down and I would not recommend any one to pursue any job opportunities at this place.

    Continue reading
    The Globe & Mail2020-03-11
  3. "Good pay, decent company but industry is dying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Computer Security Researcher in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Globe & Mail full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Salary is at market level, co-workers were smart and self-motivated.

    Cons

    Newspaper industry as a whole is dying so that affects every facet of the company. Morale is low due to cutbacks, layoffs, buyouts.

    Continue reading
    The Globe & Mail2020-01-28
  4. "It's ok.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Globe & Mail full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team, nice office, nice neighborhood

    Cons

    monotonous unfulfilling work, constant changes, minimal stability

    The Globe & Mail2019-09-25
  5. "The globe and mail review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Administrator 

    I have been working at The Globe & Mail full-time

    Pros

    Good location , working environment and view.

    Cons

    Keep downsize , salary increases slow.

    The Globe & Mail2019-08-31
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Canada's national newspaper"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Graphic Artist in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at The Globe & Mail full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Canada's national newspaper - top job in the industry

    Cons

    I am about to be laid off

    The Globe & Mail2019-08-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "A Regular Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at The Globe & Mail full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A pretty decent place to work. Nothing really bad but nothing really exciting either.

    Cons

    Lack of opportunities to grow into management roles. Works like a small company constantly downsizing to meet revenue goals.

    Continue reading
    The Globe & Mail2019-06-26
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at The Globe & Mail full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You have a lot of free range to make your job what you want it to be. No helicopter management.

    Cons

    Many projects always on the go it is hard to look back and reflect. It is a constant go-go-go.

    The Globe & Mail2019-06-05
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Accounting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Globe & Mail full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great finance team, strong leadership, good impressions of CEO and Owners

    Cons

    Company is in the process of recovering from tough industry pressures, went through a few rounds of layoffs.

    The Globe & Mail2019-04-25
  10. "The Globe and Mail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior News Editor in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Globe & Mail full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The Globe is a high-performance, world-leading news organization that brings out the best in its employees. We change things. We make things better. It's exhilarating, challenging and always rewarding.

    Cons

    The media industry is in flux. Priorities change quickly as the work force diminishes, so it is a challenge to understand and execute plans as they shift. Communication of these priorities is occasionally lacking as senior management chart the rough waters.

    Continue reading
    The Globe & Mail2019-03-29
Found 52 reviews