The David J. Joseph Company Reviews

Updated Sep 21, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 67 of over 76 reviews

4.4
89%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
The David J. Joseph Company President Mark Schaefer (no image)
Mark Schaefer
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great culture, enjoy working for DJJ(in 11 reviews)

  • "very good pay for some positions(in 5 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Not really a con of DJJ but of the industry as it is hard to attract young talented individuals as scrap isn't perceived as a "cool" or "sexy"(in 7 reviews)

  • "Upper Management treats employees without much respect(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee
      Featured Review

      Great company

      Mar 8, 2021 - Anonymous 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great teamwork amongst teammates that speaks to the culture.

      Cons

      None that I can think of.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      The David J. Joseph Company Response

      Recruiting Manager

      Thanks for your review and welcome to the team! We are happy to hear you are having a positive experience and enjoying the culture!

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Operations

      Sep 21, 2021 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great management style for everyone

      Cons

      There are none at this time

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      The David J. Joseph Company Response

      Recruiting Manager

      Thanks for your review. So glad to hear your experience is great so far. We pride ourselves on our culture and teammates feeling appreciated!

    3. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Djj

      Sep 9, 2021 - Administrative Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It was really good honestly

      Cons

      There is no cons at all

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      The David J. Joseph Company Response

      Recruiting Manager

      Thank you for your review! Great to hear you are having a positive employment experience.

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Incredible Place to Work

      Sep 1, 2021 - Commercial Buyer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1.) In general a great atmosphere. I love coming to work everyday. My manager is amazing and so are my co workers. In general its a very good work environment. 2.) The work life balance is great. Company understands that you come to work to pay the bills and not everything is about work. They allow you to take time as needed and you have a lot of freedom to do things outside of the office. 3.) Pay and benefits. The compensation is very competitive and the benefits are amazing. The company has a policy to pay for talent and they follow through. 4.) Exposure to executive team. You will personally meet upper level management many times and will be on a first name basis with all of them. They are very friendly and it eases the pressure of meeting high level people. 5.) Opportunity for advancement. There are a lot of opportunities to move up in the company. The company highly prefers hiring from within for management openings.

      Cons

      Moving up may require moving locations. This can be a pro and a con but in general you have to move cities or even states to move up in the company.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      The David J. Joseph Company Response

      Recruiting Manager

      We loved reading your review and hearing about the great experience you are having! Sounds like you have a very strong grasp of the positive environment we try to provide. Thank you for taking the time to write this!

    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Its ok

      Aug 25, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits and coworkers were awesome

      Cons

      Everything else about the comp. Leadership sucks !

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      The David J. Joseph Company Response

      Recruiting Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to write this review although it is disappointing to hear your view on our management team. If you are currently employed with us, I would encourage you to voice specific scenarios/concerns to the executive group.

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Culture

      Aug 14, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture and autonomy are definitely pros. The pay is fair. Definitely pays to have tenure.

      Cons

      Hard to break into good old boy network when transitioning mid-career.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good solid company

      Jul 19, 2021 - Account Coordinator in Charleston, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great health benefits and stock buying options.

      Cons

      No real opportunity for advancement at this level. Pay is okay, but raises are small.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      The David J. Joseph Company Response

      Recruiting Manager

      Thanks for your feedback. Happy to hear you valued the benefits as we feel great about the robust package we offer teammates. Charleston is one of our smaller locations so the advancement opportunities are different here but there still is opportunity to grow in responsibility and with our parent or sister company locations. We wish you the best!

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Leader in the Industry

      Jun 21, 2021 - Brokerage Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      As a brokerage representative, you have the freedom to create your own schedule, encouragement from management to pursue new ideas and possess an entrepreneurial mindset, and a feeling of purpose as you with with a team to achieve a higher goal.

      Cons

      Prevalence of relocation and cyclicality of business

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      The David J. Joseph Company Response

      Recruiting Manager

      Thanks for your response. Excited that you feel the sense of purpose to achieve new goals that we encourage all our teammates to aspire to. There is a cyclicality to this business and we have been riding those waves successfully since 1885 and look forward to many years to come!

    9. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Ok

      Jun 9, 2021 - Customer Service Specialist in Henrico, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Safety bonus great store manager

      Cons

      Horrible CSLS and lots of favoritism no value for actual work being done

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company

      May 22, 2021 - Customer Service Representative (CSR) in Charleston, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Management is very knowledgeable and wants to build team to support each other

      Cons

      I have none so far

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 67 Reviews

    Work at The David J. Joseph Company? Share Your Experiences

    The David J. Joseph Company logo
    or