The David J. Joseph Company Brokerage Representative Reviews

Updated Jun 21, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 of over 76 reviews

4.9
97%
Recommend to a Friend
The David J. Joseph Company President Mark Schaefer (no image)
Mark Schaefer
0 Rating

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Leader in the Industry

    Jun 21, 2021 - Brokerage Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    As a brokerage representative, you have the freedom to create your own schedule, encouragement from management to pursue new ideas and possess an entrepreneurial mindset, and a feeling of purpose as you with with a team to achieve a higher goal.

    Cons

    Prevalence of relocation and cyclicality of business

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    The David J. Joseph Company Response

    Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for your response. Excited that you feel the sense of purpose to achieve new goals that we encourage all our teammates to aspire to. There is a cyclicality to this business and we have been riding those waves successfully since 1885 and look forward to many years to come!

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Ferrous Brokerage Representative

    Feb 15, 2021 - Brokerage Representative in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A great company with every day bringing something new to the table. It fosters a teamwork dynamic that challenges you to problem solve and communicate with your teammates across the U.S.

    Cons

    I can't think of any right now.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    The David J. Joseph Company Response

    Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for the feedback. We love hearing from our newer teammates. So glad to hear you are having a positive experience and we look forward to many more years to come!

  3. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Great place to work

    Sep 21, 2020 - Brokerage Representative in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay, good benefits, autonomous work environment

    Cons

    Spend large amount of time traveling within territory

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    The David J. Joseph Company Response

    Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for the feedback, We hope to continue doing what we have been doing :) We hope you do the same!

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    DJJ Trader Review

    Apr 3, 2020 - Brokerage Representative in Charleston, SC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You’re given a lot of freedom to make your own decisions and take chances to make more money for the company.

    Cons

    Cyclical business. Sometimes it’s very slow and other times very busy.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    The David J. Joseph Company Response

    Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for taking the time give your feedback. We really do invest a lot in new teammates and give them freedom and autonomy to make decisions and develop their business acumen while at the same time always guiding and training. By nature this industry is cyclical as it follows manufacturing and economic trends, which is why we use slower cycles to continue to develop and strengthen business strategies. Thanks again for your review and stay healthy and safe.

  5. 5.0
    Current Intern, less than 1 year

    A respectable Company with great employees

    Apr 3, 2019 - Brokerage Intern in Newport, KY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work environment, interesting work, respectable company.

    Cons

    There are no cons with this Company

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Undervalue Employees

    Aug 24, 2016 - Brokerage Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    In the brokerage group, from the manager level down, everyone is a great person to work with. There is a genuine team feeling that helps collaboration between offices. The job also allows you to get immediate responsibility and develop work experience and skills very fast.

    Cons

    Management at HQ in Cincinnati does not value the efforts of the brokers under management level. Performance is applauded and expected, yet rarely rewarded. Once a year you are eligible to receive a discretionary bonus that is always talked about as a large portion of compensation, and is almost always guaranteed to disappoint. Brokerage group upper management also does not take into consideration employee desires and wishes when considering opportunities within the company, and often times opportunities given to employees are not based on merit. Any recommendations or requests by traders falls on deaf ears and voicing a complaint or request is often discouraged. You are expected to pay your dues for 10+ years.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    DJJ

    Mar 28, 2014 - Brokerage Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Flexibility in schedule (work-life balance) -Small teams

    Cons

    -Flat structure, lack of real culture that promotes growth -Growth is not always performance based

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 7 of 7 English Reviews

Work at The David J. Joseph Company? Share Your Experiences

The David J. Joseph Company logo
or