The Co-operators "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

The Co-operators Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Oct 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
91%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
The Co-operators CEO Robert Wesseling
Robert Wesseling
41 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Headquarters location is in Guelph which might be a bit remote for some people(in 7 reviews)

  • "No work life balance, expectations and stress level is very high(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operators full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team members, great management, work/life balance

    Cons

    Pay not as competitive as other companies but the pros definitely make the workplace better than competitors

    The Co-operators2019-08-08

    The Co-operators Response

    August 16, 2019Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to recommend The Co-operators. We value work-life balance, and we agree we have a great culture. Our culture is caring and collaborative and is guided by solid leadership and the contributions of every member of our organization. Our advisors are self-employed and are accountable and responsible for running the agency and managing their staff. We encourage you to share your positive feedback with your leader.

    Show Less
  2. "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor 

    I have been working at The Co-operators full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Salary, Health and Dental benefits, mon-fri 9-5.

    Cons

    Low Commissions. Work life balance....

    The Co-operators2019-05-29

    The Co-operators Response

    June 18, 2019Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review. At The Co-operators we welcome feedback so that we can continue to push boundaries for improvement. We are thrilled to hear that you are pleased with your Total Rewards and hours of work. Our advisors are self-employed and are accountable and responsible for running the agency and managing their staff. We encourage you to reach out to your leader or Fabiola_tonizzo@cooperators.ca to share your concerns regarding work-life balance and commissions so they may address them directly.

    Show Less
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Developer in Guelph, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operators full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * Great work environment. * Work-life balance. * Supportive team-members and management * Great compensation, bonus and benefits.

    Cons

    * Some slightly old technologies are used.

    The Co-operators2019-05-08

    The Co-operators Response

    June 10, 2019Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    Great response! Thank you for your review, we are lucky to have someone that is as passionate about The Co-operators as you are. We are proud to support a culture where employees feel appreciated and valued. We believe that employees are more engaged and satisfied with their work when they feel appreciated for their contributions. The ongoing efforts and dedication of our employees in the office and the community make this a great place to work and set us apart from other organizations.

    Show Less
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Co-operators full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and work life balance, a company with a fantastic moral compass.

    Cons

    Salary is usually on the low end of what you would expect. The type of people that work here are completely stagnant for the most part. It is not a place for innovation. The 'innovators' at this company really lack true understanding of what they are trying to accomplish. If you want a company that can advance your skill sets this is not the company to work for. Most of the people that work here are "lifers"... because its a really comfortable place to work, very rarely do they trim the fat and fire people that are out of touch. Lots of old people that can't even use excel working in technical positions. This company is fantastic at patting itself on the back.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Most of middle management working in the technical side of the business is not qualified to hold the positions they do, this needs to change. Invest in actually qualified and competent leaders with a proven track record outside of the company. There are so many managers leading technical positions that are not even remotely qualified, to the point they don't even know how to properly hire qualified people. Much of... middle management are just people that speak the buzz words.

    Show More
    The Co-operators2019-02-10

    The Co-operators Response

    February 21, 2019Talent Management Specialist

    We are open to hearing feedback from former employees on their experience in our workplace and hope you had the opportunity to share your opinion with your leader or during your exit interview with HR. The Co-operators provides a comprehensive suite of Leadership Development programs to develop our leaders. We consistently look for ways to support and coach our people leaders to effectively support their teams. We are also committed to ensuring our total rewards package is highly competitive which includes base pay, a wide range of benefits and other reward programs that make The Co-operators a better place to start or advance a career.

    Show Less
  5. "Personal lines claims representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operators full-time

    Pros

    Great work Environment Flexible hours /work life balance Work from home option available Good benefits overall

    Cons

    Heavy work loads but seasonal

    The Co-operators2018-12-14

    The Co-operators Response

    December 17, 2018Talent Management Specialist

    The Co-operators supports a balanced, performance oriented work environment and offers a number of benefits to support employees in balancing their work, family and community commitments. Thank you for taking the time to post a review of The Co-operators!

  6. "Recruiting More Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Recruiter in Guelph, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operators full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It’s not just what we say, the proof is in the pudding…. Our culture is caring, innovative and collaborative and we value work life balance – not just a cliché – we practice what we preach!

    Cons

    No company is perfect but I can honestly say, everyone has a choice and if there is something that doesn’t work – FIX IT!

    Advice to Management

    KEEP UP THE AMAZING WORK!

    The Co-operators2018-12-06

    The Co-operators Response

    December 17, 2018Talent Management Specialist

    Thank you for your positive review. The Co-operators is a different insurance company as we are part of the co-operative business sector. Our business is built on the values of honesty, caring, hard work, family and community making this “a BETTER place to work".

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Guelph, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operators full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work/ life balance A company that truly cares about their employees and clients

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of

    The Co-operators2018-08-21

    The Co-operators Response

    August 27, 2018Talent Management Specialist

    Thank you for your positive review! The Co-operators truly is an insurance company unlike any other. As a co-operative, our business is built on the values of honesty, caring, hard work, family and community. Our clients are very important to us and we’re committed to satisfying their needs by increasing the sustainability and quality of life within their communities. We're also very committed to our employees and do our best to not only create a work environment where they feel valued, but one that can support work-life balance though flexible work schedules. These are just a couple of the ways that our organization is a “BETTER” place to work!

    Show Less
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Claims Representative II - Accident Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Representative II - Accident Benefit in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operators full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing Work Life Balance, positive Company Culture, Supportive Benefits Package and Pension Plan, competitive compensation, Work from home flexibility. Definitely an Insurance Company that cares for it's clients and has them at the heart of their decision making.

    Cons

    Smaller Offices can make you feel more detached from networking, future job progression may be difficult. Overall, very little negatives to say about the company.

    The Co-operators2018-08-07

    The Co-operators Response

    August 10, 2018Talent Management Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share you feedback on your work experience at The Co-operators. We support a balanced, performance oriented environment offering a number of benefits to support employees in balancing their work, family and community commitments. Our national claims team are knowledgeable and trusted professionals who serve our clients with compassion making this “a BETTER place to work”.

    Show Less
  9. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operators full-time

    Pros

    people, systems, locations, products, price

    Cons

    work load, work life balance

    Advice to Management

    hire more

    The Co-operators2017-09-27

    The Co-operators Response

    October 10, 2017Talent Management Specialist

    At The Co-operators we are open to receiving feedback from current employees as we realize there is always room for improvement. Our values foster a commitment to transparent, effective , two-way communication among all employees and with organizational leaders. We encourage you to discuss your concerns with your leader or HR Consulting so that they can be addressed.

    Show Less
  10. Helpful (1)

    ""A Place You Can Call Home""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Moncton, NB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operators full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    **You don't start a job with The Co-operators, you start a career.** -Amazing staff (friendly, helpful, resourceful, and outgoing); -Positive work environment (work/life balance, transparent & open communication, training & development opportunities, and recognition); -Advanced technology (systems and equipment); -Competitive salary; -Excellent benefits & pension plan; -Paid volunteer days, personal days,... and vacation time; -Bonus program & product discounts; -Endless growth opportunities across Canada (on location or virtually) for bilingual and English only applicants.

    Show More

    Cons

    Like any other company: Policies, procedures, and organizational structure changes all the time. These changes can often be seen as a negative (especially during the transition period as communication and new implementations can take time); however, I understand the need for change and am open to it.

    Advice to Management

    Continue offering support, guidance, open & transparent communication. Thank you for all you do!

    The Co-operators2017-05-08

    The Co-operators Response

    May 11, 2017Talent Management Specialist

    We agree with your comment “ You don't start a job with The Co-operators, you start a career.” When you work for The Co-operators, you’ll be part of a culture that’s warm, caring, engaging and rewarding. This outstanding cultural character didn't just happen; it's been guided by solid leadership and the collaborative contribution of every member of our organization, past and present. You’ll be part of a team that works hard to develop an inspiring organization and an enjoyable place to work.

    Show Less
Found 173 reviews