The Co-operators Reviews

Updated Aug 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
90%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
The Co-operators President, CEO Robert Wesseling
Robert Wesseling
61 Ratings
Pros
  • "Having access to work from home as needed is a great way to achieve a sustainable work-life balance(in 30 reviews)

  • "Good positive work environment with opportunity to become an agency owner(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "Registered office in Guelph (Ontario)(in 10 reviews)

  • "no cons that can think of today(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Licensed Insurance Representative in Mississauga, ON

    I worked at The Co-operators full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment as a young professional starting their career.

    Cons

    Many customer service complaints, comes with the territory though.

    The Co-operators Response

    July 22, 2020Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    Thank you for your review! When you work for The Co-operators, you’ll be part of a culture that’s warm, caring, engaging and rewarding. This outstanding cultural character didn't just happen; it's been guided by solid leadership and the collaborative contribution of every member of our organization, past and present. You’ll be part of a team that works hard to develop an inspiring organization and an enjoyable place to work. Our total reward package, which includes base and incentive pay, a wide range of benefits, paid time-off, flexibility in work scheduling and other rewards is very competitive.

  2. "Good Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Regina, SK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Co-operators full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people are for the most part genuine.

    Cons

    The lack of future advancement.

    Continue reading

    The Co-operators Response

    August 10, 2020Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    At The Co-operators we are open to receiving feedback from former employees which helps us continue to learn and grow. As an employer The Co-operators strives to create a culture in which every employee feels valued, supported and inspired to do their very best. Leaders are accountable for having regular one on one conversations with employees in an effort to support job satisfaction and career development.


  3. "Great benefits"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Cambridge, ON

    I have been working at The Co-operators full-time

    Pros

    Great culture, community. Learning and growth opportunities

    Cons

    no cons that can think of today

    The Co-operators Response

    July 22, 2020Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review! The Co-operators invests in the development of employees to support their learning and career enrichment. At The Co-operators our comprehensive package of rewards meets the needs of our diverse workforce.

  4. "Okay Experience"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - LIR in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operators full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team, great benefits, good pay, good bonuses

    Cons

    A lot of office politics, high work load, money focused rather than customer focused

    The Co-operators Response

    July 23, 2020Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your experience. Your feedback means a lot to us and we will take your concerns into consideration. As an organization, we consistently look for ways to support and coach our people leaders to effectively support their teams. We are committed to creating a positive work environment and observe the highest level of ethical practice.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Guelph, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Co-operators full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility, benefits, work environment, colleagues.

    Cons

    Job titles may be the same but the responsibilities within those jobs may vary greatly.

    The Co-operators Response

    July 23, 2020Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    Thank you for your review! When you work for The Co-operators, you’ll be part of a culture that’s warm, caring, engaging and rewarding. This outstanding cultural character didn't just happen; it's been guided by solid leadership and the collaborative contribution of every member of our organization, past and present. You’ll be part of a team that works hard to develop an inspiring organization and an enjoyable place to work. Our total reward package, which includes base and incentive pay, a wide range of benefits, paid time-off, flexibility in work scheduling and other rewards is very competitive.

  6. "Great place to work."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning and Development Specialist in Mississauga, ON

    I have been working at The Co-operators full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company really invests in their employees well being through benefits and professional development by paying for professional education. Strong moral compass as well.

    Cons

    Lots of contracts keep you bouncing around.

    The Co-operators Response

    March 16, 2020Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to review The Co-operators. At The Co-operators, we foster continued well-being for staff by promoting healthy choices and creating awareness through a number of wellness benefits and programs. In addition, our dedication to our employees continued development shows in our investment in training programs, paid tuition and leadership programs. We all work hard to further develop an inspiring organization and an enjoyable place to work.

  7. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operators full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Treat employees well. Good compensation package They care about your development and career aspirations. They are client focused so have a great reputation within the community. Solid team environment, lots of welcoming, knowledgeable professionals within the office. Work life balance is on point.

    Cons

    None- it is the best company in the industry :)

    The Co-operators Response

    March 17, 2020Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    Thank you for recommending The Co-operators! Our organization supports a culture of collaboration, respect, integrity and teamwork and applies our Code of Ethics, HR policies and co-operative values to our workplace. In addition, development planning is an integral part of our performance planning process. Employees partner with their leader to establish development goals. Just as our co-operative values guide how we run our business, they are inherent in the way we treat our employees making this “a BETTER place to work.”

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Decent Company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operators full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    3 weeks vacation to start with, decent Benefits

    Cons

    not a lot of room to grow in the office unless you go commercial

  9. "good"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operators full-time

    Pros

    good place, nice people and team

    Cons

    no cons yet, will update later...

    The Co-operators Response

    March 17, 2020Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Staff of The Co-operators are a part of a culture that’s warm, caring, engaging and rewarding. This outstanding cultural character didn’t just happen; it’s been guided by solid leadership and the collaborative contribution of every member of our organization, past and present. We all work hard to develop and inspiring organization and an enjoyable place to work.

  10. "Great Company to Work For"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Actuarial Analyst in Guelph, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operators full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible working hours, Dress for your day, Paid Volunteer Days, Diversity , Continuous learning environment, mentoring

    Cons

    Head offices are not in the big Metropolitan Cities

    The Co-operators Response

    March 17, 2020Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review. As a Co-operative, we have a distinct culture rooted in our co-op values, which is reflected in our commitment to learning and development, our collaborative spirit and our approach to supporting Canadian communities. Keeping up with our co-op values, we encourage you to give back to your community. Employees receive up to two paid volunteer days each year to work with a local organization of their choice.

Found 204 reviews