The Co-operators Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

The Co-operators Reviews

Updated Jan 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
90%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
The Co-operators President, CEO Robert Wesseling
Robert Wesseling
46 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Headquarters location is in Guelph which might be a bit remote for some people(in 8 reviews)

  • "No work life balance, expectations and stress level is very high(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A++ company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Systems Analyst in Guelph, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operators full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - flexible work hours - work life balance - promotes hollistic view of work- mental and physical - paid volunteer days, personal days, sick - good vacation time off - managers really contribute in your performance and how you can do better and what you are looking for with career advancement or growth or stability or projects.

    Cons

    - the pay could be a bit better but its still pretty good. - far out in Guelph- so if you dont mind relocating or driving its okay - suffers from older culture

    The Co-operators2019-12-02
  2. "Great place to start but not building a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Insurance Advisor in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends

    I worked at The Co-operators full-time

    Pros

    - each agency has its own practices and culture - very nice team and supportive environment; I have a great senior advisor and team members. They made me feel very welcome since day one. They are willing to share their knowledge and they genuinely want me to be successful - great place to start a career with good professional and training development courses - very stable environment, especially for people who are looking for job security

    Show More

    Cons

    - work is constantly overloaded because high turnover rate ; district is always short of advisors - pay is fair for a newbie; but don't expect high pay raise given it is non-commission structure. There is a small annual bonus based on individual and agency performance, but it is very minimal - unrealistic quota and expectations even we are always short staff; most lower mainland agencies struggle with the targets - very limited advancement opportunities. There are opportunities to become a commercial or financial advisor; but workload vs pay is not proportional - during my 2.5 years, there were changes of management team in the district every 6 months. I reported to 5 different supervisors during the time.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    company is very reputable with fantastic products and customer service; I am still a client of the agency . There a lot of great potential for the West Coast. It is too bad that the financial advisor model just does not work in this market. I recommend to re-evaluate compensation package and salary to be more attractive to the market. It is nice to have a individual and branch targets; but they have to be realistic as our work is always overloaded.

    Show More
    The Co-operators2020-01-13
  3. "Looks after their people and clients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Insurance Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operators full-time

    Pros

    Good salaries, great benefits package with a dedicated focus towards mental health, staff bonuses if the organozation does well, focus on employee development and advancement, flexible shifts and work from home opportunities for those with the proper licenses.

    Cons

    Extremely busy call centre that just keeps getting busier and busier. Micromanaged but is necessary.

    The Co-operators2019-11-20
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Insurance Advisor in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at The Co-operators full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Top notch, great place to work, set you up for success

    Cons

    there were no cons to this position

    The Co-operators2019-11-19
  5. "A great company to work for, looking to transform in all the right places"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operators

    Pros

    Great people overall who are open to collaboration and innovation

    Cons

    Customer base is 100% Canadian

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great visionary work

    The Co-operators2019-11-03
  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at The Co-operators full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good to work with. Lots of learning.

    Cons

    Sales and only sales If you hate sales may not be for you

    The Co-operators2019-11-03
  7. "Associate Insurance Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Scarborough, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Co-operators full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company culture, useful training process

    Cons

    Need to reach client to make more in the end to meet targets.

    The Co-operators2019-10-26
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Not that great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Co-operators full-time

    Pros

    Good people and benefits overall

    Cons

    Poor management in deployment services

    Advice to Management

    Get a new manager for deployment services that understands how to manage people

    The Co-operators2019-10-22
  9. "I really liked the company nothing negative to say"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Policy Service Representative in Moncton, NB

    I worked at The Co-operators full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Professional development Flexible working Giving back to the community Decent pay Team bonding

    Cons

    Work wasn't overly stimulating

    The Co-operators2019-10-24
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Started good, ended bad."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Co-operators

    Pros

    Starting pay is good. Raises ever 6 months for first 18 months. Good training. Good team atmosphere. Team managers are friendly and approachable.

    Cons

    Completely unaware of mental health issues. Bullied by the department that deals with this. Forced to work while vomiting from anxiety. If you’re a perfect person they will love you. If you have any issues, look somewhere else. Also very pushy on sales targets to the point it is unattainable.

    Advice to Management

    Receive education on mental health and it’s actual effects on people’s lives. It does not only show in one way. There are multiple different symptoms that can be shown.

    The Co-operators2019-11-01
Found 182 reviews