The Co-operators Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

The Co-operators Reviews

Updated Mar 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
95%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
The Co-operators President, CEO Robert Wesseling
Robert Wesseling
60 Ratings
Pros
  • "Having access to work from home as needed is a great way to achieve a sustainable work-life balance(in 30 reviews)

  • "The work environment is very very easy-going(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "Registered office in Guelph (Ontario)(in 9 reviews)

  • "So far there are no cons that come to mind(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operators full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Treat employees well. Good compensation package They care about your development and career aspirations. They are client focused so have a great reputation within the community. Solid team environment, lots of welcoming, knowledgeable professionals within the office. Work life balance is on point.

    Cons

    None- it is the best company in the industry :)

    The Co-operators2020-02-25

    The Co-operators Response

    March 17, 2020Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    Thank you for recommending The Co-operators! Our organization supports a culture of collaboration, respect, integrity and teamwork and applies our Code of Ethics, HR policies and co-operative values to our workplace. In addition, development planning is an integral part of our performance planning process. Employees partner with their leader to establish development goals. Just as our co-operative values guide how we run our business, they are inherent in the way we treat our employees making this “a BETTER place to work.”

    Continue reading
  2. "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning and Development Specialist in Mississauga, ON

    I have been working at The Co-operators full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company really invests in their employees well being through benefits and professional development by paying for professional education. Strong moral compass as well.

    Cons

    Lots of contracts keep you bouncing around.

    The Co-operators2020-03-16

    The Co-operators Response

    March 16, 2020Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to review The Co-operators. At The Co-operators, we foster continued well-being for staff by promoting healthy choices and creating awareness through a number of wellness benefits and programs. In addition, our dedication to our employees continued development shows in our investment in training programs, paid tuition and leadership programs. We all work hard to further develop an inspiring organization and an enjoyable place to work.

    Continue reading
  3. "Decent Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operators full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    3 weeks vacation to start with, decent Benefits

    Cons

    not a lot of room to grow in the office unless you go commercial

    The Co-operators2020-02-27
  4. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operators full-time

    Pros

    good place, nice people and team

    Cons

    no cons yet, will update later...

    The Co-operators2020-02-11

    The Co-operators Response

    March 17, 2020Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Staff of The Co-operators are a part of a culture that’s warm, caring, engaging and rewarding. This outstanding cultural character didn’t just happen; it’s been guided by solid leadership and the collaborative contribution of every member of our organization, past and present. We all work hard to develop and inspiring organization and an enjoyable place to work.

    Continue reading
  5. "Great Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Actuarial Analyst in Guelph, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operators full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible working hours, Dress for your day, Paid Volunteer Days, Diversity , Continuous learning environment, mentoring

    Cons

    Head offices are not in the big Metropolitan Cities

    The Co-operators2020-02-04

    The Co-operators Response

    March 17, 2020Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review. As a Co-operative, we have a distinct culture rooted in our co-op values, which is reflected in our commitment to learning and development, our collaborative spirit and our approach to supporting Canadian communities. Keeping up with our co-op values, we encourage you to give back to your community. Employees receive up to two paid volunteer days each year to work with a local organization of their choice.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Best place to work and a great work life balance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BI Analyst III in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operators full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Company doesn't focus on only making profits. It invests in it's employees. - A true Canadian company who always gives a great thought towards its customers satisfaction. - Work life balance with most number of vacation and paid off hours compare to other companies. - Better pay compare to peers

    Cons

    - Workload needs to be distributed in some cases. But overall its good.

    Continue reading
    The Co-operators2020-01-27

    The Co-operators Response

    March 17, 2020Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    We really appreciate the time you took to review The Co-operators. As an organization, we invest in the development of employees to support their learning and career enrichment. It is our Co-operative Identity, values and principles that shape our approach to business and makes us different as an employer.

    Continue reading
  7. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BI Consultant in Guelph, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operators full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good opportunity for growth Flexible work schedule

    Cons

    It is a large company, if you prefer to work for a small company this may not be for you.

    The Co-operators2020-01-29

    The Co-operators Response

    March 17, 2020Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    Thank you for your Glassdoor review. At The Co-operators, we value the time our employees spend with us and work hard to support their personal and professional growth. As you mentioned, we are also pleased to accommodate flexible work schedules that support work-life balance and meet the requirements of the role, our clients and our colleagues.

    Continue reading
  8. "Profit for people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Vice President User Experience in Guelph, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operators full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The Co-operators is a people first company. It creates a excellent work life balance atmosphere and a place where you can be truly proud to work

    Cons

    Nationally focused company, limited international exposure

    The Co-operators2020-01-28
  9. "Great attitude and work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Actuarial Analyst I in Quebec, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operators full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours Easy to have a life outside of the office The attitude and the people make you want to become the best version of yourself

    Cons

    The offices are open during the holidays

    Continue reading
    The Co-operators2020-01-28
  10. "Best employer I have been working for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Intelligence Analyst in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Co-operators full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, possibility to work from home. Awesome staff. Great workspace in the Old Montreal's office. Great cooperative values and true involvement in communities across Canada.

    Cons

    Can't think of any cons, honestly...

    The Co-operators2020-01-28
Found 199 reviews