The Boston Beer Company Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

The Boston Beer Company Reviews

Updated Oct 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
The Boston Beer Company CEO Dave Burwick (no image)
Dave Burwick
16 Ratings
Pros
  • "Company culture is awesome, everyone is very passionate about what they do(in 13 reviews)

  • "It has great people and products(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "communication between departments, keeping product in stock, work life balance can get tough- but it's what you make of it(in 26 reviews)

  • "Middle management does not aid its lower level employees, but shields them from potential opportunities to further career(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "on premise sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Craft Beer Sales in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Boston Beer Company full-time

    Pros

    supportive management; comprehensive ; great beer parties

    Cons

    money could be better and higher 401k match

    Advice to Management

    long wait for advancement

    The Boston Beer Company2019-10-01
  2. "Low Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brewery Representative 

    I have been working at The Boston Beer Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of independence depending on manager

    Cons

    Very low Pay and low promotion rates

    Advice to Management

    increase pay

    The Boston Beer Company2019-10-01
  3. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Brewery Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Boston Beer Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic coworkers, great perks, awesome core values

    Cons

    Lots of driving in this specific role, however I was reimbursed for car expenses.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    The Boston Beer Company2019-08-30

    The Boston Beer Company Response

    September 9, 2019VP of Human Resources

    Thank you so much for your kind words, we wish you the best of luck in your next endeavor!

  4. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Brewery Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Boston Beer Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work environment; training; support; benefits

    Cons

    Unrealistic goals at times; unorganized at times

    The Boston Beer Company2019-08-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brewery Representative in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Boston Beer Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    free beer extensive training lots of flexibility

    Cons

    not enough pay for the work you do work weekends micromanagement

    Advice to Management

    get a clear message across as to what you want coworkers to execute on and communicate to customers. lots of mixed messaging and miscommunications, which makes us all look dumb

    The Boston Beer Company2019-06-20

    The Boston Beer Company Response

    August 9, 2019VP of Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. Communication is an area, that we have identified by employee engagement surveys, where we need to improve. It is a priority for our leadership team, in collaboration with coworkers across the organization, to continue to seek solutions to get better. Please reach out to me, your manager or HR Business Partner if you'd like to get involved or have a discussion!

    Show Less
  6. "Best Job in the beer business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Boston Beer Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company Culture is very strong

    Cons

    Competitive Industry is tough to compete in

    Advice to Management

    Continue the Innovation year over year

    The Boston Beer Company2019-06-07

    The Boston Beer Company Response

    August 9, 2019VP of Human Resources

    Thank you for the review -- we agree it's the best place to be in the beer industry!

  7. Helpful (3)

    "Beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Boston Beer Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Talented coworkers, most of who are passionate about the product/industry and willing to champion for the brand inside and outside of work. Really amazing culture depending on your department. Great benefits and benefits department, 401k matching, free beer, company trips, good work life balance depending on the season, the ability to work with people all over the country, working for a true Boston brand founded by... Jim Koch who is as amazing and passionate as he seems.

    Show More

    Cons

    Its easy to get sucked into the upbeat culture, and promises of growth, however I watched the operations department crumble by poor process changes and middle management, each quarter getting worse and worse. After about a year, my role became nothing more than data entry and customer service at best. Based on the actions and empty promises by senior/middle managers, they are only looking out for themselves rather... than admit defeat in their ability to control their department and make good decisions on behalf of their employees, and company north star. We're encouraged to bend the truth (lie) to our wholesalers to save face on behalf of a broken system. Some managers don't show up to the office for days and weeks at a time. DTU isn't real even if it's constructive, prepare to be pigeonholed if you speak up. If you're skilled or interested in something outside the role, management discourages it and they don't help with growth opportunities. Ops will continue to struggle and inspire failure without a shift in leadership and process improvement.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to feedback.

    The Boston Beer Company2019-06-11
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Facilities Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Boston Beer Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefits, PTO allowance, culture, product line of course

    Cons

    Some departments don't communicate properly with others.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    The Boston Beer Company2019-04-16

    The Boston Beer Company Response

    May 2, 2019VP of Human Resources

    More than 8 years tenure with BBC - wow, thank you for your loyalty and all that you do everyday! We are aware we need to get better about communication and trust me, we are putting a lot of effort behind it this year. Thank you again for the review.

  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brewery Representative 

    I have been working at The Boston Beer Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free Beer, Great Industry, Car Stipend

    Cons

    by yourself all day, the beer industry is changing

    The Boston Beer Company2019-04-09

    The Boston Beer Company Response

    May 2, 2019VP of Human Resources

    Thanks for your feedback. Being in Sales is definitely a tough job- a lot of windshield time and the industry is incredibly competitive and increasingly complex. Thanks for all your hard work and keep up the good work!

  10. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Market Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Boston Beer Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture. Great brands. Fun environment.

    Cons

    Huge cross functional disconnect. Not enough incentives.

    The Boston Beer Company2019-03-22

    The Boston Beer Company Response

    May 2, 2019VP of Human Resources

    Thanks for your review, we are very proud of the brands we sell (the best in the industry!) and of our company culture that we live every day. Feedback from our most recent employee engagement survey has made us more aware that we have a lot of work to do to improve our cross-functional and general internal communication. We have tasked leadership and committees with employees from various departments all over the business to work on solutions to help us improve. If you want to participate or have questions, I recommend you reach out to your manager or your HR Business Partner.

    Show Less
Found 166 reviews