The Beer Store "great people" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

The Beer Store Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated Sep 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
48%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
The Beer Store President Ted Moroz
Ted Moroz
34 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible hours, non-stressful, coworkers can be your friends(in 13 reviews)

  • "Worked with great people and fairly relaxed(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Worked upwards of 40 hours a week while still at part-time pay(in 10 reviews)

  • "Very hard to advance to full time or manager(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Beer Store full-time

    Pros

    Great company! great benefits! and great people!

    Cons

    Nothing i can think of.

    The Beer Store2016-02-25
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great co-workers, no upward movement."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Beer Store part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked with great people, was giving hours/shifts if I wanted them.

    Cons

    Poor pay, still at minimum wage after more than a year, don't expect a raise as a part-timer. Worked upwards of 40 hours a week while still at part-time pay.

    The Beer Store2019-09-03
  3. "Good starting job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at The Beer Store part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Worked with great people and fairly relaxed.

    Cons

    Pay wasn't great, wasn't given enough hours

    The Beer Store2019-06-05
  4. "CSR Customer service representative; what part time hours?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Beer Store part-time

    Pros

    - Get the chance to work with great people who appreciate where they work and enjoy their position - Opportunity to learn about beer brands, inventory management - A team-oriented workplace, always someone around to help if needed - Paid training (reading the online training modules) - Friendly and respectful customers most of the time - Great manager who appreciates and communicates with employees - Pretty... good part-time position compared to others

    Show More

    Cons

    - Lack of hours as a part timer after summer, good luck with 5-15 hour work weeks - With the 5-15 hour work weeks, you will go from 12-15 hours per week to 5-9 hours with no consistency - Benefits, what benefits? No benefits as a part timer, little chance to become full-time to have benefits - You get great customers, you get the worst possible customers - Can become a dirty, smelly environment with the variety... of empties you'll get - Inconsistent inventory placement, items in warehouse will move around frequently - Full-timers get priority over hours, newer part-timers will get the leftover scraps - Late nights, you may be working until 10:30pm - Aging IT infrastructure, in-store computers are over 10 years old

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Show appreciation not just to full-timers but also to employees stuck with minimum hours and no benefits - Reinvest in your stores by improving infrastructure and cleaning facilities

    The Beer Store2017-10-11
  5. "This company prefers to hire staff on contract"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Beer Store

    Pros

    Great people. Nice office. Free coffee.

    Cons

    Company prefers to hire people on contract for head office jobs. This doesn't inspire employer loyalty towards employees. They need to foster employee loyalty by hiring them full time, otherwise they are just pawns on a chessboard and "commodities" to be discarded at the whim of TBS.

    Advice to Management

    Either hire people full time permanent with full benefits, or not at all.

    The Beer Store2016-06-14
  6. "Love working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Beer Store part-time

    Pros

    Regular pay increases; competitive wage; all locations I have worked at have been extremely flexible with hours and worked around my (countless) other jobs; usually work with great people; my managers have been great. I have worked at 4 different locations over my 8 years with The Beer Store, and can count on one hand how many difficult customers I've had. Almost every customer is awesome!! They get to know you... by name and have conversations with you and bring you little treats (coffee, fresh strawberries)!

    Show More

    Cons

    Recent union agreement decreased the amount of raises throughout the year. I advanced fairly quickly to my wage, but it would take someone just starting out probably twice the amount of time to get to the same place. Unreliable hours as a part-timer. Head office wants to keep everyone part-time (even if they are working 40 hours/week), because full-timers get a huge pay increase and full benefits plus retirement... plan etc. Hours continue to be reduced across the board which results in MORE work with LESS employees. Inevitably, things don't get done. Empties can be pretty unpleasant, but over the years our customers have gotten better at keeping their empties cleaner and more organized.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please, PLEASE stop cutting our hours! Some stores (like in the small towns) can handle it but the bigger stores are suffering!

    The Beer Store2016-01-30
  7. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Beer Store full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pension plan, great pay, Great people, flexible hours and vacation time.

    Cons

    Dirty Job with dealing with empty bottles, smelly area where stored empty bottles. Very hard work. Hand on Management. Not enough resources to complete assigned tasks

    Advice to Management

    Take better care of getting resources to staff to complete tasks and keep your promises.

    The Beer Store2014-06-30
  8. "Great work enviroment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Store Manager in Bowmanville, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The Beer Store full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible and great people. Easy retail job and metrics

    Cons

    Not a lot of thinking to be successful. Lots of downtime

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work

    The Beer Store2013-10-02
Found 8 reviews