The American Legion Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

The American Legion Reviews

Updated Mar 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 62 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
James E. Koutz
15 Ratings
Pros
  • "Also worked with a bunch of great people(in 3 reviews)

  • "I have DAILY interactions with our Veterans, involved in outreach programs FOR our Veterans, community(in 2 reviews)

Cons
  • "HQ office considering the nonprofit environment and cost-of-living / Lack of morale due to non-21st century HR policies(in 2 reviews)

  • "Way too much alcohol being consumed and not enough focus on helping veterans and their families(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Mixed Emotions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in Camarillo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The American Legion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Doing good for the community. Being apart of doing things for the greater good and helping Veterans and families that are in need.

    Cons

    The people in charge should be looked at more carefully. They're egos have become inflated and they think they are the holier then though and make decisions on their own without bringing it to the E Board. They treat they're employees without regard, unfairly set unrealistic "employment" expectations eithout compensation, which we have been classified as Volunteers gor tax purposes and as a way to get out of having to...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Read the Labor Laws

    The American Legion2019-03-15
  2. "Well-meaning non-profit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Indianapolis, IN

    I have been working at The American Legion for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Above average employee benefits Independence and flexibility in some positions Purpose-driven organization

    Cons

    Slow to change Not savvy with use of technology

    The American Legion2019-01-05
  3. Helpful (1)

    "fun people and schedule times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at The American Legion part-time

      Pros

      great atmosphere with fun workers and clients

      Cons

      gets loud sometimes when busy

      The American Legion2018-12-10
    • "Bartender"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at The American Legion

        Pros

        Wonderful customers, always had a great time

        Cons

        smoking bar, went through a ton of laundry

        The American Legion2018-12-03
      • "Service Officer"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at The American Legion full-time

          Pros

          You get to do something that makes a difference

          Cons

          The pay isn’t great because it is a nonprofit

          The American Legion2018-09-20
        • "I am a Post Office Administrator"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Office Administrator in Indianapolis, IN
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at The American Legion full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          I didn't serve in the military but at almost 50 I now get to serve those that did!!! I have DAILY interactions with our Veterans, involved in outreach programs FOR our Veterans, community outreach WITH our Veterans (most are still serving their country & communities), I make sure the operations are up to par with our government entities that sanction The American Legion & I get to enjoy Saturday nights eating,...

          Show More

          Cons

          Yes, there is a lot of politics involved but it is sanctioned by Congress so what do you expect?!

          The American Legion2018-08-19
        • "The job was great, but the environment that came along with working in a club was not what I wanted in a job."

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Server/Waitress in Mercersburg, PA
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at The American Legion part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Pay. $8 an hour plus tips is super good

          Cons

          Drama, favoritism, dealing with drunk people, constant feud between cooks, bartenders, and waitresses.

          Advice to Management

          If everyone would work as a team it would be great.

          The American Legion2018-07-02
        • "Cook"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Cook in Avon, OH

          I worked at The American Legion part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Amazing group of people to make food for.

          Cons

          A little disorganized with management changing.

          The American Legion2018-06-10
        • "Assistant Director"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at The American Legion full-time

          Pros

          Great Location for lunch and metro

          Cons

          low pay compared to industry

          The American Legion2018-05-24
        • "Bartender / server"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Server/Bartender in Frederick, MD
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at The American Legion full-time for less than a year

          Pros

          The customers were amazing vets who truly cared about the business and its employees. One of my favorite jobs ever

          Cons

          No one manager several people running the business so as a employee you had to go to several different people to find a solution to a problem

          The American Legion2018-02-06
        Found 62 reviews