The American Legion Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

The American Legion Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 64 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
The American Legion CEO James E. Koutz (no image)
James E. Koutz
15 Ratings
Pros
  • "Also worked with a bunch of great people(in 3 reviews)

  • "I have DAILY interactions with our Veterans, involved in outreach programs FOR our Veterans, community(in 2 reviews)

Cons
  • "HQ office considering the nonprofit environment and cost-of-living / Lack of morale due to non-21st century HR policies(in 2 reviews)

  • "Way too much alcohol being consumed and not enough focus on helping veterans and their families(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Bartender in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The American Legion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Boss was understanding, coworkers were great, hours.

    Cons

    I really don't have any cons.

    Continue reading
    The American Legion2019-09-09
  2. "Na"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The American Legion part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good nice friendly fun quick

    Cons

    One day a week Fridays

    Continue reading
    The American Legion2019-09-09
  3. "Mixed Emotions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in Camarillo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The American Legion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Doing good for the community. Being apart of doing things for the greater good and helping Veterans and families that are in need.

    Cons

    The people in charge should be looked at more carefully. They're egos have become inflated and they think they are the holier then though and make decisions on their own without bringing it to the E Board. They treat they're employees without regard, unfairly set unrealistic "employment" expectations eithout compensation, which we have been classified as Volunteers gor tax purposes and as a way to get out of having to pay into workers comp. Paid leave, insurances etc. Something needs to be done to stop Non Profits from getting away with this unjust mistreatment

    Continue reading
    The American Legion2019-03-15
  4. "Well-meaning non-profit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Indianapolis, IN

    I have been working at The American Legion for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Above average employee benefits Independence and flexibility in some positions Purpose-driven organization

    Cons

    Slow to change Not savvy with use of technology

    The American Legion2019-01-05
  5. Helpful (1)

    "fun people and schedule times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The American Legion part-time

    Pros

    great atmosphere with fun workers and clients

    Cons

    gets loud sometimes when busy

    The American Legion2018-12-10
  6. "Bartender"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at The American Legion

    Pros

    Wonderful customers, always had a great time

    Cons

    smoking bar, went through a ton of laundry

    The American Legion2018-12-03
  7. "Service Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The American Legion full-time

    Pros

    You get to do something that makes a difference

    Cons

    The pay isn’t great because it is a nonprofit

    The American Legion2018-09-20
  8. "I am a Post Office Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Administrator in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The American Legion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I didn't serve in the military but at almost 50 I now get to serve those that did!!! I have DAILY interactions with our Veterans, involved in outreach programs FOR our Veterans, community outreach WITH our Veterans (most are still serving their country & communities), I make sure the operations are up to par with our government entities that sanction The American Legion & I get to enjoy Saturday nights eating, listening & dancing to live entertainment with our Veterans. Never had a job where I felt so valuable & appreciated as I do here!!!!!!!

    Cons

    Yes, there is a lot of politics involved but it is sanctioned by Congress so what do you expect?!

    The American Legion2018-08-19
  9. "The job was great, but the environment that came along with working in a club was not what I wanted in a job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Waitress in Mercersburg, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The American Legion part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay. $8 an hour plus tips is super good

    Cons

    Drama, favoritism, dealing with drunk people, constant feud between cooks, bartenders, and waitresses.

    Continue reading
    The American Legion2018-07-02
  10. "Cook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cook in Avon, OH

    I worked at The American Legion part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing group of people to make food for.

    Cons

    A little disorganized with management changing.

    The American Legion2018-06-10
Found 64 reviews