The American Legion Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

The American Legion Reviews

Updated Oct 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
64%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
The American Legion CEO James E. Koutz (no image)
James E. Koutz
17 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people and for a good cause(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 2 reviews)

Cons
  • "HQ office considering the nonprofit environment and cost-of-living / Lack of morale due to non-21st century HR policies(in 2 reviews)

  • "Way too much alcohol being consumed and not enough focus on helping veterans and their families(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great environment for a good cause"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bartender in Bloomington, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The American Legion part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and for a good cause

    Cons

    Volunteer work only on tips

    Advice to Management

    Inventive program for high sales

    The American Legion2019-10-02
  2. "No experience needed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The American Legion part-time

    Pros

    No experience needed will hire almost anyone

    Cons

    Limited shifts extra board, short notice

    The American Legion2019-10-30
  3. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Server 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The American Legion part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everything, They care about their staff.

    Cons

    Nothing. This is a great company to work for.

    The American Legion2019-09-18
  4. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Bartender in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The American Legion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Boss was understanding, coworkers were great, hours.

    Cons

    I really don't have any cons.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    The American Legion2019-09-09
  5. "Na"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The American Legion part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good nice friendly fun quick

    Cons

    One day a week Fridays

    Advice to Management

    None available

    The American Legion2019-09-09
  6. "Mixed Emotions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in Camarillo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The American Legion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Doing good for the community. Being apart of doing things for the greater good and helping Veterans and families that are in need.

    Cons

    The people in charge should be looked at more carefully. They're egos have become inflated and they think they are the holier then though and make decisions on their own without bringing it to the E Board. They treat they're employees without regard, unfairly set unrealistic "employment" expectations eithout compensation, which we have been classified as Volunteers gor tax purposes and as a way to get out of having... to pay into workers comp. Paid leave, insurances etc. Something needs to be done to stop Non Profits from getting away with this unjust mistreatment

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Read the Labor Laws

    The American Legion2019-03-15
  7. "Well-meaning non-profit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Indianapolis, IN

    I have been working at The American Legion for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Above average employee benefits Independence and flexibility in some positions Purpose-driven organization

    Cons

    Slow to change Not savvy with use of technology

    The American Legion2019-01-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "fun people and schedule times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The American Legion part-time

    Pros

    great atmosphere with fun workers and clients

    Cons

    gets loud sometimes when busy

    The American Legion2018-12-10
  9. "Bartender"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at The American Legion

    Pros

    Wonderful customers, always had a great time

    Cons

    smoking bar, went through a ton of laundry

    The American Legion2018-12-03
  10. "Service Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at The American Legion full-time

    Pros

    You get to do something that makes a difference

    Cons

    The pay isn’t great because it is a nonprofit

    The American Legion2018-09-20
Found 67 reviews