Terrence Higgins Trust Reviews

Updated Jan 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
63%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Terrence Higgins Trust Chief Executive Ian Green (no image)
Ian Green
1 Rating
  1. "Passionate people, supportive manager"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Terrence Higgins Trust full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is so passionate about what they do. The teams are very welcoming and the work is worthwhile. New tech is coming to support a more agile and flexible work space, which is great. My manager has been supremely supportive and generous with their time.

    Cons

    Teams across the UK can seem a bit separate, but I think that is set to change soon. There is a buzz at the moment, some changes and challenges ahead but ultimately i think these will be positive and make for a more cohesive charity. The charity sector in general could pay their employees a bit more.

    Continue reading
    Terrence Higgins Trust2020-01-24

    Terrence Higgins Trust Response

    January 29, 2020Director of HR

    Thank you for your comments- I’m glad to hear that your experience of working for the Trust has been positive overall so far. We do have a challenge with having our staff teams spread across three countries, but as you say we are looking to bring in new ways of communicating over the next year that should help to bring us closer together. You’re right: a good handover- either face-to-face or written down- can make a big difference to those first few days and weeks in an organisation and it’s something I will discuss with the learning team about advice on what format and how this can be more consistent going forward.

  2. "Great condition"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Housekeeping 

    I worked at Terrence Higgins Trust full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great service love the job

    Cons

    none At all great conditions

    Terrence Higgins Trust2019-04-30

    Terrence Higgins Trust Response

    May 30, 2019Director of HR

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of working at the trust- we're glad that you enjoyed your time here.

  3. "Internal Bullying"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Terrence Higgins Trust full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The outreach- knowing you are helping people in need in the community. Meeting a variety of different people that you wouldn’t necessarily get to meet on a day to day basis.

    Cons

    Appalling management structure. When my original (and very friendly) manager moved away, her junior was put in charge. She had no experience or qualifications in managing staff and was a heinous bully. As the months went by, I eventually had enough of the daily snide comments, the intimidating behaviour and her need to constantly undermine the work I had been doing for over a year (with no issues when under my previous manager). I was publicly victimised and shamed when I handed in my notice. This was extremely distressing and affected not only my confidence but the way I approached and trusted people for years to come. If you don’t work In London, the company doesn’t care for your issues or problems. Extra effort won’t get you praise or acknowledgement.

    Continue reading
    Terrence Higgins Trust2019-05-16

    Terrence Higgins Trust Response

    May 30, 2019Director of HR

    Thank you for sharing your views on your time working with Terrence Higgins Trust- we’re glad that you feel your time helped to make a difference to those in the community. I’m sorry that your experience with management was less positive. We’re working hard to make sure that everyone across the organisation feels valued and heard, but recognise that we don’t always get this right. If you’d like to discuss the matters that you raise with us further, do please email us at humanresource@tht.org.uk

  4. "Depends on who and where you are"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Line Agent in London, England
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Terrence Higgins Trust full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The front line staff are almost all great. The further you are away from the London HQ, the more likely it is that more people will be too. Some of the incompetence shown by higher management is extremely funny. Until your job goes as a result, anyway.

    Cons

    The funding situation remains extremely uncertain. Shamefully, sexual health simply is not the priority it should be and 'treatment as prevention' has swallowed a great deal of health promotion money. Far too much of the income goes to support the HQ rather than provide services.

    Continue reading
    Terrence Higgins Trust2019-04-24

    Terrence Higgins Trust Response

    May 30, 2019Director of HR

    We’re sorry to hear that you didn’t feel able to share your views of the changes and challenges that Terrence Higgins Trust was facing while you were employed with us. We agree that the funding environment is very tough in sexual health and HIV, but we still have to be able to reflect on the way in which we deliver services and seek out ways to improve these. To do that we do need to take account of the staff who are delivering those services at the frontline. We take diversity and inclusion seriously within the charity, but know that there is further work to be developed to embed this further. We don’t get it right all the time, but we do try to find ways of making sure all individuals have a voice to express their views and surveys are one mechanism to do this.

  5. "Great cause, malevolent charity"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Terrence Higgins Trust full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The cause. What it's all about.

    Cons

    Pretty much everything; self-interested, indulgent, callous senior leaders with a lack of understanding. Refusal to consider other perspectives. Punishment of people who challenge. Misuse of charitable donations, carefully disguised. Visit our fifth floor and it's an elitist, rarified atmosphere for execs and others to bring pampered pet dogs to work. Clearly prioritising charitable purposes...not.

    Continue reading
    Terrence Higgins Trust2018-09-21
  6. "Lack of transparency"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Terrence Higgins Trust part-time

    Pros

    The people who work there are generally lovely and are doing their best with what little resources they are provided with.

    Cons

    Charity politics, lack of transparency and lack of clear internal communication can make the simplest task almost impossible to complete.

    Continue reading
    Terrence Higgins Trust2018-08-30
  7. "So pleased I joined."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Terrence Higgins Trust full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is a charity that has such history in the HIV and sexual health sector, I'm so pleased to be a part of it. Love getting involved in all the events that take place - Pride, London Marathon, etc. Really interesting work with hugely committed colleagues.

    Cons

    There have been redundancies recently which have left some people bitter and worried about the future. Having to think creatively about income generation in a time of government cutbacks.

    Continue reading
    Terrence Higgins Trust2018-07-02
  8. "Great charity but facing a tough time ahead"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Terrence Higgins Trust part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The most friendly and welcoming place I have ever worked - everyone is lovely Smile and laugh every day Everyone pulls in the same direction A great sense of teamwork and passion A great brand and respected name in the sector A powerful and still very important cause

    Cons

    Haemorrhaging money - they are mostly grant funded and lots of local authority contracts are ending/cancelled meaning the run a huge deficit They are starting to embark on a Transformation / Restructure which has so-far not been well handled by senior leadership Many staff facing redundancies Has been carried out with poor consultation - asking staff to review proposed solutions but not to input into its design from the start Lots of uncertainty as to the charity's future shape direction and vision It will probably come out ok but 2018-19 is going to be a rough patch Pay - is good for sexual health sector but poor vs broader health sector

    Continue reading
    Terrence Higgins Trust2018-03-05
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Poor management, internal communication and lack of transparency"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Health Advisor in Haverhill, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Terrence Higgins Trust full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    On a local level fab job and amazing team. Good support from those around you and a real sense of ownership of your role. Varied and interesting

    Cons

    The cons are once you need support from services or management level not based in your office it then becomes cloke and dagger. No communication. Lies. Changing of information or just a general vagueness so as not to be pinned down or held accountable. The organisation it very London focused. No actual idea for what it is like to live or work in rural locations. If they make a mistake there is no apology or ownership. Just either ignore or pass the buck. For a company built around supporting people, they show no support or compassion for their own staff.

    Continue reading
    Terrence Higgins Trust2018-03-22
  10. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Terrence Higgins Trust full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work, wonderful staff

    Cons

    Challenging environment politically and financially

    Terrence Higgins Trust2018-01-31
Found 19 reviews