Technorati Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 of over 19 reviews

2.5
14%
Recommend to a Friend
24%
Approve of CEO
Technorati CEO Shani Higgins
Shani Higgins
12 Ratings

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

  1. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Peter Principle is pervasive.

    Aug 17, 2014 - Technical Writer in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It used to sustain and build the global reputation for "...the World’s Largest Blog Directory."

    Cons

    As the Peter Principle aptly summarizes: "In a hierarchy, every employee tends to rise to their level of incompetence". This principle has now become pervasive at Technorati. As a former contributing writer to Technorati for over 2 years, I was disappointed to receive a brief message from an executive who stated that contributed content will no longer be accepted on Technorati unless it relates to the new direction the company has taken. I'm sure there were other writers besides myself that communicated to several companies that we were about to post new content on Technorati only to be surprised that we could no longer publish valuable content: - no lead time for the abrupt notice, - no input in the change in strategy, - no recommendations were sought to improve the plight of Technorati despite the abundance of experience and industry expertise that former contributors and employees brought to a formerly reinvigorated Technorati. This is very unprofessional and shortsighted. As an article in B2C cited: "...the World’s Largest Blog Directory—is Gone." (June 16, 2014) Having secured personal interviews with large companies and innovative startups, other writers and I have sought to contribute unique articles that raised visibility to the value Technorati used to bring to the global blogging community and new advertisers. This new direction is counterproductive. The new "shot in the arm" that was introduced with nimble and talented editors and others who are no longer there as of last week has caused Technorati to lose sight of its original mission and vision and is highly unlikely to lead to any sustainable way to monetize their new direction. This explains why several companies in Technorati's space have either - thrived to fill the vacuum that Technorati has left or - have launched new publications and rode the rocket to value creation through successful social media specialties or leveraged the value created by writers who deliver content that can build a community of followers and company sponsors. It's time to shift the leadership, shift the mission and return the innovators who were recently there. Shift happens...for the better.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    CEO is utterly clueless

    Aug 17, 2014 - Freelance Writer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This WAS a 'go to' place for bloggers and current information, no idea what suddenly went so wrong.

    Cons

    I am/was a freelance writer for this place, and it was a cool gig, I turned around stories quickly for them, I got a ton of eyes on my stories and they were popular. Then around May 2014 they changed their publishing backend from whatever archaic crap they were using to Wordpress. No notice to anyone, they killed their history and content and the site would go down repeatedly, for weeks at a time. I think someones son in law in high school is the CTO now or something. I had 3 excellent articles lined up and then on August 13 we all got a notice they weren't going to publish any more. Oddly, the same day that this new glowing review came in.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Delusional and Inexperienced Senior Exec

    Oct 18, 2013 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Opportunities to learn if you don't mind teaching yourself. No one there will show you how to do anything.

    Cons

    Inexperienced and tone-deaf senior management. Ad networks are a dime a dozen - learn how to build a successful business and maintain a culture that people want to do well in.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Sinking ship

    May 7, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Stroll in around 10am, probably without anyone noticing A new office manager who actually pays attention/maintains the office Room for growth within departments when people leave, but little else

    Cons

    Completely absent decision making exec team Keep being told we're profitable but skimping on talent and overworking resources Empower people to do their jobs Completely non-product focused organization

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Technorati is a fast paced, always evolving shop

    Jan 10, 2013 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Opportunities to learn new skills abound.

    Cons

    The fast pace makes task completion a challenge.

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee

    It was a great idea in 2003

    Oct 28, 2008 - Project Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's proximity to South Park, where there are many good restaurants to eat at. There are still some smart people at Technorati, but the vast majority of the "stars" left long ago for greener pastures. Even two years ago it was worth it just to be surrounded by good thinkers and lot of energy, excitement.

    Cons

    Bad engineering, unstable platform, lots of fire drills, website no one wants. It was a great idea when it started, bloggers loved it. Not sure what the current direction is, but serving ads to blog readers is done better by Google.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 11 - 16 of 16 Reviews

Work at Technorati? Share Your Experiences

Technorati logo
or