Technorati Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 of over 19 reviews

2.5
14%
Recommend to a Friend
24%
Approve of CEO
Technorati CEO Shani Higgins
Shani Higgins
12 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Na

    Oct 14, 2020 - Junior Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Can remember anything like that

    Cons

    Can not remember anything like that

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Destined to close

    May 29, 2019 - IT Engineer, Senior in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice environment. Lots of food and drinks. Excellent view of downtown SF. Loved those hotcakes!

    Cons

    Waste of resources and money. Absurd expenses in nonsense things. Lack of confidence in their employees. Lots of time consuming and boring meetings.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee

    It was a great idea in 2003

    Oct 28, 2008 - Project Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's proximity to South Park, where there are many good restaurants to eat at. There are still some smart people at Technorati, but the vast majority of the "stars" left long ago for greener pastures. Even two years ago it was worth it just to be surrounded by good thinkers and lot of energy, excitement.

    Cons

    Bad engineering, unstable platform, lots of fire drills, website no one wants. It was a great idea when it started, bloggers loved it. Not sure what the current direction is, but serving ads to blog readers is done better by Google.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Classic Ivory Tower

    Sep 18, 2014 - Ad Product in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The location and office is great. Initially the challenge was interesting however the culture really inhibited individuals from making big things happen. Lots of good snacks, beer and outings to inspire the teams. The worker bees are good people.

    Cons

    Strategy has waned down to a simple ad play that isn't all that interesting to insiders or outsiders. The leadership mostly sit in their glass houses (literally glass boxes) and hold navel gazing meetings with mix bag positive spun side talk but rarely engage with people otherwise. Not really innovators in the platform space.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    CEO is utterly clueless

    Aug 17, 2014 - Freelance Writer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This WAS a 'go to' place for bloggers and current information, no idea what suddenly went so wrong.

    Cons

    I am/was a freelance writer for this place, and it was a cool gig, I turned around stories quickly for them, I got a ton of eyes on my stories and they were popular. Then around May 2014 they changed their publishing backend from whatever archaic crap they were using to Wordpress. No notice to anyone, they killed their history and content and the site would go down repeatedly, for weeks at a time. I think someones son in law in high school is the CTO now or something. I had 3 excellent articles lined up and then on August 13 we all got a notice they weren't going to publish any more. Oddly, the same day that this new glowing review came in.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    A company focused on the end product, and here to help you grow professionally.

    Sep 15, 2014 - Associate Product Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    • The opportunity to grow is definitely there. • In such a small company, it’s easy to make a positive impact, and it’s noticed. • The industry is incredibly exciting, and the company has a strong team. • Most recently, Technorati sponsored my personal development through a PM course. • Technorati has a strong focus on the work-life balance. Extra hours are never been expected but it rarely goes unnoticed. • The office environment is fun, • We make solid hires. I'm from the Bay Area, but many of my close friends are current or former Technorati Employees. • Happy hours, company summits and bonding opportunities aplenty. • The work-from-home policy is generous. You probably won't be a full pajama-clad 24/7 WFH employee but it's not an issue if you have something to do that prevents you from making it into the office.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons. I really, really enjoy working here and I would recommend the company to anyone who feels like they would be a great fit.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Old systems, old thinking, and laughable brand

    Aug 20, 2014 - Network Administrative in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    My focus at Technorati was to help publisher partners meet revenue goals. I was excited about the opportunity when I first joined: Technorati has great industry relations, and a legacy brand name. Lots of servers. After all, smart people built this!

    Cons

    When you pair old systems with a lost, almost laughable brand, it makes for a rough job. There's nothing forward thinking or advanced about this company. My experience was marked with little direction, invisible executive communication, and a collaborative environment you might find in North Korea. The only thing slower than our systems, were the clocks on the wall. Bleak upward growth (and I wouldn't want to be there that long, anyway) and Kansas City wages, made leaving Technorati an easy decision.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Continue to reinvent themselves, but always come out on top!

    Aug 13, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Smart, hardworking, passionate people, great benefits and a fun culture. Great opportunities for growth for technical folks

    Cons

    Lots of change, could do better with communication at all levels

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Sinking ship

    May 7, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Stroll in around 10am, probably without anyone noticing A new office manager who actually pays attention/maintains the office Room for growth within departments when people leave, but little else

    Cons

    Completely absent decision making exec team Keep being told we're profitable but skimping on talent and overworking resources Empower people to do their jobs Completely non-product focused organization

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    The leadership of this company is foolish. Betting on ad networks that are passing them by.

    Sep 10, 2014 - Journalist + Editor in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The office space is pretty nice. Great view of SF.

    Cons

    Backwards thinking CEO and Board. They don't understand marketing technologies and the evolution of the space. They've made their money on their ad network, but they can't see that space is about to totally disrupted. They had THE defacto top resource online for bloggers and influencers... they gave it all up for some dollars on their ad network, which is archaic.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 16 Reviews

Work at Technorati? Share Your Experiences

Technorati logo
or