Talentcor Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Talentcor Reviews

Updated Aug 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 49 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Talentcor CEO Craig Brown (no image)
Craig Brown
25 Ratings
Pros
  • "They value work/life balance, offer a great benefits program and continuously encourage your professional growth and development(in 4 reviews)

  • "Great benefits - medical/dental/vacation(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "Nothing negative to say about the team or organization(in 3 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "General Labour"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Labour in Brampton, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Talentcor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I work well with others and my labour skills are strong.

    Cons

    Sometimes I can get tired but I pick myself up again and continue.

    Talentcor2019-06-13

    Talentcor Response

    July 25, 2019VP Marketing & Innovation

    Thank you for a 5-star rating. We strive to make sure that our candidates find good opportunities at all times.

    Continue reading
  2. "Poor place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Recruiter in Dartmouth, NS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Talentcor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None that I can think of.

    Cons

    The many downsides of working at Talentcor include but are not limited to: -Poor commissions - Managers will steal the good candidates and submit for their own commissions -Gossipy and badmouthing are frequent amongst managers and their "best friends" IE- THEIR manager. -Poor communication - Managers will often hide details and leave you in the dark to guess. Especially to new employees. - Lonely environment - most people keep their doors shut and keep their heads down and work. No collaboration amongst team members. -Poor company in general - could not afford advertising so I had to drive around town for 3 hours in the rain and post flyers on bus stops/ terminals/telephone poles - which you know will be torn down as soon as you walk away. No money for advertising. The particular jobs you are hiring for, are so low in pay that you end up hiring the most unqualified people to do a dangerous job. Even seen people hurt on the job because I was forced to send someone in who physically could not do the job, but if they didn't do - it would be "my head on a stick. " - exact phrasing from manager Breaks - everyone brags about how they are actually going to take a lunch today but then say "you HAVE to take a break", so you feel like a slacker and end up eating alone at your desk.

    Continue reading
    Talentcor2019-08-29
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Mixed bag/management cult"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Talentcor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Talentcor has some excellent clients and excellent recruiters. For the most part management is too busy avoiding real work to manage anyone, so there can be a tremendous amount of autonomy if you work responsibly. Work/life balance can be good.

    Cons

    Senior management is profoundly incompetent. At Talentcor, customers are not the top priority - management is. Some are decent but generally speaking they limit their involvement to ego-enhancing activities like retreats and workshops. They seldom participate in anything that impacts the business in order to avoid responsibility for failure. Communication with staff is non-existent - ownership encourages a culture of elitism. If you are OK with participating in the fantasy that management is playing 7D chess, you'll do fine. If you recognize the reality that they are bumbling fools, you won't last. They love yes men and women.

    Continue reading
    Talentcor2019-07-31
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Talentcor full-time

    Pros

    Great team and great culture

    Cons

    You deal with difficult candidates often

    Talentcor2019-04-29

    Talentcor Response

    June 10, 2019VP Marketing & Innovation

    Thank you for your recommendation!

    Continue reading
  5. "ok if your desperate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Temp in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Talentcor part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    sometimes they find you work

    Cons

    other times they let you sit at home for 2 weeks until you ask for your t4 to apply for EI

    Continue reading
    Talentcor2019-06-05

    Talentcor Response

    June 10, 2019VP Marketing & Innovation

    We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. As a staffing partner to clients that require temporary, contract and permanent employees, our work arrangements can differ from one person to another. We try to redeploy our candidates as often as possible to ensure work continuity, however we cannot control our clients' needs. We encourage candidates to call in on a weekly basis so that we can offer them a variety of roles as they become available.

    Continue reading
  6. "Fedex Supply Chain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Talentcor full-time

    Pros

    no effort when looking for a job

    Cons

    the temporary work can have predictable work duration

    Talentcor2018-12-02

    Talentcor Response

    June 10, 2019VP Marketing & Innovation

    Thank you for your feedback. We strive to make our candidates' job search as easy as possible by providing work opportunities to meet their skillsets. Some of our clients have seasonal needs and therefore assignments do come to an end. We are happy to redeploy candidates to other opportunities whenever we can!

    Continue reading
  7. "average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Recruiting Coordinator in London, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Talentcor for less than a year

    Pros

    coworkers were nice most of the time

    Cons

    top performers are treated like gods, average employees barely noticed

    Continue reading
    Talentcor2018-11-20

    Talentcor Response

    June 10, 2019VP Marketing & Innovation

    Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you feel our average employees are barely noticed, as every member in a branch has an important role to play. Every branch location has a branch manager to ensure the goals of the organization are met through our local teams.

    Continue reading
  8. "Receptionist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Talentcor

    Pros

    Cool coworkers for the most part

    Cons

    Small office Low pay Bathroom outside of the office

    Talentcor2018-09-29

    Talentcor Response

    June 10, 2019VP Marketing & Innovation

    We are sorry that you experienced more cons than pros. Some of our branches have smaller teams than others, and therefore we optimize our space to meet the needs of the team. Our employees are paid based on fair market rates and are benchmarked against other internal colleagues and market data on an ongoing basis. If you do not feel fairly compensated, a conversation with your manager is encouraged. We cannot comment on the bathroom situation since we do not have your location information to reference.

    Continue reading
  9. "Talentcor Life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Talentcor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Sr Management is committed to work life balance, and colleagues provide an amazing team environment

    Cons

    Some branch locations could be better located for walk-in traffic

    Continue reading
    Talentcor2018-08-30

    Talentcor Response

    September 3, 2018Employer Representative

    Thank you for your positive review. We will continue to work on opening branch locations that are convenient for our candidates. We understand that this is critical to increasing walk-in traffic. We do strive to exceed expectations for our employees, especially in the current market. We appreciate your support in these strategies!

    Continue reading
  10. "Great Company to be associated with!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - National Recruitment Specialist - IT in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Talentcor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Great Clients -Smart Team members -Great Manager -Great Office Location

    Cons

    None that I have seen yet

    Continue reading
    Talentcor2018-08-29

    Talentcor Response

    September 3, 2018Employer Representative

    Thank you for your glowing review! We are so pleased that you are enjoying your role at Talentcor.

    Continue reading
Found 49 reviews