TVG Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

TVG Reviews

Updated Jan 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
51%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
TVG CEO Kip Levin  (no image)
Kip Levin
6 Ratings
  1. "Tough Job, Low Pay, Most Supervisors Not Nice, Call Center Reps Are Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Hillsboro, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at TVG full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Call Center Reps are wonderful!

    Cons

    Archaic Call Center System and Most ( not all) supervisors need to get over themselves.

    TVG2020-01-18
  2. "Great job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service 

    I worked at TVG full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff, snacks, and upbeat atmosphere.

    Cons

    People get heated quickly. Training could also be a bit longer for the call center, as is the employees are kinda thrown to the wolves.

    TVG2019-10-03
  3. "It's creative work environment is adorable."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Assistant in Kabul
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TVG full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Highly cooperative employees in every department.

    Cons

    Nothing to be mention here.

    Advice to Management

    Be cooperative with your employees.

    TVG2019-07-12
  4. "Since 2016, the company has transformed. So has the market."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Culver City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TVG full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Dynamic and lets developers find solutions for operational needs. Not task driven but goal driven. You are allowed to fail as long as you keep improving processes.

    Cons

    It is still transforming after merging with FanDuel. The culture is divided based on the two products TVG has: the website and television. One feels like a startup the other is a legacy entertainment content creator (e.g. TV content). If you work on the software side, which I do, your experience will be very different from the TV side.

    Advice to Management

    At this point, stay the course. We are growing our market share in a shrinking industry. We will eventually fully merge with FanDuel to create new products in a changing landscape.

    TVG2019-06-16
  5. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at TVG full-time

    Pros

    Great Culture to work in

    Cons

    NONE that spring to mind

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up

    TVG2019-03-25
  6. "Great place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Live Master Control in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TVG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great management and HR department. If you are a hard worker company will invest in your growth.

    Cons

    none that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    none

    TVG2019-03-21
  7. "Fine until layoffs/reorganizations/pay cuts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TVG full-time

    Pros

    Most upper management is supportive of individual employees and trust their work. Benefits are very good.

    Cons

    Following layoffs, reorganizations, and pay cuts early in 2017, the work environment became toxic enough that I left.

    TVG2018-09-12
  8. "Highly recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TVG full-time

    Pros

    Fast paced, fun environment. Smart driven people.

    Cons

    Business will eventually scale and grow 10x or more, but dependent on betting regulation.

    TVG2017-08-29
  9. Helpful (1)

    "poor sr leadership; layoffs every year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - California 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TVG full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    dynamic and great people at the ground level; love the work and horseracing and the online business; salaries are decent but lower level employees seem ignored a lot for competitive pay.

    Cons

    horrible senior mgmt and leadership; cronyism; if there is an issue dont expect sr leadership to support mgmt to resolve amicably; layoffs every year since Ive been with the company; certain producers and directors bust their butt and get no recognition (bonus, increased pay or similar); perfect environment for union action. CEO refuses to trust his mgmt to know their area or expertise and does not support continued development of knowl; allows consultants to run the co and run amuck creating hostile environments this would be who the CEO trusts instead. DUMB!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    have a mission; live by a mission & change the culture to one of positive recognition of those who work hard, know their expertise, and not just those who tell you what you want to hear or just do as you say; appreciate and act on feedback of the actual workers for a more just culture. Stop laying off for a change to save money and actually produce a good product matched with a good brand.

    TVG2017-04-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Bad work life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at TVG full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some nice people exist here.

    Cons

    High turnover rate, lots of office politics, poor management, CEO doesn't know what's going on in departments.

    Advice to Management

    CEO needs to know what's happening under the car's hood, not just see the outside of the car.

    TVG2016-09-01
Found 16 reviews
</>Embed