Sysco Canada Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Sysco Canada Reviews

Updated Sep 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Sysco Canada CEO Randy White
Randy White
33 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits and pention matching(in 7 reviews)

  • "good pay , good benefits through have a good union, equipment is getting better, fresh air working environment, home with the family each night(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, physically demanding with a steep learning curve(in 5 reviews)

  • "There is completely no work life balance(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great co-workers, like family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Procurement Manager in Coquitlam, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sysco Canada full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Opportunity for job diversity, inclusive culture

    Cons

    Old technology entitled staff, change is difficult

    Continue reading
    Sysco Canada2018-05-29
  2. "Below Average Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounting Associate in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sysco Canada full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Good people -Learned some basic skill sets -Management, I believe genuinely want to make improvements.

    Cons

    -Lack of opportunity for career advancement and learning. -Very tradition US style corporate culture. Not flexible, highly bureaucratic. -Organizational changes have been dragging out for many years and with numerous rounds of layoffs have created a depressing and work environment. -Compensation below average -Technology is from the 1980's and way outdated. Piloted a tradition to SAP and pulled the plug after two years. -Amount of food this industry throws out or wastes is shocking.

    Sysco Canada2019-09-30
  3. "Very corporate atmosphere, good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Category Planner 

    I worked at Sysco Canada full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people Semi decent pay

    Cons

    Big disconnect from leadership team

    Sysco Canada2019-08-14
  4. "SMH never again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Technology Support Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sysco Canada full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get paid Some of the people you work with are amazing and good at there jobs

    Cons

    Long hours and no OT (Really none). There is no real assistance at the start of your tenure at the company. HR Sucks and is no help at all. If the city is on fire you still have to show up to work or its aa problem.

    Continue reading
    Sysco Canada2019-08-06
  5. "Overworked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Delivery Driver in Halifax, NS
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Sysco Canada full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The wage is decent and they will pay for a class 3 to upgrade to class 1.

    Cons

    Overworked, equipment issues, not always treated fairly by management.

    Sysco Canada2019-07-17
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Unfortunately The Culture Has Changed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Category Analyst 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sysco Canada full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Started out as a very positive experience where ability was recognized and rewarded and "work/life balance" was an ethos, not merely a catch phrase. Plenty of internal training and growth opportunities and the local office really had a "family that cares" feel to it despite being 200+ associates at my location. There are still roles at Sysco that don't involve the level of pressure described in the Cons section below so as long as you know what you're getting into, it IS a company that I would recommend. Had I been able to transition to a different role (as opposed to being laid off) I would still happily be there as the vast majority of my colleagues were decent hard working people that gave a damn about our customers and each other.

    Cons

    In 2014(?) an investment group that was known for "right sizing" firms to maximize investor returns gained a controlling share of the Board of Directors and began implementing new 3 year efficiency and growth plans. Unfortunately, a few years later morale started to drop - at least at my location - as we went through several rounds of lay-offs, the training budget was cut, and some job roles were changed without adequate training or resources being provided. Work/Life balance went out the window and 50-60 hour work weeks became the norm with everyone in my role being given a laptop and the expectation that we'd have it with us on weekends so we could do additional work.

    Continue reading
    Sysco Canada2019-06-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great company (with some improvements)!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sysco Canada full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Excellent team environment -Great people (my immediate supervisor is amazing) -Plenty of learning opportunities and SIU program (great clients) -Career development is good and highly encouraged within my team. -Lots of free coffee and cookies. -Recently set up a recognition program to show appreciation for those who go above and beyond.

    Cons

    -Systems are outdated and a little bit sluggish at times. -For a major industry leading food distribution company, there is no cafeteria in the corp office. The physical setting and atmosphere of the Canadian corp office is really old and outdated. Very small break room with no seating and the lunch room is practically non-existent. Curious as to why the Sysco Canada office could not mirror the H/O in Houston (which is really nice). -Not a lot of restaurants in the area. -Can get stressful at times but work/life balance is still achievable. -Not a lot of transparency from senior management. -Benefits are below standards. -Very high turnover -Very poor internal communication. Sent an email to a co-worker for a request only to find out they were let-go or moved on a week later. No notice was ever sent. This is a little embarrassing to be honest...

    Continue reading
    Sysco Canada2019-04-14
  8. "Sales 5 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sysco Canada full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    the base pay is good. access to food products. learning about the food industry and operations. great information about the global market and food trends. it's a fun job for most parts

    Cons

    Bad politics, lots of backstabbing from other sales, some office staff will be unsupportive or even passive-aggressive. a lot of reports and really bad slow and archaic software. leadership will call the whole sales team profanities when given back feedback or frustrated

    Continue reading
    Sysco Canada2019-04-24
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Wouldn’t recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Waterloo, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sysco Canada full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - large company so if you’re willing to move around there is a lot of opportunity - health and dental benefits -2 weeks vacation to start

    Cons

    - senior leadership doesn’t care - just a number - heavy work load without compensation - terrible communication within the company and future goals unclear

    Sysco Canada2019-03-21
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Bad Politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director, Finance Controller 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sysco Canada full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    High salary just to lower turnover

    Cons

    Low ethics , Bad politics , lack of leadership from management.

    Continue reading
    Sysco Canada2019-02-07
Found 80 reviews