Sutherland "work from home" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Sutherland Employee Reviews about "work from home"

Updated Dec 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
63%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Sutherland Chairman and CEO Dilip R. Vellodi
Dilip R. Vellodi
1,482 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Night shifts can be bit tough for new comers(in 99 reviews)

  • "This is horribly low pay compared to any other call center job(in 67 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work from home"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "no growth and poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Center Analyst in Americus, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Sutherland full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    There's a fair number of work-from-home opportunities and reasonable PTO accruals. If you're good at your job, they'll try to retain you by moving you to another contract if one is lost.

    Cons

    "Merit increases" don't even keep up with inflation. Pay isn't really competitive. Benefits cost more than at most other companies, and with higher deductibles. Communication from management is utterly awful, often losing an account and not telling employees until days before the contract comes to an end. PTO is use it or lose it, with no payout, so you lose it at the end of the fiscal year if it's gone unused. While you'll get plenty of emails about job openings, they're almost always managerial and require a move that the company won't pay for.

    Sutherland2020-01-01
  2. "Growing company and great work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - WAH Insurance Agent in Chesapeake, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sutherland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Complete training on systems and programs. Always working to improve Technology. Growing opportunities for all levels. Great company to work for, especially work at home, like I do.

    Cons

    Selling insurance, but no residuals, just bonuses.

    Continue reading
    Sutherland2019-12-07

    Sutherland Response

    December 9, 2019Sutherland Experience Team

    Good day! Thanks for this 5-star review! As a global company, Sutherland indeed provides multiple opportunities for all our employees to grow and excel. Thank you for the suggestion you made here. We will be happy to pass along to the appropriate team. Have an amazing day!

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Research and Explore Big Picture First!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Busineess Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sutherland full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you are a good employee, generally they will try and find work for you. PTO plan is generous, however it's a use it or lose it, and no one can ever use all the time. Options to work from home in certain roles. Benefits are decently priced for what they are.

    Cons

    Pay is low. Negotiate your rate prior to hire, or you will never see significant increases. Raises are 1-2%/year. No 401k match. PTO policy doesn't rollover or payout. Your bonus, if you get one, will always be late by several months - and if you leave you forfeit any bonus you earned in the prior year. Now you only get bonus paid 2/year vs quarterly. The people at the top have been there forever and seem to be out of touch with the reality of how companies manage the workforce now. Stuck in old ways. When people leave they don't fill the positions, they just dump the work on current employees with no incentive.

    Continue reading
    Sutherland2019-12-03

    Sutherland Response

    December 9, 2019Sutherland Experience Team

    Hello. Your thoughts are valued, and we appreciate you indicating where we do well and where we have opportunities to improve. It is through feedback such as yours that we can make the necessary changes. Thank you for sharing this candid review. Have a great day!

    Continue reading
  4. "Somewhere to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Kingston
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sutherland full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is room to grow here and many to gain knowledge from which helps your growth. Office space is comfortable and depending on your department you can work from home.

    Cons

    You have no idea who to turn to when you have certain concerns especially when your department is structured differently and has more restrictions than others. Going to HR can also be futile when they themselves have limited information on a department. Management depending on the location can either be helpful or more difficult in getting tasks done.

    Continue reading
    Sutherland2019-11-27

    Sutherland Response

    November 27, 2019Sutherland Experience Team

    Hi there! As a global company, Sutherland indeed provides multiple opportunities for all employees to gain invaluable experience and develop professionally. We have also made note of your concerns and suggestions on how we can further improve our engagement, and we will share with the appropriate team. Thank you for leaving this feedback. Have a terrific day!

    Continue reading
  5. "Xbox Customer Support Role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Xbox Customer Support in Rochester, NY

    I worked at Sutherland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working from home, flexible hours, rewarding work.

    Cons

    Poor advancement opportunities, they tell you they'll promote and advance you but end up using you for supervisor positions without actually promoting you or giving you a raise.

    Continue reading
    Sutherland2019-10-19

    Sutherland Response

    October 21, 2019Sutherland Experience Team

    Hello. Thank you for leaving this review. We are pleased that you found the work rewarding. At Sutherland, we aim to provide all our employees with a positive work environment, whether you are based at one of our locations globally or working from home. Thank you for also indicating where we have an opportunity to improve. We will share your concerns with the appropriate team. Thanks again, and have a terrific day!

    Continue reading
  6. "Developing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Analyst in Airoli
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sutherland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Ease to do work from home

    Cons

    Low learning curve. Management needs to be upgraded.

    Sutherland2019-08-27

    Sutherland Response

    September 10, 2019Sutherland Experience Team

    Hello! Thanks for reviewing us! At Sutherland, we aim to ensure our employees enjoy a healthy work/life balance. We appreciate your input on how we can further improve as this will allow us to meet our employees’ evolving needs. Thanks again for sharing. Have a great day!

    Continue reading
  7. "A legitimate work from home job.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sutherland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Work from home - Company provides the necessary IT equipment and support - Normal hourly pay - No cold calling - Willing to provide the technical training necessary for you to successfully fulfill your role.

    Cons

    - Extremely low pay - Odd schedule (even training happens from mid-afternoon into the late evening) - Poor work/life balance (despite WFH)

    Continue reading
    Sutherland2019-08-14

    Sutherland Response

    September 10, 2019Sutherland Experience Team

    Hello, and thanks for your feedback. We appreciate your candid review and take your concerns seriously. We are disappointed to learn of the negative aspects of your experience here at Sutherland, but we will take this opportunity to improve. Thank you again for taking the time to share this feedback. We wish you all the very best!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Pretty good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Sales Agent in Pittsford, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sutherland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work at home available, pays for some licensing, Offers PTO, decent pay, offers benefits, offers 401k

    Cons

    Can't use PTO when you want to even months in advance if it's in the summer months, no vacation time allowed in summer may- July, no 401k match, expensive health insurance

    Continue reading
    Sutherland2019-07-10

    Sutherland Response

    July 24, 2019Sutherland Experience Team

    Hi there! Thanks for rating us and for this candid review! At Sutherland, we aim to maintain a competitive edge and to reward our employees whenever we can. We appreciate you sharing your concerns and will use your review as an opportunity to improve. Thanks for being a part of our One Sutherland team! Have a fantastic day!

    Continue reading
  9. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Airoli
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Sutherland full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, work from home option (depending on dept/function), learning opportunities and good team to work with.

    Cons

    Promotion at leadership level is based on your closeness and previous working history with senior leadership.

    Sutherland2019-06-25

    Sutherland Response

    July 17, 2019Sutherland Experience Team

    Hi there! Thanks for the positive sentiments! We are thrilled that you are pleased with us! As an employee-first company, we strive to provide our employees with the opportunity to grow and flourish in their careers. Thank you for sharing your thoughts, and have a great day!

    Continue reading
  10. "Churn em and burn em mentality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sutherland full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I was in work from home so this was a pro

    Cons

    None stop calls incoming, breaks timed to the second and you better not need the rest room outside of breaktime, or want to use pto because for three years it always refused, if you want lots of mandatory overtime ( 12 hour shifts ) then it would work but for me it demanded a lot for little pay.

    Continue reading
    Sutherland2019-06-11

    Sutherland Response

    June 17, 2019Sutherland Experience Team

    Hi there, and thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We are aware that this environment can be challenging and sometimes demanding. Your input is valued, and we will share your concerns with the appropriate team. Thank you again for sharing, and we hope you have a great day!

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 164 reviews