Surrey School District Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Surrey School District Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Surrey School District CEO Jordan Tinney
Jordan Tinney
10 Ratings
  1. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Surrey School District full-time

    Pros

    Autonomy. Support. Fun and engaging

    Cons

    I have no cons to list

    Surrey School District2019-04-21
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Surrey, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Surrey School District full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Pretty decent overall. Nice colleagues and work environment.

    Cons

    Long distance from work to home. Surrey is huge

    Surrey School District2019-03-19
  3. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Surrey School District full-time

    Pros

    Very supportive with professional development Lots of technology in the district

    Cons

    Large district with some amazing administrators and some less amazing; your experience will vary based on the admin you are working with

    Surrey School District2019-02-13
  4. "Admin Asst/Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Surrey, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Surrey School District full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Unions, variety of positions and choices, benefits, pensions, lots of options to find your place, some great people, some training but not enough

    Cons

    some not so great people, office politics, as you climb the ladder it becomes harder, less choice, more politics, the environment is pretty toxic, no crossover training, you're expected to arrive and just catch on.

    Advice to Management

    staff should be able to review their superiors with anonimity, people need to be accountable, cross over training when staff leave

    Surrey School District2019-02-18
  5. "Kindergarten Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kindergarten Teacher in Surrey, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Surrey School District full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Teaching is a calling. If you like to lift up others and create engaging learning experiences, you'll love your job.

    Cons

    My biggest challenges aren't the students. It's often the rare occasion when a difficult Principal comes through for a few years.

    Advice to Management

    Try to vet Principals a bit more.

    Surrey School District2019-01-25
  6. "Surrey schools"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Surrey School District full-time

    Pros

    Day shift hours are great

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of

    Surrey School District2019-01-24
  7. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher, Elementary School in Surrey, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Surrey School District full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Great hours and holidays. Can create a classroom environment that works for you and the students. Lots of autonomy.

    Cons

    Children today are changing from twenty years ago when I first started teaching. So many students need extra help. There are so many needs that need to be met in a single classroom. Challenging.

    Surrey School District2018-12-01
  8. "Education Assistant Surrey school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Educational Assistant in Surrey, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Surrey School District full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Benefits only with full time position

    Cons

    Less hours, not possible to get permanent position, staff is ok

    Advice to Management

    None

    Surrey School District2019-01-06
  9. "IS Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Support Technician in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Surrey School District full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Job Security and stability

    Cons

    While the district is very pro-active at progressing; political considerations and restricted budgets can get in the way of some projects.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up with the great work!

    Surrey School District2018-10-10
  10. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher, Elementary School in Surrey, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Surrey School District full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Large district with many resources

    Cons

    dialogue between sites is not well supported

    Surrey School District2018-05-21
Found 28 reviews