SurpriseHR Reviews

Updated Oct 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 49 of over 53 reviews

4.1
79%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
SurpriseHR CEO Albert Eloyan
Albert Eloyan
18 Ratings
Pros
  • "The culture at Surprise HR was phenomenal from Day 1 up until my last day(in 10 reviews)

  • "This has been similar to other stops on my sales journey in terms of the ups and downs Ive experienced sales success wise(in 3 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The only con I can think of is that you are responsible for paying for parking downtown and all the parking garages are on a 6-month wait list(in 3 reviews)

  • "We are in growth mode, so it is very busy, but the culture of the company is fun, so it's not as stressful as other start-ups I've been with(in 2 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      no one

      Oct 20, 2021 - Assistant Manager in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      pay card friendly caring open is always a plus

      Cons

      less time to manage work

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Supervisor

      May 23, 2021 - Supervisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good good good good good

      Cons

      No overtime No overtime No overtime No overtime No overtime

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. The latest conversations about Tech

      Join the conversation on

      Tech

      1y

      a 

      Sales Engineer

      Let's see what we are all making. Include current salary, location, job role (e.g. Software Engineer; Product Manager) and YoE please. Reply using your comapny.

      563

      184 Comments

      Tech

      37.5K Members 

      Ask candid career questions

      -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.ca&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-integrated-Reviews&utm_term=SurpriseHR~1958130
      Join the conversation on
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Rough time

      Jan 4, 2021 - Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Learn a lot really fast

      Cons

      You have to learn a lot really fast which can also not be great.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Yikes

      Jan 11, 2021 - Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None - it was the worst.

      Cons

      Everything - cool people sometimes. But they all left in a hurry.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good products, good leadership and GREAT culture

      Nov 6, 2020 - Account Manager in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The most important thing for me when assessing a work experience at any company is the culture. Its the baseline upon which all companies should be judged. The culture at Surprise HR was phenomenal from Day 1 up until my last day. I define culture as how you feel when youre working and what / who you're surrounded by. At Surprise HR, I felt great, I was always working on important projects and I was surrounded by incredible talent with no egos - everyone helped each other with everything. It was eye opening to experience as most startups are rather cut throat and "clicky". Everyone from the junior employees all the way to the executive leadership was really tight knit and comfortable discussing challenges, solutions and issues together. I got more done here on a weekly basis then other account management roles Ive had on a monthly basis and I attribute the productivity to just how much I enjoyed the role and who I was working with. Had to leave on my own decision because I am moving out of the country but if I wasnt, I would stay here for a long time. Fantastic company and would recommend anyone who has the opportunity to join.

      Cons

      A few times where i had concerns about how we handled certain customer issues, but these were resolved quickly and without hesitation. Not really a consistent negative and everything was explained to me thoroughly

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Would not trade this experience for anything

      Nov 11, 2020 - Finance Manager in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Its rare when you get to learn, grow and have fun all at once. This has been my experience at Surprise HR over the past 2 years. Ive grown a lot personally and am developing into the professional I want to be. The sense of pride and ambition here is incredible - everyone wants to succeed. Its not only that, but people genuinely care about each other, which is nice to experience. Support with any questions or concerns is always quickly addressed and any ideas i put forth to senior leadership are always taken seriously. I enjoy playing an important role in a quickly growing startup. I really love the team too! Everyone is aligned and ready to rock each week.. Has been a professional blast so far.

      Cons

      Some growing pains but nothing thats not expected or able to be handled

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A little bit of everything from Day 1

      Oct 15, 2020 - Marketing Manager in South San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This experience has been diverse, wholesome and full of interesting surprises so far. My first week on the job, I was given a more important project than I ever had at my entire previous 2 years of my last job, which was so nice and cool. Being given serious responsibilities from the get go is a sign of confidence from leadership, and I was ready to tackle it. Every month since, I have been working on impactful projects that have far reaching consequences on the success of the company, and I would not want anything less. Hint for future job seekers: you cant learn or grow if you dont get challenged! Being challenged is something everyone should welcome. Sure, there have been some ups and downs here, but thats the same anywhere else. I particularly enjoy our weekly all hands meetings where everyone gets to voice their thoughts/concerns/ideas and I have learned a lot not only from the executives, but my peers and direct reports as well. Its such a welcoming, open kind of vibe here and I love it. Excited to grow into 2021 and see what happens!

      Cons

      Maybe more visibility into long term plans, but who can really predict the future in such a crazy environment? Not a complaint persay, just a thought.

      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good experience from top to bottom

      Oct 9, 2020 - Marketing Specialist in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There have been marketing challenges this past year no doubt. The one thing thats been consistent with this company has been the steady support. From the marketing, to HR to executive leadership, everyone here has your back, and thats a rarity. I have worked at other places where someone is quick to throw you under the base and not take accountability, but here, everyone is upfront, supportive and transparent. I am grateful for what i have learned so far and apply these lessons to future projects or roles. Look forward to progressing and getting the company on the map bigtime!

      Cons

      More all hands on deck meetings so I have more visibility into how other departments are doing!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Genuinely feel like Im learning something new each week

      Sep 29, 2020 - Sales Development Representative in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have loved this role! It has not been easy, but that is not what i signed up for. I signed up for a challenge, and to get challenged, and ive gotten both. If something seems easy, youre probably not learning enough... I have learned a lot about good and efficient sales processes and how to reach the decision maker. I am excited to keep setting up meetings and progress into an AE. I love the team, the support, the product suite and the leadership. Excited for 2021 and beyond.

      Cons

      Would like more input on the general sales strategy!

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    11. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      An experience that has made me stronger personally & professionally

      Sep 28, 2020 - Human Resources Manager in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have learned more from my experience here at Surprise HR than I have any where else, combined. It has been a revelation for me - I have learned the ins and outs of efficient hiring and employee onboarding on a whole new level. I have learned how to build proper hiring plans and exceed KPIs. We have every department well staffed and a great pipeline. We are proud of this because of the hard work it took, and the learning experiences we had along the way. I am excited for the future mostly because i helped build it, and i want to see what the current group of employees can do for the organization in terms of growth and brand building. We believe we've built a strong culture here and I cant wait for what lies ahead!

      Cons

      Nothing yet that comes to mind

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 49 Reviews

    Work at SurpriseHR? Share Your Experiences

    or