Suncor Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated Jan 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
84%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Suncor President & CEO Steve Williams
Steve Williams
250 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay good shift laid back employees(in 67 reviews)

  • "Challenging work and great people(in 57 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great place for coop"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultative Sales in Fort McMurray, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Suncor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary Great people A lot to learn

    Cons

    Far from the city Big work load

    Suncor2020-01-21
  2. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Power Engineer in Edmonton, AB

    I have been working at Suncor full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great money, great people, awesome work environment

    Cons

    They could have more room for growth, advancement

    Suncor2020-01-25
  3. "Great place, Got Monotonous after a while, but really helpful people who wanted to see me succed"

    4.0
    Former Intern - E/I Co-op in Calgary, AB

    I worked at Suncor for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    variety of work given was poor

    Suncor2019-09-20
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great people but leadership could use some help."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Category Specialist in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Suncor full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lot's of great people and opportunity to move to different areas of the company if you are a self starter and motivated to make connections yourself.

    Cons

    It can be very difficult to move up to a leadership position and leadership gets little to no training on how to be effective. The rating system depends solely on how much your leaders like you and whether they are willing to take the time to understand what you do.

    Continue reading
    Suncor2019-04-23
  5. "Great Place"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB

    I worked at Suncor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Challenging work and great people.

    Cons

    Politics of Joint Venture activities

    Continue reading
    Suncor2019-03-02
  6. "Environmental Engineering intern"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Environmental Engineering Intern in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Suncor for more than a year

    Pros

    great people, lots of opportunity to learn and gain exposure to the oil and gas industry

    Cons

    sometimes unbalanced workload varies from time to time

    Suncor2018-02-08
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Leaders Need to be Held to Higher Standards"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Suncor full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - great people to work with - great peer-to-peer support - great salary - great leaders at VP level and above

    Cons

    - mid-level leaders are not held accountable (managers and directors) - HR excuses are made to not pay women equal salaries (process, timing) - innovative ideas are not welcomed in regular operations - work is done in silo's with little to no collaboration

    Continue reading
    Suncor2018-01-29
  8. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Engineer in Fort McMurray, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Suncor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fast paced, good leadership, lots of opportunities, great people, excellent collaboration, excellent compensation, good work/life balance

    Cons

    as an oil/gas company we suffer with the downturn on oil prices which affects the payment raises/external training/investment in new projects; work in remote location is also challenging sometimes

    Continue reading
    Suncor2017-11-18
  9. "Great people to work with, friendly."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mining Engineer E I T in Fort McMurray, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Suncor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, plenty of challenges to keep you engaged with dynamic conditions. Room for growth towards middle of career with plenty of streams to choose from.

    Cons

    Inflexible schedules that can be hard to work around and there is no fast tracked advancement in early career. Even if you completely out perform.

    Continue reading
    Suncor2017-11-21
  10. "Best Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisor in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Suncor full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Safety is Priority one, great people great vision

    Cons

    Nothing I can Think of. great place to work

    Suncor2017-06-30
Found 34 reviews