SunTrust "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

SunTrust Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Feb 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
SunTrust President and CEO William H. (Bill) Rogers Jr.
William H. (Bill) Rogers Jr.
1,072 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management not around nearly as much as they should be to help make sure the team is successful(in 116 reviews)

  • "Sales goals can be tough if you're not driven(in 96 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "It’s ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Service Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SunTrust full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, non client facing, no weekends, great employment wellness program.

    Cons

    Slow systems, weird processes, lack of support from upper management, hard to move up.

    SunTrust2020-02-20
  2. "Some areas need improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teller in Gainesville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SunTrust part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Never a dull moment while there.

    Cons

    Upper management not around nearly as much as they should be to help make sure the team is successful.

    Continue reading
    SunTrust2019-11-05
  3. "Basic Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Personal Banker 

    I worked at SunTrust full-time

    Pros

    Good Teamwork in branch but not with HR

    Cons

    Bad upper management and HR

    SunTrust2019-07-21
  4. Helpful (2)

    "I am so much happier now that I quit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker in Durham, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SunTrust full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You meet some great people Learn a lot about finances

    Cons

    Managers here are terrible. My manager specifically was the worst. She wasn’t competent, and abused her power/position by going home early any chance she could. She didn’t follow certain companies rules and was occasionally disrespectful to employees. Cold calling. If you don’t like making high volume calls, don’t apply. Suntrust even has what’s called “call night” where you stay until 7pm calling people who have been called 100x before and don’t want to be spoken to. Sales goals here are almost impossible to reach but that’s all upper management cares about. With this BB&T merger, ppl are doing anything to reach goals Turnover here is awful. Don’t apply if you want job security.

    Continue reading
    SunTrust2019-04-09
  5. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SunTrust full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If your a performer they will pay pretty well

    Cons

    Work life balance, upper management, could care less about how you performed today, yesterday or last year. It’s what more can you do for me. They say they sale on a needs met bases. Bull! Watch out if your on the zero list for no home equity applications. Staffing it a complete joke. If they would start there they could be the premier bank, but as we had been told it is not going to happen. Glad I won’t be there for the merger. Oh and make sure your one of the favorites right away cause if not they will find a way to get you to leave.

    Continue reading
    SunTrust2019-03-25
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Loan Processor in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SunTrust full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you're good, no one micromanages you. Good pay.

    Cons

    Terrible upper management who don't understand the job and how we are affected by certain decisions, which often make no sense. Poor technology. Started off losing incentive over time due to SunTrust trying to save money. Yearly layoffs.

    Continue reading
    SunTrust2019-02-13
  7. "Bank review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SunTrust full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits for Health Insurance

    Cons

    Negative work enviroment. Very little camraderie. Upper management constantly implementing more and more. Was instantly relieved the day I left.

    SunTrust2019-03-08
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Universal Banker- Retail Banking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Universal Banker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SunTrust full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits Bank holidays Some vertical movement

    Cons

    Out of touch upper management High turnover No job security Threatening area manager Lower teammate’s voices are not heard Travel to other branches in the area to help

    Continue reading
    SunTrust2019-02-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Teller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at SunTrust full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Co Workers on the same Job Grade at other branches were amazing.

    Cons

    I can honestly say, the branch I worked at, was the worst place of employment I have ever had. Micromanagement, Favoritism, Harrasment etc, it was unbearable. And even after taking concerns to Upper Management nothing is being changed nor looked at. I would never recommend SunTrust to anybody, whether for a career or as a client.

    SunTrust2018-12-22
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Understaffed and very sales focused"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teller in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SunTrust full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent pay, company is very good about diversity and inclusion. Hours are good.

    Cons

    Completely understaffed, takes forever to train new people even when they do finally hire someone on. If the bank loses an employee the other employees are just expected to pick up the slack for MONTHS while the company drags their feet on hiring a new person just so they can save money. Then when customers complain about long wait times and us being understaffed, upper management just says “you just need to smile more when you help clients”. ....right.

    Continue reading
    SunTrust2018-11-08
Found 116 reviews