SunTrust Financial Services Representative Reviews

Updated Mar 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
2%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
SunTrust President and CEO William H. (Bill) Rogers Jr.
William H. (Bill) Rogers Jr.
34 Ratings
  1. "Lowest Paying Bank in Industry"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Services Representative in Marietta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SunTrust full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    When I was there, the people were good to work with. Thank you for helping with a part time job so I could finish College.

    Cons

    The programs were convoluted. Information was really hard to find. Pay was way below industry standard. Everyone had to bank hop.

    Continue reading
    SunTrust2020-03-25
  2. "Just ok"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Financial Services Representative 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SunTrust full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked in the in store branch, so the schedule was more flexible if you needed off during the week since we could work 7 days a week.

    Cons

    Problems were difficult to solve as there weren't good central resources to reference and the call centers weren't reliable. They also closed the branch I worked at after I left.

    SunTrust2020-02-26
  3. "This review was involuntary."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Service Representative IV 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SunTrust full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay is decent. Merger opportunities

    Cons

    Poor communication. Constantly fearing that you are doing something that will end your career because you were not properly trained or supplied resources.

    Continue reading
    SunTrust2020-01-08
  4. "If you like sales"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Services Representative in Waldorf, MD

    I worked at SunTrust full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Sales commission, and you get to talk to a lot of people if you're a talker.

    Cons

    Higher ups increasing the number of sales you need to get.

    SunTrust2019-02-05
  5. "Financial Services Representative"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Services Representative in Fairfax, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SunTrust full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - If you are in-store branch inside a grocery store you get to sleep in a little because the branch opens at 10am - Benefits are pretty good - Worked holidays are over-time - Paternity/Maternity leave available - Redbrick benefits allows you to earn money to use towards medical related expenses

    Cons

    - Sales Pressure is very high and threatening sometimes - Miscommunication as everything is typically designed for a traditional branch so if you are in a grocery store branch you basically have to adjust or interpret how it would translate towards your branch - Long hours, especially if your branch is understaffed, in-store branches close at 7pm, also open on weekends, leading to no work/life balance - Outdated systems and technologies, recently updated but still mediocre

    Continue reading
    SunTrust2018-09-22
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Financial Services Representitive"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Services Representative in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SunTrust full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    SunTrust probably has the best on-boarding and training program in banking. The pay is relatively good compared to other banks, but that’s probably due to the terrible health benefits.

    Cons

    Politics, politics, politics... I can’t fault the whole company for the way things are run on the retail side. However, there is a horrible sales culture that rewards those who engage in the backstabbing and brown-nosing and the underhanded methods of obtaining business. They have set the sales goals so that the branch managers are in direct competition with everyone else in the branch which allows some to manipulate, trick or steal business with impunity. Furthermore, if you “speak up” about unethical behavior some managers will retaliate by actively hurting your reputation and make your life miserable from then on. They have an extremely high turnover rate due to this and other improprieties leaving many branches severely under staffed and with very low morale. The employees with integrity and ethics are usually left in the dust when it comes to career advancement so be prepared to trade your dignity and integrity to climb the corporate ladder.

    Continue reading
    SunTrust2018-05-18
  7. "Great Place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Services Representative in Atlanta, GA

    I worked at SunTrust full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Bankers hours and lots of training to get you up to speed on how to do a great job.

    Cons

    It was a good experience overall

    SunTrust2017-10-03
  8. "Financial Services Rep II"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Service Representative II in Knoxville, TN

    I worked at SunTrust full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    team oriented branch great benefits great corporate training organized marketing material compassionate teammates

    Cons

    A bit too political for my taste in upper management old technology

    SunTrust2017-04-13
  9. "Great opportunity, but not all local branch managers are equal."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Services Representative in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SunTrust full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work directly with clients, company training

    Cons

    Understaffed branches. Managers with an aggressive approach towards sales goals.

    Continue reading
    SunTrust2017-04-03
  10. "Financial Service Representative"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Financial Services Representative in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at SunTrust

    Pros

    Strong Company Culture, Excellent training opportunities

    Cons

    Limited growth/promotion opportunities in the Charleston market.

    SunTrust2016-12-02
Found 106 reviews