Sun Life "senior management" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Sun Life Employee Reviews about "senior management"

Updated Mar 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Sun Life CEO Dean Connor
Dean Connor
262 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "senior management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sun Life for more than a year

    Pros

    I had an easy going team, but worked with a very difficult and demanding internal client. The IT infrastructure is great at Sun Life.

    Cons

    Didn't get support from senior management on some important issues, resulting in a very difficult working relationship with my client.

    Continue reading
    Sun Life2015-08-27
  2. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Scarborough, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You will work with an awesome set of folks that dedicate and work hard to make Sun Life a success.

    Cons

    Sometimes senior management is there only for their own benefit. Some manager lie to your face.

    Sun Life2019-03-27
  3. Helpful (8)

    "Would not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor in Fredericton, NB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sun Life full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I began working for Sun Life as a financial advisor to pursue my dreams in the finance industry. This has always been a role I aspired to fill as a child. When I began working there, I did very well. I sold lots of new clients, developed a great clientele, and had the liberty to come and go as I pleased.

    Cons

    After nearly four years of devoting all my time and energy to this company, I wanted to move out of the branch office and pursue my own real estate venture in the city, and offer up my own store front for the company. I was spending nearly $2,000 in expenses to the company, and in low volume sales months, I was actually making negative pays. This with a small family at home began to fill my life with stress, depression and ultimately my demise as an advisor. I went to senior management explaining my case that letting me out of my lease will allow me to save on monthly expenses (big time), and alleviate some of the stress in my life financially. I was told that under no circumstances were they willing to help me, and they would rather see me leave and then help me. I was very disappointed in this response after giving nearly 4 years of my life to a company that I had planned giving my entire career to, and ultimately had produced A LOT of new business for them making them money. Ultimately, it was not the job itself I did not like, it was the management, senior management and even head office who treated me like just a number. I felt on a personal level, if this is how they are treating the ones doing all the work, how do they care for their clients who make it all happen? For me it was time to make a switch.

    Continue reading
    Sun Life2018-04-06
  4. Helpful (6)

    "If you prefer managing up over doing good work, this is the place for you."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management in Kitchener, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sun Life full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    As with any large company, there are significant differences between major business units, and some have better reputations than others. Good brand reputation as a result of significant marketing spend, which will be eroded as staff morale continues to plummet.

    Cons

    Highly patriarchical company, old boys network, many women (not all) who advance based on their looks and willingness to play up to that, men and women who advance by spending their time promoting themselves at the expense of their staff or their own work. In the Individual area, no clear strategic vision, no culture of accountability within the senior management ranks, poor behaviour in clear contradiction of all HR policies ignored or rewarded.

    Continue reading
    Sun Life2014-04-03
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Find a bettter place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Waterloo, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sun Life full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits Competitive salary in line with other large organizations

    Cons

    Poor senior and middle management leadership. Individual side of the business is like working for a prison. Employees in senior management who have been with the company for a long time are unsupportive to new employees. No on site parking at Waterloo location, you have to take a shuttle bus to get to work

    Continue reading
    Sun Life2013-11-06
  6. "A true corporate environment. Lack of growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Communications and Marketing in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sun Life for less than a year

    Pros

    Typical corporate environment. 9 - 5 hours. Good communication between offices in different locations. Room to move up (slowly but surely)

    Cons

    Lack of communication between senior management and employees. No shared vision. Lack of employee motivation and recognition.

    Sun Life2013-03-21
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Ask a lot of questions during your interview.....then think twice before accepting an offer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Programme Director in North Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Sun Life full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are adequate. Reimbursement for benefits is quick

    Cons

    Load of politics; senior management who doesn't have a clue; cliques; perpetual reorgs. Some senior managers have no clue what is going on in their depts. Budgets are poorly managed. There are lots of duplicate roles. My job did not have a description and I had to do my own performance review. There was no on boarding - just general HR stuff about how great things are. IT leaders are just old programmers and database guys who've done their time, they are very poor managers and their egos are immense. The VP that I worked for had not clue on how to provide feedback. Lots of lip service and dictated "get to know and be friendly" with the staff sessions which are filled with propaganda. I was not advised that I would be required to travel to Kitchener office during the interview and then a few weeks into it was told it was a requirement.

    Continue reading
    Sun Life2012-08-20
  8. "Collaborative work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Systems Analyst  in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life

    Pros

    Besides senior management, it is generally a collaborative work environment dedicated towards getting the job done. The people you work with will have your back and you'll meet lots of nice people whose goal is simply excellent customer service.

    Cons

    Prioritization of the projects and employee engagement are recognized as issues. Any gains in engagement they may have made have largely been wiped out by the global layoffs and outsourcing. Senior management seems out of touch with how the company has performed well in the past. The goals and mission statement of the company are ill-defined and largely come down to "we've got your back"... not really differentiated from other financial instiutions in my opinion.

    Continue reading
    Sun Life2009-04-02
  9. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sun Life full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good leadership,work life balance,good salary,benefits,good office location

    Cons

    Less work and more politics.not good to stay after 3-4 years. Too much effort to keep senior management happy.

    Continue reading
    Sun Life2018-05-24
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Financial Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Financial Analyst in Wellesley, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Sun Life

    Pros

    Large Scale International firm with multiple divisions, Great benefits and compensation packages, Good bunch of co-workers, excellent departmental support staff and nice job location

    Cons

    Too much office politics, Inconsistent Senior Management direction, poor resource planning, divergent job priorities and task assignments.

    Sun Life2016-08-22

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 17 reviews