Sulon Technologies Reviews

Updated Apr 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
1.9
24%
Recommend to a Friend
21%
Approve of CEO
Sulon Technologies President & CEO Dhanushan Balachandreswaran (no image)
Dhanushan Balachandreswaran
18 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Really? Disgruntled Employees?

    Dec 6, 2015 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    LOL - its a high tech startup, long hours is normal. Now if you can't keep up with Sulon speed, your most probably going to get chucked, they are rapid with innovation and development. That's what happened to me. But I learned alot while I was there for nearly a year! You have to put-in too get-out anywhere you go, in any company. I now know what to do to grow myself and to extend my career. This place teaches you to grow quite fast! If you want self growth and too work with the best minds in the industry, Sulon has them, but you got to put in the time to scale and learn at an increasingly rapid rate.

    Cons

    If you want work life balance, work at the Government. Otherwise, you will not be able to excel at Sulon.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Can't be worse

    Apr 12, 2021 - Computer Vision Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    state of the art technology

    Cons

    can't think of any cons

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Mature Company

    Jun 26, 2020 - Image Processing Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very Goal Oriented Flexible in hours and time Great technical Atmospher Talented colleagues

    Cons

    Sales team was pretty passive

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Sulon truly believes in working together

    Nov 23, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Sulon technologies is, I think almost one of the best places to work at this very moment. Being able to work at the forefront of engineering reality and help define the Augmented and Virtual reality at this very young stage excites me everyday to come into the offices. At the office we currently have an open office concept which I thoroughly enjoy as it allows for extremely quick communications between team members And also between different teams to come up with solutions very quickly. It feels like everyone at Sulon truly believes in working together; which makes bonding with your peers means just spending 5 minutes introducing yourself and your love for AVR. The internal party planning committee helps organize daily snack and food ideas so it feels like I'm always stuffed at the office and never have to work on an empty stomach. (I think this ranks as the number two best reason to work at Sulon to be honest!) However, since Sulon is such a fast working environment, you have to be self motivated and dedicated to your work and produce results without someone constantly looking over your shoulder. You must show that you belong within that team when you strive for smart problem solving solutions and quick thinking.

    Cons

    Sometimes it gets quite loud in the open office space as everyone is trying to talk about their ideas to their teams, but there is a lounge space that the teams can use to hold meetings.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Sulon truly believes in working together

    Oct 28, 2015 - Anonymous 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Sulon technologies is, I think almost one of the best places to work at this very moment. Being able to work at the forefront of engineering reality and help define the Augmented and Virtual reality at this very young stage excites me everyday to come into the offices. At the office we currently have an open office concept which I thoroughly enjoy as it allows for extremely quick communications between team members And also between different teams to come up with solutions very quickly. It feels like everyone at Sulon truly believes in working together; which makes bonding with your peers means just spending 5 minutes introducing yourself and your love for AVR. The internal party planning committee helps organize daily snack and food ideas so it feels like I'm always stuffed at the office and never have to work on an empty stomach. (I think this ranks as the number two best reason to work at Sulon to be honest!) However, since Sulon is such a fast working environment, you have to be self motivated and dedicated to your work and produce results without someone constantly looking over your shoulder. You must show that you belong within that team when you strive for smart problem solving solutions and quick thinking.

    Cons

    Sometimes it gets quite loud in the open office space as everyone is trying to talk about their ideas to their teams, but there is a lounge space that the teams can use to hold meetings.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    challenging and rewarding

    Nov 25, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    always working on something new and on some of the best engineering projects in the world, you will get the latest insights on the AR and VR market which is a hot industry at the moment. The environment is informal and vibrant. The company ranges from hardware teams to art teams so there are a lot of different areas to delve in to. The culture here supports workflow and diversity and you get to work with the best minds of the industry. it is a fast paced very hands on environment and I have learned a lot since my time here. Sulon does give snacks and dinners and ensure that you feel like you are a part of something greater.

    Cons

    the days are long but that comes with the territory. it is not easy working for a start-up that is pioneering a new industry. The only routine aspect of Sulon is its chaotic strategic changes in direction and sometimes it takes a toll on individuals even if its generally comes up for the greater good. The way to counter that is to ensure that you are open to changes and know that changes is for the better.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Fun place to work

    Sep 8, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, fun and friendly coworkers. I was nervous about joining a start-up company, but I was sold during the interview. Hearing the employees talk about the product and their passion towards Sulon sold me. There is a positive and upbeat energy throughout the whole office. Each day the team comes together for a snack time. Sulon offers free snacks daily and dinner if I ever need to stay late. Sulon is going through a huge growth right now and are hiring for all departments.

    Cons

    Location, driving to Markham is not ideal.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Fun place to work but...

    Mar 16, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Amazing coworkers - Have fun while learning a lot of new things! - Ability to work on projects that would help you being more independent

    Cons

    - Super loong hours (11+) - Not enough time for proper testing, at the end things go as they are and break half way. - Management was not very professional

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee

    If you are really passionate about your work do not work here

    May 10, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great Coworkers - Sometimes CEO is not in the office

    Cons

    - CEO constantly interrupts work when he is in the office - Your passion for your work quickly transforms in a passion for Unpaid Overtime - No Work-Life balance - You get blamed for people leaving when management is the reason they left - Toxic workplace culture

    Continue reading
    15 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Shady, poor management, but decent co-workers.

    Nov 24, 2015 - Programmer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The co-workers I had were a cool bunch of people. They made it fairly easy for me to transition in and get comfortable. Oh, and snacks at 5pm were always nice.

    Cons

    Wasn't told anything when I started. Seriously, I was sat down and told to do stuff for something I didn't know or understand. Management was shifty. They didn't like it when I requested my paystub, and even got attitude from the HR person. The deadlines were very short. We would be given a week for three weeks worth of work and we would end up cutting a huge amount of work from the goal and would end up with a poorly coded piece of garbage. CEO would never speak to the team I worked with. He was always talking to the other teams but never ours. Expect to work 10+ hour days because the CEO's version of "passion" is turning you into a work martyr.

    Continue reading
    14 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 25 Reviews

Work at Sulon Technologies? Share Your Experiences

Sulon Technologies logo
or