Success Academy Charter Schools Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Success Academy Charter Schools Reviews

Updated Nov 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
58%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Success Academy Charter Schools CEO Eva Moskowitz  (no image)
Eva Moskowitz
427 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Leadership is rotten from the top"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    We get to do great work for a great cause

    Cons

    Everything that isn't in the PROS section

    Advice to Management

    You are not more important than the people who work for you. Here's a scenario. I have a meeting at 2:00 p.m. I have a room reserved. I need to have that meeting. My boss is in that room. She literally makes me wait 25 minutes with no regard to my schedule or my meetings. Does this seem petty of me to write this? Yes. Absolutely. Is it indicative of a major problem at Success. Yes. Upper... Management has no idea how much those who work for them cannot stand the sight of them. This is across the board. These are people who are condescending. These are people who don't care. These are people who think that when there is massive turnover (and there is M-A-S-S-I-V-E turnover) that it's not their fault... the people who leave just can't "hack it here." The work environment needs to change. The culture has to change. Or the amazing work that is being done for these students in our community will be for nothing.

    Show More
    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-11-06
  2. Helpful (4)

    "great benefits not so great teacher culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - First Grade Associate Teacher in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Great Benefits -No experience in teaching necessary -Ample pay -relocation assistance

    Cons

    -During training they speak immensely on school culture involving the students and community, however one thing they fail to discuss is the teacher culture. -The teacher community isn't as friendly to newcomers as you would hope them to be, it instead feels like something out of a high school tv drama where constant shade is being thrown and no amount of respect is given even when you're doing everything right.... - Leadership tends to get involved far too often to a point of suffocation.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Allow the grade teams to interact and carry out their work without leadership constantly being on their backs. -Start treating AT's with a bit more respect

    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-11-09
  3. "Run! As fast as you can!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Community Relations Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free snacks! The beautiful smiles on the kiddies

    Cons

    No work-life balance. Will burn you out if you’re a good worker.

    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-11-13
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Not Respected as School Psychologist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - School Psychologist in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working with children, access to resources

    Cons

    Schools psychs are not treated as knowledgable professionals, mental health is not valued, emphasis on testing, children with disabilities are retained at a high rate, pay is low for the amount of time you put in, high turn over, staff dissatisfaction. Success Academy does not pay school psychologists for their summer vacation if they inform the school that they are not returning, which creates an incentive to lie... and quit on the first day back. Teachers, for some reason, are paid over the summer regardless of whether they are returning or not.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on the whole child-- right now the emphasis is on test scores. You are holding children over at an alarming rate, which research shows is detrimental to their future. Social emotional development should be prioritized. Studies show that when you focus on social emotional learning, test scores go up! Also, you should pay school psychologists over the summer, even if they are not returning. That is our... vacation pay that we earned. It is unfair to treat us so poorly.

    Show More
    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-11-06
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Company does not value employees or students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sprint Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good benefits, time off for major holidays + additional PTO

    Cons

    Negative outlook, little room for growth, no bonuses, long hours for pay, experience largely depends on where you get placed

    Advice to Management

    Show respect for your employees and treat them as if you actually care about their wellbeing and mental health.

    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-11-08
  6. "Science Lead Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time

    Pros

    Only having to teacher one subject, I was in a homeroom, its a lot more work. Dont have to pay for lunch and snacks When your placed in the right school with the right team enjoyable work days staff extremely supportive leadership supportive

    Cons

    Having to cover lunch and recess Prep of materials can be difficult when things take long to ship managment doesnt always address problems in work place accordingly

    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-10-25
  7. Helpful (12)

    "There's a reason the turnover is so high..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Relations 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time

    Pros

    - The children - Free snacks available

    Cons

    - Senior leaders - Some parents - A place that claims to be flexible but really isn't - Unreasonable deliverables - Unfair compensation for the amount of work required

    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-10-20
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Insane"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Current Employee - Associate Teacher in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are great for a first job out of college

    Cons

    The work environment is very high-pressure. You are asked to call parents frequently and adherence to a very punitive behavior management structure for students is mandatory. You are expected to work more than advertised, leading to high teacher turnover, which leads to children without a routine. This system is bad for children and I'm not always sure if this school is genuinely making a positive difference.

    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-10-15
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate Teacher 

    I have been working at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time

    Pros

    Kids are great To be around

    Cons

    Culture Of school is different and too much at times

    Advice to Management

    So much extra work that isn’t really needed

    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-10-17
  10. Helpful (1)

    "A challenging and worthwhile experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Teacher 

    I worked at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    High bar for students, abundance of resources and materials for teachers, support built in for teachers

    Cons

    Inexperienced leaders (the blind leading the blind) and stressful environment

    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-10-02
Found 701 reviews